We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Solar(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa MarBella(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuego Lodge(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
37
51
25
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
51
25
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfunny smellnice poolan oasisdirt roadgrocery storecabinbeachporchmonkeys
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 137 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

In 27 july 2012, at night, while I and my wife were outside the hotel (from 8 till 10 pm) thieves invaded our room through the bathroom window robbed the camera, lap top, sunglasses, backpack and GPS. Passports, credit cards and money were in the safe and were not stolen. Police were called, reported the occurrence. The hotel does not assume any responsibility !!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in one of the rooms on top of the "hill", close to the good sized pool. Nice rooms with a/c /a safe and our own patio. The beach is just 2 minutes walk, surf/boggieboard rentals even closer. Santa Teresa beach is unspoilt next to the jungle and a surferparadise. Which makes something lovely with the people and culture.

Since the jungel were next door we weren't surprised to have some ants in the room, the friendly staff took care of the problem right away.

Eather you order breakfast the night before and get it delivered on your doorstep, our you go to the very good Ginger Cafe just next door, for a lovely breakfast!!

Good Santa Teresa location!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martoscaoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights, it's a step-up from a hostel, so it is worth about $50 or so a night, not $100+. Make sure you stay in a stand-alone cabin, not in the on the rooms that is in the big building at the end of the property. We were in the big building and I can attest that you can hear everything your neighbor does.

Random issues we had - broken AC, gigantic ants coming out of toilet into room, millipedes in the bed, and a breakfast service that came only half the time. Breakfast is terrible too - stale bread and cereal, bad coffee (in costa rica!)

Not good, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoEsencia, Guest Relations Manager at Esencia Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Dear Sir,
first of all, in name of all hotel’s staff I’d like to apologize for your unpleasant experience during your stay.
We feel horrible when guests don’t receive what they’re expecting or they complain for bad service .
I only permit to explain that we serve breakfast daily on a tray to the rooms and sometimes it can generate some misunderstanding because some guests order it the night before at specific time (serving time is 8-10 am), other guests prefer to decide at last moment so they inform us the same morning.
Maybe this is what it could be happened to you if you didn’t ask for your breakfast at the reception’s desk.
By the way, we are going to improve the quality of our breakfast with better coffee (all the other items we serve, like corn flakes, yogurt, butter and jam are in a single-use small box).

Broken AC: we know that it could happen and we have to solve this kind of problems offering a solution to our guests (fixing the AC or offering another room), but we need to be informed about the problem.

Ants and bugs in your room: we try to keep rooms cleaned but as you saw Santa Teresa is in the middle of the jungle and this is what makes it so beautiful, but it’s not always possible to keep ants away, even if we clean the rooms daily.

Once again, all our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights from march 9 to the11th with a group of family members, we had two two bedroom casitas and they were very clean, the bathroom was large and the shower had good water pressure. Each bedroom has its own A/C unit and they give you the remotes when you check in. The A/C´s worked very well. There is a digital safe in one of the rooms thats big enough for your laptop and other valuables. The kitchen is basic but fine for simple meals and includes a smallish fridge, sink and gas stovetop with four burners. Plates, cuttlery and glasses were in good condition. The pool is nice and has shade for some of the lounge chairs but none for the pool itself.They only have one set of keys for each casita and that can be a problem with a group. The hotel is across the street from a disco and we were worried it would be very loud but it wasn´t. We did hear it on Saturday night but not loud enough to keep anyone awake. The Hotel itself is on a small hill with the hotel rooms at the top, then the pool and WiFi area and then the casitas going down to the entrance where the parking lot and reception are. Lodgings are a bit removed from the street which is great because it is soooo dusty. The dust is not an issue in the rooms. You have to walk across the road and down a path to the beach. You could take a car too since there is parking at the beach. Esencia is very simple but clean and well cared for. We were pleased with what we got for the price.

Room Tip: casita #7 is closer to the pool
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aricrsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a cute little place to stay, the walk up to our room was interesting, especially since I lost my flip flops on the first day we arrived. Room was adorable, local style and clean. No breakfast included, which was fine. No phones in the room, which only posed to be a problem when we found a scorpion in our bed! Fun times though, and when in Costa Rica, the wildlife truly does sit at your doorstep, and closer! I woke up on the first morning to find a huge Iguana on our balcony, and monkeys in the trees! Not bad!

Room Tip: Choose on of the stand alone bungalows closer to reception, they look so cute and have hammocks outside...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews