We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath Taking”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have no ways to express the sadness that I felt when leaving the hotel, it is so full of great energy, the service impeccable, and the service, wow, I have been to many resorts in Costa Rica and the tico is known for its friendliness butt this place each employees makes sure that when you leave their presence u feel better. I will recommend it to any one who needs to lift up his spirit and renew straights.

Why the sadness? it is just that place where you wanna stay for ever!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    47
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
32
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This lodge is nicer than most in the area. It is only about a year old. The rooms are clean and up to date.There is some music that drifts up from the local disco at night. This was not a issue at our unit which was at the top of the hill. There is no parking at the units, but they allow you to drive up and drop your bags off before parking back at the office. The are a couple of nice restaurants within walking distance and the food and entertainment were pretty good. Overall, a nice, pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms up the hill are quieter and smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captjake77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This place is lovely.

Nice grounds, basic but good room. Location, location, location. The kitchenette was funcitonnal and loved it

The grounds are nicely landscaped, but on slope. Take note if you do not facy walking up and down. We did not tought it was too much of a deal.

The only BIG drawback. We had the first unit next to the office close to the road. Accross the road is a 'Dance hall' (Read a disco) that pumps out loud music. It is BAD... we are early bird and this ruined it for us.

Would gladly return to Esencia, but on the condition that it is one of the unit halway uphill or further.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixiematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2011

My brother and I stayed in a room by the pool for 5 nights/6 days. We really enjoyed the trip, as it was extremely relaxing. The hotel is a very short walk from the beach (hard to find a hotel right on the beach in Sta Teresa). The hotel staff was very nice and helped us with transportation to and from Tambor Airport and with dinner reservations (which are typically not needed). We walked to restaurants every night (see my separate reviews for Kika, Alma, and Ginger). Our room was even nicer than we expected and loved the little porch. We felt like we received a very good value for our money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed at the Esencia Hotel for two nights in February 2011.

There are individual villas on either side of the path and a block of eight rooms at the top of the hill. Four ground floor and four above them.

We stayed in a top floor room. It had lovely views. You could just about see the sea. The balcony was quite private with dividers either side so that you couldn't see your neighbours.

The room was very modern and clean with a spacious bathroom and nice touches like coloured candles and vases etc. There was air conditioning and a ceiling fan. Not much storage space though.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

There is a small pool near to the bar which is big enough to swim in and has sun bed in the sun or the shade.

The individual villas did not seem very private as you had to walk past them to get to the rooms at the top so if you are lying in the hammock or sitting on your veranda you will get people walking past looking at you. But I think the villa rooms had more facilities in them like a fridge.

There are quite a few trees in the grounds and there were monkeys there both days.

There is a very short walk to the beach across the road and various restaurants nearby.

Overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discobabe789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I chose this hotel because of its location and the price and was expecting a clean room that was close to the beach. My experience was overwhelmingly positive - not only was the hotel very beautifully kept but the service was exceptionally warm and friendly and the location extremely convenient.
The rooms are clean, simple and tastefully decorated - in a little hill surrounded by trees and flowers where one does not hear any noise from the street. The staff was attentive and very polite, going out of their way to assist us in our requests. The gardens around Esencia are well kept and the atmosphere is that of a quiet hotel where one can go either with family or friends/couple and have a pleasant stay.
The location is very good - just a 100m walk from a great part of St. Teresa beach and 5 minute walk to lots of little cafes and restaurants - my favorite Kika was practically across the street. We barely touched our car during our whole stay because it was so convenient to just walk everywhere.
I'm Costa Rican and have stayed at numerous beach hotels in this range of price accross the country and I have to say I was impressed and pleased by Esencia and would definitely recommend it to anyone spending some time in St. Teresa. Great value, great people, great location, beautiful place!
Not for you if you're looking for 5 star treatment with room service and TV, etc... If what you want is a simple, pretty, comfortable place close to the beach - go for it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This hotel disposes of a very great and clean arrangement.
In the rooms you feels very welcome, value is placed of small details.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We were very contented with all and will come again certainly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascaleSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esencia Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esencia Hotel & Villas

Property: Esencia Hotel & Villas
Address: Playa Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Esencia Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Santa Teresa-Mal Pais Beach, one of the most virgin and beautiful regions! Endless miles of soft, white sand beach perfect for swimming and surfing. The hotel offers ten marvelous, independent and private villas. All villas have their own terrace with garden view, bathroom, hot water and safety box. Other exquisite elements are the teak chairs, the furniture and the deck of the villa made out of precious woods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Esencia Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esencia Hotel And Villas
Esencia Hotel Santa Teresa
Esencia Hotel & Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing