We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service great price, what more can you ask for?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Red Palm Villas
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I live in ny where the air is thick and the people are nasty. The red palms was literally the opposite of that. The weather is always great and the people here were so friendly. It has got to be the awesome spot it has by the beach and the non stop sunlight that keeps everyone here so happy. On to the rooms itself, I'm an avid designer and I do not take lightly to bad furnishing, the rooms were very pretty and you get a nice homey feeling. The staff were very easy to work with also. The place was just very accommodating. I recommend the this place mainly because the rooms are just so nice, ac in some of the rooms but also open air so you can enjoy Mother Nature. The room is kept very tidy daily which I'm an avid fan of. The only complaint was that I couldn't stay any longer... Summer breeze, tasty drinks , laying by the beach and the open air... All at an awesome villa.... Priceless.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylormanjetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 238 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

A big part of me doesn't want to review this hotel because I don't want anyone else to know about it--it's too good, in some ways too good to be true, bit it’s only fair to share the discovery with others.

My wife and I always say that if we had to design the perfect small hotel this would be it. The villas are the most perfect compliment of the surroundings, well thought out and very functional, exactly what we would have conceived. Scores of reviews say the same thing and no wonder they consistently win awards. We are repeaters, having spent a glorious 2 February weeks for the third year in a row we have stayed in almost all their villas and suites offered, they are all great--tastefully appointed and immaculate. The beds are dream-inducing, fresh, comfortable, and cool with views.

The staff through and through are both accessible and friendly, and the owner will stop at almost nothing to ensure your needs are attended to.

Their location is superb, on the beach, about a 10-minute walk to town and about a 2-minute on a footpath along the beach to the restaurant where we were followed by the Red Palm dogs and had breakfast every day.

The sunsets are glorious as well, very colorful and dramatic, they last for about 75-90 minutes, I actually made sure we were never away and were stationed on the beach with drinks and favorite chairs for our sunset. And every morning we had rich Costa Rica coffee on our beach front balcony overlooking the sea, surrounded by hummingbirds and palm trees. The traveler who doesn't like the Red Palm Villa’s doesn't like life, there is nothing to dislike, it’s a surreal setting full of happy smiling staff, beautiful friendly dogs and very well cared for wildlife, it’s like a dream until you have to wake up and go home and face reality that even dreams come to an end.

Thanks Red Palm Villas and staff for an unforgettable vacation, can’t wait to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently honeymooned in Santa Teresa and stayed at the Red Palm Villas. To say, “AMAZING" is a total understatement. This place is fantastic! 
Our Room: We were upgraded and stayed in the ocean front Honeymoon Villa where we were about 40 feet from the water. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. We had a comfortable king bed, large double shower that could accommodate 20 easily, with full ocean views, and a large covered patio for afternoon reading and naps as well as late nights of chilling and cards.

The Resort: The resort has a great beach right out front, it’s very private, we rarely saw other guests, there’s no hot tub ☹ but there were tide pools out front and at low tide they were just like natural springs/tubs, very warm, salt water, and relaxing. The staff was always there, they were prompt and courteous, they would even recommend places to see and give tips on getting there. There was also a snorkel tour we took to a very cool little island, Isla Tortuga, we saw a lot of interesting fish and sea life on that excursion.

Brisas del Mar is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. We were lucky to enjoy the free breakfast at Milarepa every morning, that was not expected and a nice sight to see and experience such a high quality, healthy breakfast experience. Our dinners were at a different restaurant almost every night, we had 9 on our list and only made it to 5, and each one was exceptional.

Atmosphere: As far as we could tell, the resort is almost entirely couples or small families. All the guests were friendly, warm and the setting was very private which is part of what makes it great compared to the nearby resorts that were full of children, other guests visiting the restaurants, etc. There is a laid back atmosphere to the Red Palm Villas that was just our speed. We felt like we owned this amazing estate and dreamed how it would be possible to switch lives for that…still thinking weeks later how it could be possible.

I cannot say enough great things about the Red Palm Villas and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaakov Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedPalmVillas_10, Owner at The Red Palm Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hi Jacob and Cynthia, thanks so much for your review, it was so nice working with you and it was a an honor hosting you for your honeymoon.

Sorry about the hot tub, we've considered them several times but in the end decided we would encourage our guests to do something a little different and as you did, explore the tide pools just in front. It's not much different then when people travel to the hot springs, our tide pools are just in front to the right of our private beach, there are 20 or more, all different shapes and sizes and even more to the right, they're safe, most are cool and refreshing but if you need warm you can tip toe around and find one that can get very warm, as warm as a hot tub actually and they are salt water, making them a great place to get a therapeutic soak while relaxing and surrounded by awesome views of the beach, nature and ocean.

We once again thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to host you for an amazing honeymoon. Best wishes from me and the entire Red Palm Villas staff - Pura Vida!

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Costa Rica where we had our honeymoon: 10 glorious days which were made event better by the fact that we stayed at Red Palm Villas. I had started a conversation with Mike (the owner) about 7 months prior to our wedding. Mike and I went back and forth on cost and all the other details. He made the process simple and enjoyable. Our budget was not huge but this was our honeymoon so we knew we would splurge a bit!!!
The property is directly on Santa Teresa Beach. Santa Teresa is a sleepy village arrayed along a long dirt road (roughly 3km). This beach is a Surfers Mecca!! The property itself is comprised of 3 villas and some additional suite style rooms. The landscaping is immaculate and the level of cleanliness is what you would expect from a 5 star resort. The staff is fantastic. Ruth and her co-worker Lu were exceptionally helpful and made all of our excursion reservations and helped us out with what to do and where to go. They front desk staff wear a number of hats including: Front Desk, Concierge..etc... They are by far the best staff I have interacted with at a hotel or resort and I work in the hospitality industry...so that says a lot.
We spend the first 7 days in the hummingbird villa which is located in the garden of the property. One the first night we were coming back from dinner and the entire garden was lit with glow-bugs which was incredibly romantic! For the last 3 days Mike gave us a very generous upgrade to the honeymoon villa which is steps from the beach. Granted the hummingbird villa is steps from the beach too, the honeymoon villa is literally about 75 feet from the water. It was very nice to spend our last 3 nights in the incredible honeymoon villa.
Now for some fun stuff:
Two of the owners dogs live on the property" Sisco and Seba. They are both lovely animals and if your a dog person you will love them. Sisco and Seba decided to adopt us during our honeymoon and went everywhere with us! They would come to breakfast with us and lay down under the table, the never begged for food and are very well behaved. When we would go swimming on the beach they would sit attentively by our things and not move until we came back....amazing!!! My wife and I truly miss these dogs as they added immensely to our experience.
On September 5th there was a large earth quake (7.6) on the Nicoya peninsula. There was no huge loss of property or life because Costa Rica's building codes are the same as used in California and Japan..essentially buildings will stay up!! Ruth from the front desk, ran over to our villa to make sure that we were ok, which we were. We are from San Francisco so an earthquake is something we are prepared for. She even instructed us on where to go to wait out the Tsunami warning which was with a very nice family and some other locals halfway up a mountain not to far from the property off the main road. In a weird way this experience made our honeymoon a bit more adventurous!!! Needless to say the entire property did not suffer any damage, and when we woke up to the shaking it actually felt safer inside the Honeymoon villa than it did outside, where a coconut, lizard or monkey could have fallen on our heads!

There are monkeys which constantly move through the tree's, Huge Iguana's that also live on the grounds and other assorted tropical animals and plants that all add to the amazingness of the place.

All in all we could not have imagined a better experience. We already have plans to come back next year!! The way of life in Costa Rica is rich and simple. The food is fresh and the people are friendly. We felt taken care of everywhere we went, especially at Red Palm Villa's. Thank you, Mike, Ruth and Lu for making our honeymoon an experience we will remember for the rest of our lives.

PURA VIDA!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Red palm villas is a stunning little get away. It is not an overdone resort, but a little coastal haven. Right on the stunningly gorgeous Santa Teresa beach, you have howler monkeys living right outside your villa. Ruby, the friendly macaw that has made Red palm Villas her home and lovely dogs that live at the resort. Each night we walked along the shore with the dogs as the sun set. We would then go back to our half open and half enclosed villa. The bedroom and bathroom are enclosed with air conditioning (such a necessity), while the kitchen and living room are open. This is far more fantastic than I can express. i spent morning in teh living room reading while waiting for my sleeping boyfriend to wake up. We had a refrigerator so we would have breakfast, dress and go to surf lessons, a massage on the beach (amazing), take out the resort ATV or go on one of our adventures (zipline, waterfall tours, jungle tours). There is also horseback riding on the beach, the staff is amazingly helpful. one note, red Palm Villas does not have a restaurant but there are so many lovely places to eat along the beach or in town that this was not a problem at all. It was actually nice to have a little adventure finding a place to eat or walking next door... just along the beach. Oh and everyone they recommended we use was wonderful and helpful. I even got to hold a monkey on a monkey preserve that apparently liked people more than her fellow monkeys.. Fifi. Sweet monkey that just wanted to curl up in my lap.
Another thing to note, Santa Teresa is a bit remote, but not unmanageable, in fact that was a benefit. For those who are saying it is too far from restaurants, however they are just next door on the beach and amazingly good.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe villa. It is the cheapest but still fantastic. The other villas that cost a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Red Palm Villas is the perfect spot for a quiet, relaxing vacation!!! We went in April, which is a slower season and it couldn't have been a better choice for us. It is a large property with different villas and we only ran into other guests during breakfast ( which we liked). It was as if we had our own private beach. Rpv planned everything for us, dinner recommendations, surfing, atv rental ( highly reccomend to get around), massage, transportation and a private chef coming to our villa and cooking for us! AMAZING! All the employees there are so amazing, polite and were never intrusive! At first I was hesitant about other reviews saying that there were dogs on the property, by the end of the trip I wanted to take each one home with us!!!!! I recommend getting the hummingbird villa, it is in the back and in my opinion more private than the villas directly on the beach. Tips- take cash, book transportation ahead of time, the bathroom is " outside" ( didn't bother us at all), have your taxi driver stop at the grocery store before you get to the villa, AND make sure you return your keys- they are so laid back we forgot to turn ours in and had to mail them back! We will 200% be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a beautiful place! Perfect in every way! The villas were outstanding, the location is perfect for surfing, you are right there on the beautiful beach of Santa Teresa and all the staff is super helpful. We will be back for sure - and we can't wait! Thank you for making our family vacation so amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fun5Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
207 reviews
1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
344 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Palm Villas

Address: Santa Teresa main road | 1-888 405 0201, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $195 - $875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Beach - Dramatic Views - Luxury Villas Steps From The Water Fully Staffed for honeymoons, weddings, family and couple vacations. 3 restaurants and a spa 1-3 minutes walk on the beach. Swim, surf, boogie board, snorkel, horseback riding directly in front. Offering complete elopement & wedding packages and services. Voted Top 10 Resorts in Costa Rica to get married at. Call Toll Free 888 405 0201 ans let us help you reserve a spot with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your The Red Palm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
The Red Palm Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing