We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Vacation Ever!!”
Review of Casa Cecilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cecilia
Ranked #6 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Vacation Ever!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Casa Cecilia is the best place to stay in Santa Teresa. Once we decided on Santa Teresa, I researched all accomodations that would house the number in our group. The reviews I read here were very helpful in deciding. Once we arrived we knew we picked the best location. Casa Cecilia is located on the best spot in Santa Teresa. I walked up and down the beach looking at all the other places I had considered and there was no comparison. Casa Cecilia is the only location with an unobstructed view of the waves from the couch of the living room. Amazing!!
The hotel itself was great on its own but what really takes Casa Cecilia over the top is Don, the manager, and his amazing staff. I had lots of questions before getting to Santa Teresa and Don answered everything very quickly providing valuable information. Don arranged our transportation to and from the which made getting there very easy. Don welcomed our group and made sure we were comfortable upon arrival. Don gave us multiple suggestions of things to do and places to eat. All of the suggestions were fabulous and we would not have enjoyed them without Don's guidance. We definitely experienced the best of Santa Teresa thanks to Don. He also arranged all of our transportation to these places since we did not have a car. The breakfast each morning was cooked to order and amazing too. On the days we were heading out early for an adventure, Don had the staff come in early to make sure we got our breakfast.
Casa Cecilia is the BEST place to stay in Santa Teresa and Don made the trip even more amazing. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maffioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
79
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stumbled on this gem, literally, during the busiest week in Costa Rica - Semana Santa. With no vacancies in town we decided to head slightly outside out of Santa Teresa. Casa Cecilia is a small hotel located on the beach; your room is mere steps from a virtually private beach-front (one of the only few hotels directly on the beach). Rooms are basic and neat; and breakfast is included with room rate. Food is delicious!! Wish they served lunch and/or dinner but the Tico family run restaurant next door was close by and offered fresh seafood and salads (hard to come by in CR).

The staff are very friendly and Don the manager was helpful in providing great recommendations for places to shop, eat and visit. What was supposed to be a two night stay turned into four nights and one of the highlights of our trip. Would definitely recommend this to our family and friends; if we ever return to Costa Rica, we will be looking for some beach time at Casa Cecilia.

Room Tip: Book in advance; especially a week before Easter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksbulmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We had an incredible time at Casa Cecilia! We stayed in the one bedroom villa, which was very spacious and extremely private. Don (the manager) is a great guy who is always full of suggestions to maximize your holiday, while at the same time not being intrusive if you just want to relax and do nothing.

We loved it!

Dan & Courtney

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanQ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Great place. Have stayed here twice. At the far north end of town, away from busy-ness. Good surfing right out the back and a lovely beach. Don, the manager, is very friendly and helpful and keeps the place in top shape.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasmithwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The best place ever! Perfect location, right on a beautiful beach, the view is breath taking and the surf is great. The hotel does not feel like a hotel, but a home away from home. The staff is very helpful. Don, the manager of the place, is absolutely awesome!!!! It was my boyfriend and I and a friend saying there, and all of us loved everything about this place. We are most definitely coming back . Can't wait to surf there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yooli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

It is the Oasis in Santa Teresa, best Spot if you're not into the Duuuudes and the crowded main street Hype.
directly on the best part of the beach and no crowd but good waves.
small and a home from home. great service and staff helps with everything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainandTenille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Casa Cecilia was a long gone friend. We where there 10 years ago and now were happily surprised that the same tranquile ambience and warm hospitality greeted us upon our return. This time travelling with a 8 month old baby we were still able to enjoy the waves, the sun and the beach. This is a hidden gem for people wanting a more quiet part of the beach, hang out in the hammocks or just enjoy the company of fellow guests and staff. Casa Cecilia will from now on remain a close friend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanna189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Surf Sanctuary
Blue Surf Sanctuary
#3 of 27 in Santa Teresa
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cecilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cecilia

Property: Casa Cecilia
Address: Nicoya Peninsula, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Cecilia Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing