We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Beachfront Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Palm Villas
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Bronx, New York
1 review
“Fantastic Beachfront Property”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently honeymooned in Santa Teresa and stayed at the Red Palm Villas. To say, “AMAZING" is a total understatement. This place is fantastic! 
Our Room: We were upgraded and stayed in the ocean front Honeymoon Villa where we were about 40 feet from the water. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. We had a comfortable king bed, large double shower that could accommodate 20 easily, with full ocean views, and a large covered patio for afternoon reading and naps as well as late nights of chilling and cards.

The Resort: The resort has a great beach right out front, it’s very private, we rarely saw other guests, there’s no hot tub ☹ but there were tide pools out front and at low tide they were just like natural springs/tubs, very warm, salt water, and relaxing. The staff was always there, they were prompt and courteous, they would even recommend places to see and give tips on getting there. There was also a snorkel tour we took to a very cool little island, Isla Tortuga, we saw a lot of interesting fish and sea life on that excursion.

Brisas del Mar is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. We were lucky to enjoy the free breakfast at Milarepa every morning, that was not expected and a nice sight to see and experience such a high quality, healthy breakfast experience. Our dinners were at a different restaurant almost every night, we had 9 on our list and only made it to 5, and each one was exceptional.

Atmosphere: As far as we could tell, the resort is almost entirely couples or small families. All the guests were friendly, warm and the setting was very private which is part of what makes it great compared to the nearby resorts that were full of children, other guests visiting the restaurants, etc. There is a laid back atmosphere to the Red Palm Villas that was just our speed. We felt like we owned this amazing estate and dreamed how it would be possible to switch lives for that…still thinking weeks later how it could be possible.

I cannot say enough great things about the Red Palm Villas and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaakov Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedPalmVillas_10, Owner at The Red Palm Villas, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Jacob and Cynthia, thanks so much for your review, it was so nice working with you and it was a an honor hosting you for your honeymoon.

Sorry about the hot tub, we've considered them several times but in the end decided we would encourage our guests to do something a little different and as you did, explore the tide pools just in front. It's not much different then when people travel to the hot springs, our tide pools are just in front to the right of our private beach, there are 20 or more, all different shapes and sizes and even more to the right, they're safe, most are cool and refreshing but if you need warm you can tip toe around and find one that can get very warm, as warm as a hot tub actually and they are salt water, making them a great place to get a therapeutic soak while relaxing and surrounded by awesome views of the beach, nature and ocean.

We once again thank you for your review and for giving us the opportunity to host you for an amazing honeymoon. Best wishes from me and the entire Red Palm Villas staff - Pura Vida!

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    7
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
51
146
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Costa Rica where we had our honeymoon: 10 glorious days which were made event better by the fact that we stayed at Red Palm Villas. I had started a conversation with Mike (the owner) about 7 months prior to our wedding. Mike and I went back and forth on cost and all the other details. He made the process simple and enjoyable. Our budget was not huge but this was our honeymoon so we knew we would splurge a bit!!!
The property is directly on Santa Teresa Beach. Santa Teresa is a sleepy village arrayed along a long dirt road (roughly 3km). This beach is a Surfers Mecca!! The property itself is comprised of 3 villas and some additional suite style rooms. The landscaping is immaculate and the level of cleanliness is what you would expect from a 5 star resort. The staff is fantastic. Ruth and her co-worker Lu were exceptionally helpful and made all of our excursion reservations and helped us out with what to do and where to go. They front desk staff wear a number of hats including: Front Desk, Concierge..etc... They are by far the best staff I have interacted with at a hotel or resort and I work in the hospitality industry...so that says a lot.
We spend the first 7 days in the hummingbird villa which is located in the garden of the property. One the first night we were coming back from dinner and the entire garden was lit with glow-bugs which was incredibly romantic! For the last 3 days Mike gave us a very generous upgrade to the honeymoon villa which is steps from the beach. Granted the hummingbird villa is steps from the beach too, the honeymoon villa is literally about 75 feet from the water. It was very nice to spend our last 3 nights in the incredible honeymoon villa.
Now for some fun stuff:
Two of the owners dogs live on the property" Sisco and Seba. They are both lovely animals and if your a dog person you will love them. Sisco and Seba decided to adopt us during our honeymoon and went everywhere with us! They would come to breakfast with us and lay down under the table, the never begged for food and are very well behaved. When we would go swimming on the beach they would sit attentively by our things and not move until we came back....amazing!!! My wife and I truly miss these dogs as they added immensely to our experience.
On September 5th there was a large earth quake (7.6) on the Nicoya peninsula. There was no huge loss of property or life because Costa Rica's building codes are the same as used in California and Japan..essentially buildings will stay up!! Ruth from the front desk, ran over to our villa to make sure that we were ok, which we were. We are from San Francisco so an earthquake is something we are prepared for. She even instructed us on where to go to wait out the Tsunami warning which was with a very nice family and some other locals halfway up a mountain not to far from the property off the main road. In a weird way this experience made our honeymoon a bit more adventurous!!! Needless to say the entire property did not suffer any damage, and when we woke up to the shaking it actually felt safer inside the Honeymoon villa than it did outside, where a coconut, lizard or monkey could have fallen on our heads!

There are monkeys which constantly move through the tree's, Huge Iguana's that also live on the grounds and other assorted tropical animals and plants that all add to the amazingness of the place.

All in all we could not have imagined a better experience. We already have plans to come back next year!! The way of life in Costa Rica is rich and simple. The food is fresh and the people are friendly. We felt taken care of everywhere we went, especially at Red Palm Villa's. Thank you, Mike, Ruth and Lu for making our honeymoon an experience we will remember for the rest of our lives.

PURA VIDA!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Red palm villas is a stunning little get away. It is not an overdone resort, but a little coastal haven. Right on the stunningly gorgeous Santa Teresa beach, you have howler monkeys living right outside your villa. Ruby, the friendly macaw that has made Red palm Villas her home and lovely dogs that live at the resort. Each night we walked along the shore with the dogs as the sun set. We would then go back to our half open and half enclosed villa. The bedroom and bathroom are enclosed with air conditioning (such a necessity), while the kitchen and living room are open. This is far more fantastic than I can express. i spent morning in teh living room reading while waiting for my sleeping boyfriend to wake up. We had a refrigerator so we would have breakfast, dress and go to surf lessons, a massage on the beach (amazing), take out the resort ATV or go on one of our adventures (zipline, waterfall tours, jungle tours). There is also horseback riding on the beach, the staff is amazingly helpful. one note, red Palm Villas does not have a restaurant but there are so many lovely places to eat along the beach or in town that this was not a problem at all. It was actually nice to have a little adventure finding a place to eat or walking next door... just along the beach. Oh and everyone they recommended we use was wonderful and helpful. I even got to hold a monkey on a monkey preserve that apparently liked people more than her fellow monkeys.. Fifi. Sweet monkey that just wanted to curl up in my lap.
Another thing to note, Santa Teresa is a bit remote, but not unmanageable, in fact that was a benefit. For those who are saying it is too far from restaurants, however they are just next door on the beach and amazingly good.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe villa. It is the cheapest but still fantastic. The other villas that cost a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Red Palm Villas is the perfect spot for a quiet, relaxing vacation!!! We went in April, which is a slower season and it couldn't have been a better choice for us. It is a large property with different villas and we only ran into other guests during breakfast ( which we liked). It was as if we had our own private beach. Rpv planned everything for us, dinner recommendations, surfing, atv rental ( highly reccomend to get around), massage, transportation and a private chef coming to our villa and cooking for us! AMAZING! All the employees there are so amazing, polite and were never intrusive! At first I was hesitant about other reviews saying that there were dogs on the property, by the end of the trip I wanted to take each one home with us!!!!! I recommend getting the hummingbird villa, it is in the back and in my opinion more private than the villas directly on the beach. Tips- take cash, book transportation ahead of time, the bathroom is " outside" ( didn't bother us at all), have your taxi driver stop at the grocery store before you get to the villa, AND make sure you return your keys- they are so laid back we forgot to turn ours in and had to mail them back! We will 200% be back!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a beautiful place! Perfect in every way! The villas were outstanding, the location is perfect for surfing, you are right there on the beautiful beach of Santa Teresa and all the staff is super helpful. We will be back for sure - and we can't wait! Thank you for making our family vacation so amazing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun5Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I found this resort nice but it was secluded and just a little too far from restaurants and shops. It was our first trip to this region. We didn't have a car and the road was muddy because of rains. We had a private villa but were irritated that our "private" path was constantly used by other guests. There was no pool and the surf was too big to swim (plus locals we met told us that the tides could be unpredictable and dangerous). Surfers seemed to be having a great time and even rescued someone who was caught in the tide. But I wouldn't have stayed here if my children were with me.

From here we went to Samara which had one of the most incredible bay's I had ever seen and very safe swimming - we would highly recommend beaches to the north (or south by Jaco / Manuel Antonio) if you like to swim in the ocean - or snorkling. Unfortunately I can't recommend any hotels because we stayed in a friend's private villa. The northern beaches were also much closer to our airport - Liberia. It was such a LONG bumpy drive to Mal Pais and Santa Teresa. The best part of the drive was the ferry ride from Puntarenas.

Considering how pretty the villas looked on the website, we were surprised that only the bedroom was air-conditioned. Maybe at other times of year this is fine, but it was too hot and humid for us and we had lots of bugs. I wish there had been at least a small pool to dip in.

All in all, it was a nice place and the staff was sweet, especially Lucresha. I would have given it 4 stars but thought it was too expensive considering no amenities what-so-ever. I probably won't come back to Santa Teresa mostly because I like to swim and thought it was unsafe.

Room Tip: We were invited for drinks by another guest who said the walls of the suites were too thin and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natashinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedPalmVillas_10, Owner at The Red Palm Villas, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear reviewer,

We're sorry things were not as you expected. We place a great deal of emphasis regarding the AC master bedrooms, open air environment as well as the condition of the roads, etc. Your review is important, the last thing we desire it to attract someone to such a beautiful beach who would not appreciate it. As you know, it's a long way to come to be disappointed and that would never be our intention. Santa Teresa is clearly not for everyone and we really encourage potential guests to do some research before coming to see if maybe something a little more on the beaten path would be to their preference, something like Jaco or even Club Med in Mexico.

Regarding the ocean, it's really hard to judge nature, you never really know when a swell will come, for the surf community it's never often enough. With that said, there are days we experience an ocean that's as calm as a bathtub and other days there are waves and it does change from day to day, most swells barely last a few days.

We are happy to were able to move on and find a more suitable beach, and we are sorry your experience was not as you expected. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we promise to make more of an effort to steer off any travelers in the future who might have the same reaction to a place like Santa Teresa with their dusty roads and sometimes wavy ocean. I guess being ranked one of the TOP 10 beaches in the world and the #1 beach in Central and South America sometimes gives travelers the wrong impression. I think the people who established those rankings were more interested in raw beauty and surroundings full of untouched nature, something that's harder and harder to find everyday.

We do sit a mile from the center of town where all the hustle and bustle is and we consider ourselves fortunate to live on the quiet end of the beach where you can actually relax and not be inundated with a crowd of people as well as to be less then 3 minutes from 3 amazing beach front restaurants and a world class spa. For some it's too quiet, for others it's paradise. We promise to really make that more clear so in the future the ambiance of Santa Teresa remains one full of people who are there to appreciate such a gorgeous beach and quaint community as opposed to arrive and feel contempt and disappointment. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and feelings and as I said earlier, Santa Teresa is definitely not for everyone and we hope the potential guests who it is not for figure that out and save themselves such a long trip only to be disappointed by not finding what they needed to have a nice holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was our 4th trip in 3 years to Costa Rica. It was our first time in Santa Teresa. We stayed at this beautiful resort for 7 nights in one of the beachfront villas and as all these reviews say, this is a beautiful, quiet, intimate haven. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were so friendly and if you were willing to learn about their culture only to pleased to tell you. They did everything possible to satisfy our needs, nothing was too much trouble for them. My husband and I were amazed at the flavor of the mangos, we mentioned this to the staff, the next day from their private trees we were given mangos for the rest of our visit.

We were there for our anniversary and Lucrecia and her staff made our day very special by decorating the villa with flowers and petals which took a lot of time and effort as well as a beautiful bottle of amazing champagne, not the cheap stuff by any means, it was a VERY nice bottle. We also had most of our meals in the French restaurant directly next door, Milarepa, the chef deviated many times from the menu to satisfy our need for glutton free and vegan meals. The food was tasty, fresh and not very expensive, we ate there at least 8 times between breakfast and dinners. Another great spot for a meal and views was the Brisas del Mar restaurant, a must do.

We also tried the spa up the beach, it was also very nice, a little expensive, more so then in Boston if you can believe that but we were on a holiday so the treat was appreciated. We also had several great massages right at our villa while watching the waves and listen to the soothing sounds of the ocean, no one should leave without at least one massage.

The complimentary breakfast was just like Mike the owner said it would be, very gourmet, off a menu, not a buffet, everything was first class and exceptional quality from the fresh organic fruits to the French press gourmet coffee.

If you want a very luxurious, quiet, private, secluded holiday go for one of the beachfront villas, they are a little pricey but you only live once and if you’re going to splurge to be on one of the best beaches in the world the Red Palm IS the spot to do so.
Our package came with a free transfer from the Tambor airport, it was nice to have a driver waiting for us who worked for the resort. On the way in he suggested we stop at a market for supplies and we were very thankful for as we had forgotten a few things which we found there.

We have already planned to come back to this resort for my 50th birthday in January; I can hardly wait and am literally counting the days.
We read a review from someone who had not stayed there and they gave the resort a very bad review. Besides finding it odd/suspicious a non-guest could write a guest review, and after staying there I can say they must not have been at the right place. There is no way possible their review reflects the character, image or quality of the Red Palm Villas. It almost seemed like some type of an attack on this resort, which seems unfair.

We are food snobs and even a bit of travel snobs and we were blown away by the service, the villas are out of this world, they are spot on clean, gorgeous, creative and imaginative. If someone reading these reviews is trying to work out which Santa Teresa hotel to stay at I’d say from personal experience, this is the place. They without a doubt have the best location, which is almost everything and then the staff, the villas, the ambiance, there’s nothing missing, it has the charm, intimacy and imagination needed to capture your best holiday ever.

Without hesitation I recommend this resort for a family holiday, wedding or other celebration.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
334 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Palm Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Palm Villas

Property: The Red Palm Villas
Address: Santa Teresa main road | 1-888 405 0201, Santa Teresa 90248, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Palm Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Beach - Dramatic Views - Luxury Villas Steps From The Water Fully Staffed for honeymoons, weddings, family and couple vacations. 3 restaurants and a spa 1-3 minutes walk on the beach. Swim, surf, boogie board, snorkel, horseback riding directly in front. Offering complete elopement & wedding packages and services. Voted Top 10 Resorts in Costa Rica to get married at. Call Toll Free 888 405 0201 ans let us help you reserve a spot with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Palm Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Villas Hotel Santa Teresa
The Red Palm Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing