We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have the urge to take a shower. And it's Definitely not 'tranquilo'. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquilo Backpackers
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

After staying in 4 other hostels in CR, this one is the dirtiest I've been to. By far. The hammocks have a distinctive smell, as does the bed. People don't really pick up after themselves, the kitchen is full of dirty dishes and there are beer cans everywhere. The whole place has an aroma of wet cigarette butts.

Also kind of noisy. If this is your kind of scene, then you'll enjoy it! Pros are close to beach and the price.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good location. Staff was not overly friendly but there when you needed something. There was a water ration going on and the water was turned off during certain hours, which was a little inconvenient. The shared bathrooms were not the best but barely passable. I was traveling with my brother and we were able to get a private room for the same price as the domrs. The room was nice and spacious and had a sink. It had a queen bed and a bunk bed and locked. We also had a table, chairs and hammock right outside to lounge in. The free computer room had A/C, which was awesome. The wifi also reached the rooms, which was nice. The communal kitchen was easy to use and always open. The free pancake breakfast was yummy. They leave the batter out and you make it yourself when ever you want.

Room Tip: buy some fruit to have with your pancakes in the morning. If your a coffee person walk to the bakery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place. Each room has a hamock and a sitting area. There is a big kitchen (pancake batter for breakfest included). The room was clean. they didn't clean the bathroom during our stay, even though it was a dorm (with bathroom in the room). There are personal lockers in the room- very comfortable and safe. Bring your own lock.
The shared toilet wasn't very clean in the few times i entered there, and there was no sope.
The hostel has an air conditioned computer room, which is great (it was extremly hot while we were in santa teresa). They also have a nice area with pool table and tv.
There was always someone at the front desk, and the staff was helpful and kind.
F.y.i there is no direct bus to san jose on sunday׳s.
there is supermarket really close, and the beach is within 5 min walk.
If they had a pool in there it was a perfect 10 :-)

Tip:
Near the hostel there is a simple restaurant, try casado with pollo parmesano. Cheap and delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alt2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I thought we booked a room with a private bath. There is no such thing here! My girlfriend was pretty agitated as this was her first time traveling and she is very bathroom shy. I'm glad we only stayed here for one night.

It was nice to relax on the hammocks.

breakfast service is pretty much DIY. which is nice, but no one explained that to us, so we ask some stupid questions. And we were asked by other guests too, whom didn't get the memo either. I kind of liked not being waited on though. Pancakes and coffee, not bad at all.

Overall shabby place, but the price was right.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went to Santa Teresa last minute, and stayed at Tranquilo Backpackers because Lonely Planet recommended it. At first glance, it seemed very relaxed and the hammocks were a nice touch.

However, we stayed in a mixed dorm, and it was so old and dirty, along with HOT without circulation, that we knew we would have an awful night's sleep. It isn't so much a party hostel as just a loud setting--no windows, and all the rooms are very close together. Not only could we not sleep...we woke up in the middle of the night with BED BUGS BITING US. I believe mine were in my pillow, as all of my bites were on my face. Don't stay here if you can avoid it.

Also, the guy at the front desk was SO chill, that he talked so slow and did not care about anything, nor was he helpful. He was German, along with the other people who work there, so they aren't locals nor speak fluent Spanish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The good: plenty of hammocks, chill vibe, one of the best equipped and largest kitchens you'll find at a hostel, great location.

The bad: old, this pillows and mattresses, had to request a fan, not the cleanest bathrooms, and very poor security.

The windows to the room only have artistic bars, no screens. We were robbed, apparently by someone using a stick with a hook on it, pulling what they could reach across the bed (our items were placed on the opposite end of the bed from the window) and taking it out of the window. We found this when we came home late at night, called for security and when we said we'd been robbed he just said "I don't understand". Then the owner showed up and said "No one has been in your room, the door wasn't forcibly opened. People use sticks for 'fishing' meaning pulling things to the window, have you not heard of this?" Well, not until then. He went on to say we should have put our things even further from the window or used the safe. He also asked a lot of questions saying the more information we gave him, he may be able to retrieve some of the things as he had been able to "some of the previous times this happened"...ok, no mention of the safe, the robberies, or the fishing strategy when we checked in, which would have saved a lot of money and a laptop.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs so you (hopefully) won't have to worry about "fishing" through the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The outside and kitchen facilities are good, it's a party hostel and considering that there is no windows in the room, just big holes you could be bothered by the noise! The room was the worst I've stayed in Costa Rica mainly because it is kind dirty and the pillows and mattresses are mold so the smell was terrible! The bathroom is not very clean and is old but was acceptable!
There are many others places in santa teresa where you can stay for about the same prices with a much better value!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0 mi away
Hostel Dos Monos
Hostel Dos Monos
#7 of 63 in Santa Teresa
84 reviews
0 mi away
Selina Santa Teresa
Selina Santa Teresa
#2 of 63 in Santa Teresa
137 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel La Posada
Hostel La Posada
#19 of 63 in Santa Teresa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
#5 of 63 in Santa Teresa
249 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Backpackers

Address: 400 meters north of Franks Place | Playa Carmen, Santa Teresa 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $71 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Tranquilo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Backpackers Hotel Santa Teresa
Tranquilo Backpackers Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing