We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful little hideaway.”
Review of Casa Cecilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cecilia
Ranked #6 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Relaxing and peaceful little hideaway.”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My friend and I stayed here after an incredible week with Sandra at Vajra Sol yoga retreat. We had one more night in Santa Teresa and Sandra recommended this place. I'm so glad we did. It's a beautiful boutique bed and breakfast house right on the white sand beach with an amazing sprawling front yard with hammocks and comfy chaise lounges. Don the manager is super friendly and helpful. I went surfing the next morning and he surprised me with a delicious smoothie with ginger, chocolate pineapple and a bunch of other healthy ingredients yummy!! I came back from surfing and had hit my shoulder really hard with my board and he went straight to the back and gave me ibuprofen and this all natural organic muscle pain cream. He's incredibly helpful and I found him interesting to talk to. Our room was spacious and the beds were comfy. Overall a very peaceful place, I felt utterly relaxed. Thanks Don!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Valerienorthover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
79
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just returned from our second wonderful trip to Santa Teresa, Costa Rica! Both times my husband and I stayed at the incredible Casa Cecilia. Only steps from the ocean, this incredible boutique hotel provided the beauty and tranquility we needed. Don, the manager, and his assistant manager Kelsey, made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were sensational, the rooms immaculate and the setting magical. We were treated like royalty. On this trip, we stayed in one of their more recent additions to the hotel -- Casa Cassandra. This mini-apartment was spacious and charming. Surfers can certainly find delight in the waves that are just steps away from the hotel sitting area. Those who don't surf can relax in the hammocks in the trees on the beach and read. And, in the evening, watching the sun set can be life changing and will include the inspirational "green flash" that Don and other guests see on a daily basis. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The swimming pool is actually the deep blue Pacific Ocean! It doesn't get any better than that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cycle_Surfer_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My week at Casa Cecilia could not have been more perfect. Don and the rest of the wonderful staff pampered us, provided wonderful meals and were delightful. Don taught me how to see the neon green flash of the setting sun in the ocean--something I've always wanted to see. The perfectly formed waves, privacy and inviting hammocks in the shade made for a vacation I will repeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Don & Robin will accommodate guests in any way possible. This is an awesome place for both families and friendly retreats!!! The location is just outside of Santa Theresa. Just far enough to feel secluded but close enough to walk to town. Perfect location!! The view is pretty awesome too!!

Room Tip: I would choose a room upstairs for a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creshia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

ive been visiting St. Teresa for 16 years and have come to know and love it. Hotel Casa Cecilia captures the true charm of this little surf/yoga village hidden in the south Nicoya penninsula. Don (manager) knows just how to make you feel relaxed and at home while providing top notch service on travel arrangements, tourist activities, local surf knowledge, hotel amenities and everything inbetween. The property is located toward the far end of the horseshoe beach; close to resaurants and stores, with way less people and traffic than the middle of town. The rooms all have amazing beds, cold A/C, and a private fridge to keep your own beer, fruit and goodies in. Beautiful tables and chairs made from local tropical hardwood are arranged in the cozy, shaded lounge area. Enjoying fresh fruit and coffee from this comfortable yet exotic furniture while absorbing a warm breeze and a jungle-framed view of the blue pacific is a waking dream. A variety of hammocks streched under the cover of palm and almendro trees at the beach's edge will put you to sleep if youre not careful! For any surfers, the hotel has a secure shed to keep your board in and plenty of surfboards to use if you didnt bring one. And, by the way, you look out your window when you wake to see the best 2 breaks in the area. stop reading and call Don to book your reservation. pura vida.

Room Tip: ask for the balcony suite. it is ridiculous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon_dobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Casa Cecilia is a tropical paradise. The perfect place to relax and unwind from the usual busyness of life. Don and his staff really make the place come alive. He makes sure that his guests are able to completely relax and enjoy everything that the area has to offer. This was my first time, but I hope to make this an annual pilgrimage.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mpls_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We rented out the entire place for a huge family reunion...it will remain a treasured memory forever in my heart. The hotel has several rooms and cabanas...all very private. Easy to hang with others if you want, easy to remain private if you'd rather. Awesome rooms with AC and ocean view. Amazingly delish breakfast every morning provided. The staff was so great...helpful and friendly. Don the manager was awesome! If you can talk him into making you his unforgettable fish tacos and guacamole dip you won't regret it! The surf was perfect if you like big waves, and other times with the tide difference the water is perfect for small children. Off to the right are some rocks that have super fun tide pools to explore and sit in at low tide. Not a lot of tourists here, and the best sunsets in all of Costa Rica. The tension in my hardworking shoulders disappeared by day two and is cancelled my planned massage since I was so relaxed! Great value here too. Will definitely be back. We've stayed at quite a few places in Santa Teresa...both fancy and snooty or cheap and not so great. This place is the perfect combo of fancy and clean and very reasonable!

Room Tip: The best room is the one with the view on the second floor but if you like to go to bed early or sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dobbsl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#3 of 27 in Santa Teresa
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cecilia

Property: Casa Cecilia
Address: Nicoya Peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Cecilia Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing