We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tranquilo Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manala Hotel(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Vista Villas(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wave Trotter(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rumbo Surf Lodge(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milarepa(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Surf Sanctuary(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Palm Villas(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Florblanca Resort(Santa Teresa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
13
22
13
5
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
22
13
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterhostelhammockssurfersbeach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 65 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We walked into the Santa Teresa location in desperate need of a place to stay. Tranquilo had a room with a set of bunk beds and a full size bed for me, my girlfriend, and 2 Swedes that joined us in our travels back in Montezuma....it was a perfect room, and a great price. We didn't have our own bathroom but the shared bathroom is clean and has floor to ceiling doors on all shower and toilet stalls. The porch was awesome with a hammock for each room and a table and chairs. The location is a good one, the grounds are secure with reception and/or security at all hours. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDavis1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you are into surfing, live an active lifestyle, and enjoy other people who do too...STAY HERE. This is a small surfer town built for just that. It is literally across the street from the beach. It has a great balance of party, fun, and active living. If you like to sleep until the afternoon this is not the place for you. Everyone here is up at 6-8am because thats when the sun comes up and thats when the day begins and people are ready to surf. There is a complimentary breakfast every morning of coffee and fresh pancakes. If you are like me this can get boring after a week or so....buy some bananas and fruit to liven it up.

There is a pool table, ping pong table, and the biggest kitchen I have ever seen in a hostel. There is a great social area which forces you to make friends with people from all over the world. It has a great vibe and good atmosphere. People chill out at the hostel or if your feeling a party there are lots of bars around but don't worry it's not too loud if you want to sleep in your room.

The surf is consistant but a little busy during sunset. Watch out for amazing surfers there are lots of them.

Overall this place was great I have nothing bad to say. Restaurants are really good and there is a great FRESH FISH Market on the corner of the street so you will never run out of good food to eat. Overall this place was great we stayed here for a week out of our 3 week trip during xmas and New Years and I would come back and stay in this one hostel next time for my entire trip. <3

Room Tip: Private Rooms have a sink or a seperate shower, the top rooms are quieter but the bottom rooms are more fun it's where all the action is.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Two problems i have with this hostel. The cleaners start cleaning too early in the morning, moving chairs and banging around the place at 9am. By 11am they are lying in hammocks asleep. Second problem is the dorm rooms have no windows are shutters so not only is it louder from noise outside but there is loads of bugs in the rooms and worse still there was people with some of their stuff stolen cause thieves can put their hands in from outside and grab whatever is in reach! Good things were, the reception staff were great and it is so close to the surf. 5min walk at the most!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank robbie_derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

It's terrible. Don't stay there. My Girlfriend and i booked a private room for 3 nights and they are so unorganized that they overbooked us. so when we got there, we didn't have our room. they told us to book two single beds in the dorms for the night ( even if we were gonna share one) and promised us that on the next morning we would have our private room. We slept in the dorms which sleep another 5 people and the people never lock the doors making you worried about your stuffs when you out, in the next morning we went to reception and they said that they didn't have the room for us and all they could do was offer us another night in a single bed in the dorms again but at least for free. But we checked out anyway as we didnt like the atmosphere which was pretty loud with the peple drinking and screaming until 11:30 when everybody go out and some come back late in the night even louder! The windows got no glass its only fence with big gaps that fits anyone's whole arm and the mosquitos just don't let you sleep, the fan in the room is really small and their hammocks outside are really smelly and sticky!! There are a lot better places in the area to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matheus_Surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Tranquilo felt like a big happy party. A party that ended at 11:00 pm and moved down the street to the dance club or various restaurants hosting live music. I loved the balance between fun and sleep - very important!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RideTheWave35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews