We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
40
53
25
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
40
53
25
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funny smell nice pool an oasis stayed nights dirt road villa beach monkeys trees nature
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 142 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

The service wasn’t that good, they gave us the wrong room, told us they would help us with our bags to go to the other room and no one came.
The room had a funny smell but they provide candles to disguise it.
The pool is really nice but they have no towels except the ones you use to take a bath.
It has a nice parking space with someone to take care of your car and a nice lay ground for kids.
I specifically booked this hotel because I needed to work and it said the rooms had WiFi and it wasn’t working.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank felab2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

My husband and I stayed here. Good place for the price, near the beach 5-7 minute walk. Well maintained. They do speak English which was a plus. Maid service excellent. A couple of downfalls and I believe this is due to lack of resources in the area. They only gave a two sets of towels(hand towel and bath, no wash cloths) for the entire week. I think they try to conserve water. Really didn't care about the bath towels but the hand towels changed out once during the week would have been nice.
The rooms were nice and we had monkeys come into the area at least 3 nights. Although near the main road, we did not deal with dust at this hotel. Dirt road in town produces a massive amount of dust. We would return and enjoyed this hotel. Thanks Michael for the great drinks and food at the pool hut. Much appreciated. Dave and Chris

Room tip: Individual cabins, top and bottom duplex, large building with several units. If you have issues with accessibility then ask for a cabin.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisbMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018

Hotel Esencia is nice. Pivate cabins, nicely manicured grounds, pool with a poolside bar. Unfortunately, when I arrived and really wanted a cold drink, the bar was not staffed. The main highway throurgh town is not paved, and the dust in horrible. This is unfortunate, because the 2 restaurants I visited, Tiquicia,and Fishbar, have very good food and reasonably priced. But, even the best restaurant experience suffers when you have to travel through a dust storm to get there.The beach is beautiful and you can rent lounge chairs and an umbrella at playa carmen for 8,000 colones a day...about $15. I will not be returning until the highway is paved.

Room tip: They have private cabins, and several rooms that are adjacent.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pcarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

We were referred to Playa Santa Teresa by a local lady and we are so happy we took her advice.

Although the street through the town is very dusty, the beach near Esencia was gorgeous! And the Esencia was an oasis for us. The rooms were clean and spacious. We booked a casita and loved it - right across from the pool.

We are thinking of returning next year for a month!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NaturalTrekking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018

we checked in in december for a 3 night stay. the rooms are old. two twin beds made up on a large concrete block to make a king bed. very uncomfortable. bugs crawling around the room. beach is across the street or take a short drive which was ok. we left after one night. didnt want to stay in such a gross room. mal pais beaches are beautiful but just FYI all the roads are dirt still and lots of potholes and tons of dust. you need 4x4 for most areas.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews