We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nautilus Boutique Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Tropico Latino(Santa Teresa)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Santa Teresa(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$81
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villas Solar(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaima Chill House(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Cielo(Santa Teresa)
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fuego Lodge(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$70
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Teresa Surf Vista Villas(Santa Teresa)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
224
7
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
7
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon villagarden villaair conditionedlow tideevery eveningpineapplebeautiful placeperfect spotocean frontrent an atvweddingbeachsunsetprivacyharmonyhammocksstove
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 238 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I live in ny where the air is thick and the people are nasty. The red palms was literally the opposite of that. The weather is always great and the people here were so friendly. It has got to be the awesome spot it has by the beach and the non stop sunlight that keeps everyone here so happy. On to the rooms itself, I'm an avid designer and I do not take lightly to bad furnishing, the rooms were very pretty and you get a nice homey feeling. The staff were very easy to work with also. The place was just very accommodating. I recommend the this place mainly because the rooms are just so nice, ac in some of the rooms but also open air so you can enjoy Mother Nature. The room is kept very tidy daily which I'm an avid fan of. The only complaint was that I couldn't stay any longer... Summer breeze, tasty drinks , laying by the beach and the open air... All at an awesome villa.... Priceless.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylormanjetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A big part of me doesn't want to review this hotel because I don't want anyone else to know about it--it's too good, in some ways too good to be true, bit it’s only fair to share the discovery with others.

My wife and I always say that if we had to design the perfect small hotel this would be it. The villas are the most perfect compliment of the surroundings, well thought out and very functional, exactly what we would have conceived. Scores of reviews say the same thing and no wonder they consistently win awards. We are repeaters, having spent a glorious 2 February weeks for the third year in a row we have stayed in almost all their villas and suites offered, they are all great--tastefully appointed and immaculate. The beds are dream-inducing, fresh, comfortable, and cool with views.

The staff through and through are both accessible and friendly, and the owner will stop at almost nothing to ensure your needs are attended to.

Their location is superb, on the beach, about a 10-minute walk to town and about a 2-minute on a footpath along the beach to the restaurant where we were followed by the Red Palm dogs and had breakfast every day.

The sunsets are glorious as well, very colorful and dramatic, they last for about 75-90 minutes, I actually made sure we were never away and were stationed on the beach with drinks and favorite chairs for our sunset. And every morning we had rich Costa Rica coffee on our beach front balcony overlooking the sea, surrounded by hummingbirds and palm trees. The traveler who doesn't like the Red Palm Villa’s doesn't like life, there is nothing to dislike, it’s a surreal setting full of happy smiling staff, beautiful friendly dogs and very well cared for wildlife, it’s like a dream until you have to wake up and go home and face reality that even dreams come to an end.

Thanks Red Palm Villas and staff for an unforgettable vacation, can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently honeymooned in Santa Teresa and stayed at the Red Palm Villas. To say, “AMAZING" is a total understatement. This place is fantastic! 
Our Room: We were upgraded and stayed in the ocean front Honeymoon Villa where we were about 40 feet from the water. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. We had a comfortable king bed, large double shower that could accommodate 20 easily, with full ocean views, and a large covered patio for afternoon reading and naps as well as late nights of chilling and cards.

The Resort: The resort has a great beach right out front, it’s very private, we rarely saw other guests, there’s no hot tub ☹ but there were tide pools out front and at low tide they were just like natural springs/tubs, very warm, salt water, and relaxing. The staff was always there, they were prompt and courteous, they would even recommend places to see and give tips on getting there. There was also a snorkel tour we took to a very cool little island, Isla Tortuga, we saw a lot of interesting fish and sea life on that excursion.

Brisas del Mar is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. We were lucky to enjoy the free breakfast at Milarepa every morning, that was not expected and a nice sight to see and experience such a high quality, healthy breakfast experience. Our dinners were at a different restaurant almost every night, we had 9 on our list and only made it to 5, and each one was exceptional.

Atmosphere: As far as we could tell, the resort is almost entirely couples or small families. All the guests were friendly, warm and the setting was very private which is part of what makes it great compared to the nearby resorts that were full of children, other guests visiting the restaurants, etc. There is a laid back atmosphere to the Red Palm Villas that was just our speed. We felt like we owned this amazing estate and dreamed how it would be possible to switch lives for that…still thinking weeks later how it could be possible.

I cannot say enough great things about the Red Palm Villas and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaakov Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedPalmVillas_10, Owner at The Red Palm Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hi Jacob and Cynthia, thanks so much for your review, it was so nice working with you and it was a an honor hosting you for your honeymoon.

Sorry about the hot tub, we've considered them several times but in the end decided we would encourage our guests to do something a little different and as you did, explore the tide pools just in front. It's not much different then when people travel to the hot springs, our tide pools are just in front to the right of our private beach, there are 20 or more, all different shapes and sizes and even more to the right, they're safe, most are cool and refreshing but if you need warm you can tip toe around and find one that can get very warm, as warm as a hot tub actually and they are salt water, making them a great place to get a therapeutic soak while relaxing and surrounded by awesome views of the beach, nature and ocean.

We once again thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to host you for an amazing honeymoon. Best wishes from me and the entire Red Palm Villas staff - Pura Vida!

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Costa Rica where we had our honeymoon: 10 glorious days which were made event better by the fact that we stayed at Red Palm Villas. I had started a conversation with Mike (the owner) about 7 months prior to our wedding. Mike and I went back and forth on cost and all the other details. He made the process simple and enjoyable. Our budget was not huge but this was our honeymoon so we knew we would splurge a bit!!!
The property is directly on Santa Teresa Beach. Santa Teresa is a sleepy village arrayed along a long dirt road (roughly 3km). This beach is a Surfers Mecca!! The property itself is comprised of 3 villas and some additional suite style rooms. The landscaping is immaculate and the level of cleanliness is what you would expect from a 5 star resort. The staff is fantastic. Ruth and her co-worker Lu were exceptionally helpful and made all of our excursion reservations and helped us out with what to do and where to go. They front desk staff wear a number of hats including: Front Desk, Concierge..etc... They are by far the best staff I have interacted with at a hotel or resort and I work in the hospitality industry...so that says a lot.
We spend the first 7 days in the hummingbird villa which is located in the garden of the property. One the first night we were coming back from dinner and the entire garden was lit with glow-bugs which was incredibly romantic! For the last 3 days Mike gave us a very generous upgrade to the honeymoon villa which is steps from the beach. Granted the hummingbird villa is steps from the beach too, the honeymoon villa is literally about 75 feet from the water. It was very nice to spend our last 3 nights in the incredible honeymoon villa.
Now for some fun stuff:
Two of the owners dogs live on the property" Sisco and Seba. They are both lovely animals and if your a dog person you will love them. Sisco and Seba decided to adopt us during our honeymoon and went everywhere with us! They would come to breakfast with us and lay down under the table, the never begged for food and are very well behaved. When we would go swimming on the beach they would sit attentively by our things and not move until we came back....amazing!!! My wife and I truly miss these dogs as they added immensely to our experience.
On September 5th there was a large earth quake (7.6) on the Nicoya peninsula. There was no huge loss of property or life because Costa Rica's building codes are the same as used in California and Japan..essentially buildings will stay up!! Ruth from the front desk, ran over to our villa to make sure that we were ok, which we were. We are from San Francisco so an earthquake is something we are prepared for. She even instructed us on where to go to wait out the Tsunami warning which was with a very nice family and some other locals halfway up a mountain not to far from the property off the main road. In a weird way this experience made our honeymoon a bit more adventurous!!! Needless to say the entire property did not suffer any damage, and when we woke up to the shaking it actually felt safer inside the Honeymoon villa than it did outside, where a coconut, lizard or monkey could have fallen on our heads!

There are monkeys which constantly move through the tree's, Huge Iguana's that also live on the grounds and other assorted tropical animals and plants that all add to the amazingness of the place.

All in all we could not have imagined a better experience. We already have plans to come back next year!! The way of life in Costa Rica is rich and simple. The food is fresh and the people are friendly. We felt taken care of everywhere we went, especially at Red Palm Villa's. Thank you, Mike, Ruth and Lu for making our honeymoon an experience we will remember for the rest of our lives.

PURA VIDA!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Red palm villas is a stunning little get away. It is not an overdone resort, but a little coastal haven. Right on the stunningly gorgeous Santa Teresa beach, you have howler monkeys living right outside your villa. Ruby, the friendly macaw that has made Red palm Villas her home and lovely dogs that live at the resort. Each night we walked along the shore with the dogs as the sun set. We would then go back to our half open and half enclosed villa. The bedroom and bathroom are enclosed with air conditioning (such a necessity), while the kitchen and living room are open. This is far more fantastic than I can express. i spent morning in teh living room reading while waiting for my sleeping boyfriend to wake up. We had a refrigerator so we would have breakfast, dress and go to surf lessons, a massage on the beach (amazing), take out the resort ATV or go on one of our adventures (zipline, waterfall tours, jungle tours). There is also horseback riding on the beach, the staff is amazingly helpful. one note, red Palm Villas does not have a restaurant but there are so many lovely places to eat along the beach or in town that this was not a problem at all. It was actually nice to have a little adventure finding a place to eat or walking next door... just along the beach. Oh and everyone they recommended we use was wonderful and helpful. I even got to hold a monkey on a monkey preserve that apparently liked people more than her fellow monkeys.. Fifi. Sweet monkey that just wanted to curl up in my lap.
Another thing to note, Santa Teresa is a bit remote, but not unmanageable, in fact that was a benefit. For those who are saying it is too far from restaurants, however they are just next door on the beach and amazingly good.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe villa. It is the cheapest but still fantastic. The other villas that cost a bit more are outstanding and absolutely stunning. The website is accurate in its description of the rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews