We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
212
18
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
18
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen airhowler monkeysoutdoor bathroomour honeymoonno glass in the windowstiger heroncosta ricamain buildingresort groundsbamboo strawsfavorite memoriesfree bicyclesmosquito netcevichespent days nightslaid backcomfort zone
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 238 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

My husband and I spent our last 4 nights in Costa Rica at Latitude 10. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Beyond the beauty of the sunsets and beaches, Latitude 10 has a home feel while experiencing the true beauty of Costa Rica. I was concerned about the "open environment" but we had no issues and next time we will stay in one of the casitas. The turn down service and candles creates a comforting setting to end your day. There is something very liberating with showering in nature, to the sound of the howler monkeys overhead. The food is healthy, fresh and delicious and made "especially" for you each day. If you are looking for a place to collect your thoughts and connect with what is truly important, treat yourself to Latitude 10. I booked private yoga sessions with Delores daily, I highly recommend it! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauradr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Exclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2012

Dear Laura,

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. You could not have done a better job letting other travelers know what the Latitude 10 Experience is all about. You were the perfect guests for us at Latitude 10 and we hope you come back soon to stay at one of the Mastersuites. Thanks for pointing out the highlights of showering in nature with monkeys overhead and the turndown service. We are happy you enjoyed the freshly prepared food and your yoga sessions. Help us spread the word about Latitude 10. It is not for everybody. But for well travelled, open minded travelers looking for something very special it is indeed “paradise found”. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

If you’re looking for an amazing beachfront property, Latitude 10 is the place to go! Starting from arrival to departure, everything was just so great.

The rooms all have an “open-air” design so during the day it seems like your room doesn’t have walls. But since there are only five suites and are all spread out on the property, you definitely still have your privacy. The bathroom and showers are “outdoors” as well and again, everything is so private that I had no fears about it at all. For turndown service, they close all the blinds and the “folding doors” so it feels like your room has “walls” at night. They light candles around your room so everything feels so cozy and intimate at night.

The property is literally ON the beach. You can see/hear the waves so clearly even from your room and it’s so amazing. My favorite spot was the two hammocks they have tied between two trees right on the beach. What could be better than sipping a drink while rocking in a hammock while looking out into the ocean, right?! It’s so beautiful there it was a bit unreal. Definitely be on the beach at around 5 pm to watch the sunset. It’s so beautiful.
The Clubhouse and pool are great as well. The staff members were all so friendly and the food was great. Definitely try Yvette’s (the chef) French toast in the morning. That was definitely my favorite, but the omelet was really good as well!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

my husband and I stayed at Latitude 10 for our last two nights in Costa Rica. We had already spent over two weeks in the area and had absolutely fallen in love. While it is a fantastically beautiful place you must be warned that you literally are in the jungle with no doors or windows. The bathroom is so outside that when it rains we had to hold an umbrella and our bug netting around our bed did nothing to keep anything out. Because it is so hot and humid in the jungle and the place doesnt have air conditioning everything is damp all the time including in the bed. This is not a place for people with a weak heart and I warn that even camping is more closed in than this. However the place is stunning. The food is to die for and we met some amazing couple traveling and had an absolute ball. We had our romantic dinner our last night and it was the best food we had in our whole trip. The swimming pool is lovely and you can walk down the beach to find a place to swim, surf or body board. We saw more monkeys, birds and wildlife in those two days than our entire trip. It was absolutely beautiful but also an experience. The staff is helpful with making arrangements and there is internet in the main house. They do housekeeping 2 a day and get the casita set up for night time- I would ask for a fan during the hot season though as its really incredibly humid. We stayed in the Premium Jr Suite and it was beautiful but we could hear and see the road. Not something comforting when you have no windows or doors and we couldnt see the ocean which bummed us out but we did have monkeys swinging around in our outside bathroom. It is in the middle of nowhere however so you would need to rent a car or get ready to spend a lot on a taxi if you want to go anywhere at all. It was a really amazing experience- I'm not sure if we would do it again.

Room Tip: bring lots of bug spray and be prepared to use an outside toilet with all the jungle animals. If you are squeamish I do not recommend this place. There is also no hot water in the shower- a big bummer for me. If it rains you will need a umbrella on the toilet so be ready. You have the feeling of privacy with everything being open but there are paths. I would try and get a room near the ocean as its so beautiful. And eat at the restaurant!!! The food is amazing, the pool is beautiful and the staff and friends we made are amazing. Take the good with the bad :)
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ema C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Exclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Dear Ema C,
Thank you for your very thorough review of Latitude 10 Resort. We think that your review will be very helpful for future travelers. You say it very well: Latitude 10 is not for everybody and you need to be fairly well traveled and have some tolerance for nature and the elements. But as you also pointed out very well, the guests that are up for such an experience, have the time of their lives and would not want to change it for any other experience. A stay at Latitude 10 is not for the traveler looking for a typical Four Seasons, Westin or JW Marriott resort experience, but if you want an exclusive and classy luxury camping “clamping” lodging experience, sleep just meters from the beach and receive the personalized service that only a 6 room hotel can offer, Latitude 10 is for you. By the way, we have hot water in our showers, so sorry that did not work for you. Our fault. Wish you would have told us, we have solar panels and gas backup to heat the water.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

After a pretty hectic first day with flying in to San Jose etc., the amazing staff at Latitude 10 had everything taken care of for us for our trip out to Santa Teresa the next morning. All the arrangements were made and they were perfect and they even greeted us with drinks upon our arrival.

Our room was perfect and amazing and I cannot say enough good things about Sylvia, Raquel and Yvette - who were the people taking care of us for the majority of our stay. We never had to worry about anything. They took care of any arrangements that we needed and Sylvia even drove us to town to see the independence day celebration.

On our last night, Yvette suprised us with a special dinner in their upstairs room which had been decorated with candles and rose petals - There was even a romantic mix set on the speakers, just for us.

It is a short trip in to town and can be walked if necessary. The girls will set you up with a driver or an ATV rental if needed though. We took the ATVs around to explore other nearby towns and really just had an amazing time. Sylvia told us about a slighty more remote beach nearby (Playa Hermosa) that we were able to walk to! It is such a beautiful area and there is so much to do - and so many beautiful places to relax if you'd rather do nothing.

GO HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brooke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latitude10, Manager at Latitude 10 Exclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Brooke J,
Thank you for your wonderful review about our resort. This is what we are all about. You summed it up better than we could: personalized service and letting you be part of our community, culture and day to day life, and of course, we try to make all the stays at Latitude 10 the most romantic they can be. We are so happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon and especially the special dinner on your last night. Come back for your anniversary, we will have more surprises for you…!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is my third time at latitude 10 in the past year. It is as wonderful now as the first time. This is actually my seventh time there over past few years. The staff is the same and still great as is the food. Thegrounds are beautiful and the surf is great.

Room Tip: The privaterooms are all nice. You cannot go wrong.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews