We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly beautiful & romantic wedding venue.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Palm Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Red Palm Villas
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful & romantic wedding venue.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We held our wedding (approximately 50 guests) at Red Palm Villas. We were fortunate to actually visit Red Palm Villas on a previous trip to Costa Rica, prior to deciding to make this our location for the wedding. I saw an advertisement for it on Craigslist, and it turned out to be a gem of a find. We really enjoyed the easy going/laid back feel of the property. We fell in love with the villas, they were exactly what we were looking for (and reflected our personalities), luxurious mixed with a little bit of rusticness. We chose Red Palms as the venue because it is a beautiful property on an amazing beachfront. Red Palm Villas is such a magical place. My family enjoyed our 5 days stay there. All five villas are outstanding and unique! They really are a place for individual peace and relaxation but also a place for family and friends to get together, large enough for everyone to come over and enjoy our "home".

Santa Teresa was a perfect location. The town has a variety of accommodation types to fit any of your guest's budget; from dormitory rooms (hostels) to high end boutique hotels, private villas, or something in the midrange category. There are also supermarkets, restaurants and a phenomenal beach that you can gaze at for endless hours from a hammock or go surfing.

From my very first contact with Mike, the owner, I always received first class service. As a bride planning and preparing for her wedding, I most appreciated his communication style – responded quickly and always addressed every question/concern that I had. We also got to know him more on a personal level, talking about our experiences and families. He kept to his promises and original quote and always worked with us. There was no surprise costs related to the venue and accommodations. I chose not to hire a personal wedding planner – mostly to save on costs for work that I could do myself. The wedding preparation was relatively stress free (even planning it from afar). He made things easy for us, helping wherever he can, even the little things like facilitating payment to vendors on our behalf. He also has a fantastic team of staff onsite at Red Palms, working to create that special day.

Mike has all the contacts and vendors you would need to create the wedding of your dreams. Music, caterer, photographer, lawyer, entertainment, etc. The vendors Mike recommended are first rate - quality & reliable. From the vendors Mike suggested to us, we chose to go with the mandolin guitar player, caterer, and hair salon stylist. The other vendors we used were found through other sources.

A quick mention of the vendors that were used for the wedding: Soma Chefs catered the reception and our guests enjoyed the food. Dave, mandolin guitar player for ceremony music. Los Mojitos, latin jazz live band, were amazing (also found through craigslist)! Jen the female vocalist has such a beautiful voice and was a nice filler at our reception between all our other wedding festivities. I cannot also say enough about our wedding photographer, Fernando. I found Fernando by googling weddings in Costa Rica (www.weddings.co.cr). His 600+ online wedding albums display his talent and photographic skills, but does not show what a wonderful and passionate person he is. I also got a few of our wedding ideas by reviewing his online gallery. He responded quickly and was always ready to help. He even ended up officiating our ceremony for us (spiritual only - non legal binding) and also has additional vendors/contacts that would be used for the wedding day. What a memorable wedding day we had, Red Palm Villas, beachfront, live band, DJ, fireworks, delicious food, wedding couple piñata, and fresh coconuts/copos (snow cones).

Red Palms is more of a boutique style retreat. There are not a lot of "amenities" at Red Palm Villas like you would get in a resort/hotel; however, this suited our needs just fine. It was intimate and casual, but, you can make the venue however you want it. Many items needed for the wedding reception will need to rented and brought in depending on the size of your wedding. We had approximately 50 guests. For example, chairs, tables, cutlery, tableware, coverage space in case in rains (Red Palms has a covered patio area for about 30 people).

Unfortunately, Mike was overseas still during our wedding day and also during much of the planning. During our five day stay, Yateem and the rest of the Red Palm staff made our stay laid back, stress free and most enjoyable. Yateem assisted us in checking the weather forecast prior, arranged a tent rental, and was available during the wedding day to facilitate the vendors for the event. The floral arrangements for the reception tables and lighting provided were perfect for our tastes. The staff provided great restaurant recommendations and points of interests locally and helped arrange ATV rentals, etc

Thank you for sharing Red Palm Villas with us and for Red Palm's assistance these last few months. Not only do you provide such an outstanding product, but also outstanding service. I cannot say again, how much I appreciated their timely responses/ communication. Hope our paths cross again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabo3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
145
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

This place is fantastic!
Amazing gardens and suites.
My suite was custom finished, very clean, and it had AC!!
Unlike most places, you actually have access to your own beach, and they provided beach chairs.
Great staff.
I`d stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadapassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

We initially decided to stay at Red Palm Villas becuase of the very first email response we got from the mgmt. to our initial availability inquiry email. Something about how helpful they were in their response made me feel at ease, and ultimately made our minds up that we were going to stay there. This feeling was validated immediately upon our receipt. The mgmt. at RPV made our trip the most incredible experience, directing us to sights, actiivitites, and restaurants that ensured we got the most out of our time in Santa Teresa.

The facilities themselves were immaculate. The pictures you see on their website dont lie, in fact if anything, they dont do it justice. You really have to see it in person. The accomodations are literally right on one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. We made a habit of pausing for about 30 min each night to watch the sunsets from Red Palm's lounge chairs before heading down the beach to find a spot for dinner. The rooms are very well kept and decorated, and the bedrooms are air-conditioned for a cool night's sleep.

We've also never felt more safe anywhere we have stayed before, as RPV has 24 hour security guards who ensure there are no unwelcome visitors. (Not that it is even necessary, as the area in general felt very friendly and safe, but it was an added comfort).

If surfing is your thing.... you are in the right spot at RPV. The waves directly out front can reach up to 15-20 feet. Directly next to RPV is a beachfront restaurant, where we quickly found out was a meeting spot of sorts for local surfers and those that just wanted to watch.

I could go on and on.... but to sum it up.... we've always said we would never travel to the same place twice, as there are too many places in the world to see, but our visit to Red Palm Villas in Santa Teresa has changed our minds. We will be back without question.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPV2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

A friend was getting married in Santa Teresa and did all the research, gave us a list of places to stay and said Red Palm Villas was the best. Without doing much research, I booked the two bedroom Hummingbird Villa. My friend arrived there before I did, let me know that the place was paradise. I had no idea what an understatement that would be. It's right on the beach - you can see and hear the waves roll in, watch unbelievable sunsets, see monkeys, geckos, iguanas, squirrels and tropical birds. The villa itself was extremely private, immaculate, breezy, filled with fresh flowers and every convenience (including Wi-Fi, even though we pretty much forgot about the outside world on day one). Three dogs live on the property - making us feel extra welcome and safe. One of the dogs even smiles -- you must see this to believe it.

Santa Teresa itself is quiet, private, with gorgeous beaches sparsely populated with visitors (unlike one neighboring beach town we visited which was crowded, more touristy). From the Red Palm Villas we were able to walk down the beach three minutes in either direction to quaint little restaurants with very good food. The Red Palms staff also suggested a couple of other outings -- our favorite was a visit to the Rain Song Sanctuary that rehabilitates animals. Holding an orphan baby howler monkey was a moment we'll never forget.

After our week long stay, it was so hard to leave this place. By far the most peaceful, rejuvenating vacation I've ever had.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mktb00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehorse Yukon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

My Wife and I spent a little over a week in the Harmony villa ,we were celebrating our 25th anniversary , we were more than pleased, from the airconditioned villa ,to the helpful staff to the beautiful private beach, to the attention to detail by everyone , to the friendly dogs to the location, to the fishing ,to the walks on the beach to the ATVing adventures, to the wonderful resteraunts, to the friendlyness of the locals ,to the wildlife , it was a wonderful 10 days relaxing and kickin back, and the Red Palms were a huge reason why , we would go back to the Red Palms in a heartbeat BEAUTIFUL!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehorseYukonSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at RPV. All of the staff were incredibly helpful in giving us the lay of the land in Santa Teresa - Mal Pais...one of the greatest beaches I have ever been to. We went during the busiest week (between X-mas and New Years) and getting a rental car was quite difficult - Yateem...at RPV managed to get me one of the last available rental ATV's in the area...basically saving my trip and then gave me insight into a bunch of amazing beaches and restaurants to hit up in the area. RPV staff also helped arrange massages, surf lessons, a boat trip and dinner reservations for us. Red Palm Villas is the place to say if you want to be in Santa Teresa, in a nicer accomodation but still feel like you are part of what Santa Teresa is all about...rather than some of the other upmarket accomodations further up the beach where you are more on a resort and have less opportunity to take advantage of the awesome beachtown around you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Red Palm Villas and Santa Theresa provided us with an amazing vacation! At Red Palm you have the best of both worlds, with many hotel amenities (including a fully loaded surf/snorkel cabana) with the privacy of your own beach front cottage. The pictures on the Red Palm site don't lie ... it really does look that good when you get there. Our home was super clean with lots of little smart extras like fresh water foot cleaning pools out side the doors! Jess and Mike run a clean fantastic resort everyone is always happy to help organize reservations for dining, zip tours, surf lessons yoga and anything else you want. The trip can be as plush or rustic as you choose and they know where to send you to get either end of the spectrum (we did a bit of both)! The scenery and wildlife are unmatched - we drank coffee in the morning listening to and watching monkeys swing past our balcony (we were in the humming bird villa) met an iguana, walked through tide pools full of life, surfed, read books, ate amazing food (everything super fresh), cooked in our little kitchen and even ended up having a dinner party for 11 of our new friends on fish my husband and others caught. The staff at the Red Palm surprised us, I asked if we could have a few extra wine glasses for our dinner party and when we came home in the evening with our groceries they had laid out tea lights and flower petals all over the dining and living areas!

If surfing is your thing this is the place - you can be out of bed and on the beach before your eyes are even fully open! Mick (local surf coach arranged by Mike of Red Palm before our arrival) was fantastic - a real teacher who had me out in the real waves and making it into shore (occasionally) still standing. He was so great we have already decided to head back so that our now 3 and 6 year old boys can learn from him! The last night we did a sunset surf that was some crazy combination of peaceful and exhilarating - great waves, pelicans fishing sun setting a modest number of surfers out enjoying the same thing... wow!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JupiterE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Palm Villas

Property: The Red Palm Villas
Address: Santa Teresa main road, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Palm Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach, private, awesome views, #1 honeymoon villas and suites, full service.A 24 hour front desk.Daily housekeeping included in the room rate.Private bathroom for each unit.If there is a minimum-stay requirement, it must be no more than 3 nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Palm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
The Red Palm Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing