We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saint Teresa here we come!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is a cute little place to stay, the walk up to our room was interesting, especially since I lost my flip flops on the first day we arrived. Room was adorable, local style and clean. No breakfast included, which was fine. No phones in the room, which only posed to be a problem when we found a scorpion in our bed! Fun times though, and when in Costa Rica, the wildlife truly does sit at your doorstep, and closer! I woke up on the first morning to find a huge Iguana on our balcony, and monkeys in the trees! Not bad!

Room Tip: Choose on of the stand alone bungalows closer to reception, they look so cute and have hammocks outs...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for Esencia Hotel & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 125 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

There are two choices here. Hotel rooms and cabins. Choose the cabin. The hotel room was small and nothing special. For $15 more we got a cabin. It's like a large studio apartment with full kitchen with no walls adjoining any other cabin. Very good beach access. No phones and No TVs when we were there and pretty close to grocery store.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivabaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Clean bungalows, good price and quality. Enjoyed the last night in santa teresa before we left. Thanks to esencia.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

priced a tad high for place , we pretty much took care of everything ourselves..it was ok clean, we stayed 4 days then moved down the road cause we decided to stay in area longer,

Room Tip: Not towad front of property cause thursday nights you won:t sleep loud music till 3:00 am
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy-527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed in one of the villas in january and had a great time. It had one king sized bed and two singles all in a room which also contains a kitchen. Only a short walk from one of the nicest beaches in the world and very close to several great restaurants!

Room Tip: Villas are great because you can save on a few meals or simply use the kitchen to prepare snacks for...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichoguti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

If you want to stay in a cozy place to enjoy holidays in a very relaxing way, this is a perfect place. Everything is the place is very clean. The space in the Villas is well organized to be comfortable enough and the common areas like gardens and pool are beautiful. Wonderful beach at just one block and everything you need just around the corner. The only bad thing was the noisy AC unit at night that forced me to turn it off in order to sleep well.

Room Tip: Higher units are closer to the pool area, better if you go with children.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank analu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We reserved a Villa for two adults and two children. The one we got only had two beds: king and single. We asked for a solution to this issue and nobody on site couldn't resolve it. They had to e-mail the owner somewhere and the response speed was super slow. At the end we stayed in the same villa and managed to put the two boys in a single bed.

The Villas are nice, but one of the main reason we choose them was the kitchen (we wanted to cook), but there was a problem with the sink and the gas stove didn't work properly. Again to fix the issues we had to wait more than a day.

The gardens and pool are great. We knew they don't have restaurant but they don't even have a coffee bar with snacks for the morning breakfast which it is a given on sites with prices like this in this area.

Overall the location is great, the villa in nice, the pool and gardens great. But I felt they are expensive for what they offered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaronX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esencia Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esencia Hotel & Villas

Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $85 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Esencia Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Santa Teresa-Mal Pais Beach, one of the most virgin and beautiful regions! Endless miles of soft, white sand beach perfect for swimming and surfing. The hotel offers ten marvelous, independent and private villas. All villas have their own terrace with garden view, bathroom, hot water and safety box. Other exquisite elements are the teak chairs, the furniture and the deck of the villa made out of precious woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Esencia Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esencia Hotel And Villas
Esencia Hotel Santa Teresa
Esencia Hotel & Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing