We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For Surfers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
East Coast USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel For Surfers”
Reviewed August 14, 2008

Clean hotel with a great location. Its right in front of a great surf spot, and there are great resturaunts and bars within walking distance. The staff is great as well, and there rates are definetly reasonable. Highly recomended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petercorreale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

Beach Break Hotel Rocks! Its right in the middle of town and the staff is so friendly and helpful. It has all the ammenities of a fancy hotel without the high price. This was hands down one of my best experiences in Costa Rica.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingpantsLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene, or
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2008

This was the most amazing trip yet to Costa Rica! i would highly recommend Beach Break Hotel to anyone interested in terrific lodging in the middle of paradise. The manager Suzy is amazingly friendly and full of tips on fun things to do and see while staying in the area. There are amenities such as a/c, a fridge, a tv with dvd player, a sweet balcony for every room and hot showers. The price is extremely reasonable and there is also a safe in each room for security. It is located just a few minutes walk from the most breathtaking white sand beach. You can surf awesome waves and meet all kinds of fascinating travelers from around the world. I loved it so much that i returned to the exact same spot just 2 months later.
I can not wait to get back to Santa Teresa and stay at my favorite hotel!!

  • Liked — perfect location, super friendly staff, quality accomodations
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarita_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

I just got back from a trip to CR with my girlfriend and stayed at the Beach Break for a night. This was the most disappointing part or the entire trip without question!

We rented a small house that is just up the driveway from the hotel. Altough they advertise it as having a kitchen, I wouldn't even consider preparing food there it was so filthy. There was literally a layer of dirt coating the "kitchen", which was nothing more than an unclean sink and refrigerator and a two burner PROPANE stove. Yes, propane, ie, not safe to burn indoors, unless you're looking for a little carbon monoxide poisoning on your trip.

The shower was supposed to be hot, but was nowhere near hot. Besides, most of the water coming out of the broken shower head sprayed all over the nearby wall and then all over the bathroom floor (which could have used some cleaning anyways). The floor, including in the shower, was so dirty that we had to wear flip flops even in the shower. When I tried adjusting the broken shower head I got an electrical shock! The shower head was being held together with electrical tape that was completely saturated from the water spraying everywhere.

Already disgusted with this place, I went to use the bathroom sink and saw there was a large clump of hair in the drain. At that point I wasn't surprised in any way.

We found ants in the entire place, so shoes were a must no matter what. Fortunately they didn't get into the bed with us.

I am perfectly comfortable living the "backpacker" or hostel lifestyle while travelling, but this place was worse than any hostel I've stayed at anywhere in the world! The worst part is that I paid the equivalent price as I would have in the US, not hostel rates!

I brought up these concerns to the Floridian manager (don't remember her name, sorry) when I was checking out the next morning. Instead of dealing with the problem or even offering a discount, she simply tore up my paperwork and stormed out of the office.

I definitely recommend visiting Santa Teresa but there are plenty of places to stay nearby. DO NOT stay at the Beach Break!!!

  • Liked — Nothing positive about this experience
  • Disliked — Dirty hostel conditions with the price of an American hotel.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wistraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

Being new parents to a 7-month old son, my husband and I needed to get away from Texas for some fun in the sun and relaxation. It so happened we discovered both at Costa Rica’s brand new treasure, The Beach Break Surf Hotel.

Beach Break’s staff was unconditionally accommodating, friendly, and very knowledgeable of the area, which was a plus being our first time in Costa Rica…Not to mention how well they take pride in the hotel, everything was impeccably spotless and the aroma throughout was of the fresh local flowers.

For as little as $70 a night, we stayed in one of the cabinas that came with a full kitchen, ceramic tile flooring, internet accessibility, and YES, air conditioning! Although there were restaurants just around the corner, my husband and I enjoyed utilizing our cabina's kitchen and added a little home cooking to the vacation with seafood, fruits, and vegetables bought from the nearby fresh markets. Our bathroom had hot water too, which was nice for the numerous soothing baths taken after our long day of surfing, horseback or bicycle riding, and strolling along Santa Teresa Beach. Being able to make international calls from the hotel, we stayed in touch with our family, friends, and especially our “little one” at home.

All in all, our experience at Beach Break Surf Hotel was above and beyond awesome and the staff treated us like family! My husband and I will most definitely recommend it to anyone vacationing in Costa Rica!

  • Liked — Our overall experience
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TXJINJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

Beach Break hotel met all my expectations and went even beyond! I usually dont get involved with online reviews but after the wonderful hospitality my family and I recv'd - I felt it was the least to do.

This is a brand new hotel that is well furnished and equipped with a/c and a private bathroom in each room. Walk to the beach where many come to surf and theres 2 great restaurants there as well. The staff is very friendly and informative which helped make for an even better stay! Oh - the price was great compared to others I found online.

I look forward to going back Beach Break hotel in a few years. I'm usually picky and after our wonderful experience there the least I can do is share the experience with others. Check them out online [--] - I cant wait to go back myself!! Thanks guys for the wonderful hospitality.

  • Liked — well furnished
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank himikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surf Vista Villas
Surf Vista Villas
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Break Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Break Surf Hotel

Property: Beach Break Surf Hotel
Address: Santa Teresa 506, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Teresa
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Break Surf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the main road in the heart of the village perfect for surfers and no surfers easy access to the beach and all other facilities. Surf, Relax, Repeat We have 14 double private rooms with A/c, cable tv, safe hot water, private bathroom, balcony and other 3 fully equipped studios with hammoks. we have also a communal clean fully furnished kitchen, freeWiFi, free parking, security guard, confortable rancho and a chill out zone. We can help you arrange all your activities, happy and always smiling, bi-lingual staff that has incredible and huge knowledge of the local area, tours, surf lessons ATV's and bike rentals, shuttles...will be pleased to help you. we feature a unique experience in accomodation with a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. surf relax & repeat for any question or doubt don't hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach Break Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Break Surf Hotel Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing