We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! This is a real paradise and the best place in Santa Teresa!”
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Ranked #16 of 26 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing! This is a real paradise and the best place in Santa Teresa!”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My vacation to Costa Rica was planned at very last minute. I had 1 week off and wanted sun, beach & relaxation. I read an article about Santa Teresa being a laid back town and offering great surfing so once I had decided on the location the search for a hotel began. I was traveling with a friend and we looked online for hotels that would be on the beach and also have a restaurant & spa on premises. Only 1 place had availability for the first 3 nights of our stay and we decided to book it and search for another hotel once in town. Upon arrival we immediately took a walk on the (nearly) deserted & very beautiful beach and saw a blue house with a big well-kept lawn. As we approached the house we realized that it was a hotel and the owner Richard showed us the rooms. We were stunned to find this hidden gem right on the beach! The house was amazing with nice & clean rooms. Luckily he had availability for the second half of our trip! Although Casa Azul doesn't have a restaurant or spa it is still by far the best deal in town: great service, beach access, clean and quiet pool, restaurants right across the street and the nearby hotels have spas. The house has a kitchen so you can cook your own food if you like. We actually ended up staying at the little house which is like a bungalow so had our own patio, kitchen, safe locker etc. Very nice! You can also rent the entire main house if you are traveling as group or you can rent just 1 room. I highly recommend this place to anyone as it works as well for families or groups as for single travelers (as a woman I would feel comfortable staying here by myself as the place is safe and centrally located). Weather you like to relax by the pool, read in the hammock, go surfing or do anything else the town has to offer this is the ideal location and reliable service (always hot water & electricity, and Richard is a sweetheart!) which is not always given is this part of the world!

I hope you will enjoy your stay us much as we did! Pura Vida!

Please note that Casa Azul and most hotels in the area only take cash as payment and the easiest is to bring enough US dollars with you.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruokamatkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2010

My girlfriend and I, are just back from a 2 month holiday...surf and sun in Central and South America.. We kicked off the trip in Costa Rica, where I have been before... I like to surf, she likes the beach.. Headed to Mal Pais-Santa Teresa for our first stop in March 2010. This time we stayed at Hotel Casa Azul. It is right on the beach with a very consistent beach break directly infront of the hotel. Lisa, my girlfriend, hung at the pool, in the hammocks, and on the beach, while i enjoyed the waves. Hotel Casa Azul sits central playa carmen, a long sand beach, with lefts and rights up and down the beach.. best at mid to high tide. the hotel-house is very well kept. it has 3 hotel rooms on the first floor and the second floor is a very high end suite.. The owner, Richard, invited us up to see the suite.. WOW. killer views, artwork from his global travels, very nice set up.. We stayed on the first floor in one of the two appropriately named "ocean view" rooms, as they are advertised. The room had a double bed and a twin.. We could sit right in bed and watch the pool area and the ocean through a glass wall that looks out to the ocean. You can even see the waves from the in-suite bathroom. There is a large sliding glass door that leads out to a private patio set up with a hammock and table with 2 chairs.. We spent a lot of time on our patio. Breakfast coffee as we watched the morning sets come in... When the waves looked right, I was in the water in minutes.

This is my third trip to the area... the first time we stayed at a hotel up on the hill, one of the popular trip advisor destinations... the second time we stayed in Mal Pais , just off the main road that parallels the beach. At both locations we had to walk to the beach. The dust and the hill, which is very steep, were quite bothersome. There is not much surf in Mal Pais, unless the swell is up and just in the right direction, The point breaks of mar azul and sunset reef do not work most of the time. you need to walk down to the sandy beach area of playa carmen, which begins a few hundred meters before the crossroads of MP-ST. Basically, right in front of Casa Azul is where the surf gets good. So this trip we decided to stay on the beach, we got a good price. About the same as we paid the last two trips, and this time we were on the beach. The hotel sits back from the main road down by the beach, so we were not bothered by the noise and dust of the road. Instead we fell asleep each night to the relaxing sounds of the surf.

OK, here is the set up.. you walk down a long driveway to a two story building, where we stayed. On your left there is a small house, which can also be rented. There was an American couple with 2 small kids staying in the little house. In total there were 12 guests at any one time during our stay.. so lots of privacy...we shared a nice kitchen area on the first floor with the other 2 couples staying on the first floor... we had breakfast and lunch each day on our patio, after preparing it in the kitchen... there is a full size frig in the kitchen, coffee maker, sink , etc... We had daily maid service and they did a very good job keeping it clean, they changed sheets every 2nd or 3rd day, that was a choice we were offered. The room has a lock up box, an open closet, a nice shower with good pressure and hot water.. The room has screens on all windows and a ceiling fan... which was fine at night , but in the afternoon , the sun gets a bit hot, so we closed it all up and put on the AC. the location of the property is central MP-ST, so all the services are right out the entrance on the main road. the banks and cash machines are 100 meters, liquor store, ice cream shop, sports bar, mini mall, all within 100 meters... La Panaderia, or belgian bakery, with fresh coffee and WIFI , just opened up in january, right across the entrance to our hotel. We got hooked on that place after our morning session on the beach and waves. The hotel staff offered to book our excursions, but we found it easier to go direct , the operators are just opposite the entrance... we did a day trip to Tortuga Island, but in truth, it is a bit crowded there and the water does not have the best, Caribbean like, clarity. We spent most of our time at Casa Azul and on the beach. Dinner was easy, there are many good restraunts within a short walk, some very good food.

In conclusion, we were very happy with our stay at Hotel Casa Azul. Excellent quality, clean, helpful staff, killer location for the beach, surf, and town activities. You can walk to it all, you do not need to rent a car. Value, yes, I would stress this point. I payed the same price as my first two visits to the area, but this time i was on the beach and did not compromise at all on quality, cleanliness, peace and quiet. No Dust this trip...No walking to the beach each day, No up and down the steep hill with my longboard.

Drawbacks, there is a night club, D&N on the beach about 150 meters north of Casa Azul, they party 3 times a week. It can be noisy, if the tide is low, even more so. The first few nights of our stay, we were not bothered, the tide was up and the waves drowned out the music.. but later in the week we closed up the windows and glass slider, put on the AC and slept in peace.

We would definitely recomend Casa Azul. For the same money you get the same quality, but you are right on the beach. it is a no-brainer. Most hotels in the area are not on the beach, so do your research. It took me 3 trips to the area, but i have found the place. Hotel Casa Azul is the spot. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tebeheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2009

So, when we planned our trip to Costa Rica we knew where we wanted to go but had never been there. We made a list of what we wanted...AC, hot water, near town, ocean front/ocean access, a pool and bungalow. This was not a bungalow but had all of the other "must have's" and I am glad we stayed there. The only other place remotely in our price rance was Tropico Latino which looked nice but was a little more expensive. We went during Green Season and the weather was amazing. We were also able to negotiate an additional discount off our the rate via email with the owner. He was not at the property when we stayed there but it was still very well maintained and the staff was great. The rooms were very clean but pretty basic...but we felt that we werent there to hang in our room but rather to be outside. This is also walking distance to Pano Blanco and Ritmo Latino..restaurants that we really enjoyed dining at. The pool was great as the beach is a little rough for swimming. It was great to surf and then have access to the pool in the evenings or after dinner. I would recommend this if you want some place clean and are on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyzidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2009

We love Casa Azul! Have stayed there for the past 3 years and it just gets better and better. The owner is always looking out for you and making sure you have everything you need, Amazing staff, beautuful gardens and pool, breathtaking view of sunset.......paradise! Can't wait for next trip! Pura Vida!

Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dirtroadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2009

we happened upon this gem after another hotel canceled on us at the last minute due to renovations. what a blessing. this place is right on the beach, a beautiful guest house, awesome pool at the beach's edge. fantastic location. we never got to meet the owner, richard, who was in san jose that week, but he was great and helpful via email beofre we arrived. (he arranged a taxi for us from tambor airport.) it is across from one of the area's best restaurants (argentinian bbq). surrounded by the most beautiful peaceful beaches. wild horses came up to the property most nights at sunset. you hear the ocean waves all day and all night from your room. nice helpful staff. GREAT PLACE. YOU MUST STAY HERE.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandmattSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Casa Azul is located right on the beach -- you pass through the pool area and a beautifully maintained lawn in the back yard, and you are right on the beach. The beach is great for surfing -- i took most of my lessons (begginer) there, and also watched experienced surfers come out and enjoy the ocean.

There are three rooms downstairs -- one small one and two bigger ones, i stayed in a bigger room and could see the waves right from my bed. My room was clean and well taken care of -- daily maid service, and towels were changed every other day and linens every third day. The room had a/c with a remote control. I also had a small patio where i could have a coffee in the morning and read. There is also a hammock in the back yard by the pool.

Guests are allowed to use the fridge and make coffee or snacks in the kitchen area. There was no cooking in the main house.

Caza Azul is located very close to places to eat and shop. I didnt have a car while i was there and got around town by walking.

The owner of the hotel, Richard, was very helpful during my stay and before i arrivied -- he helped me arrange my surfing lessons with a great instructor, answered many of my questions by email and gave me useful information about town while i was there.

I would come back and stay at Casa Azul!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoopyPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Do yourself a big favour and book this hotel. It just about ticks every box. It's centrally located (you can get away with not having any transport as there are plenty of shops, places to eat and the bank within a few minutes walk). Clean rooms with a great view. Amazing garden - you can pick your own mango for breakfast. Big swimming pool to cool off, if it gets a bit hot - which it does. It's also a great place to watch the sunset.

And best of all it is just a few steps from the pounding surf.

Richard, the owner, is a great guy and he has built a superb place to stay and relax in this little corner of Costa Rica.

If you go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeBee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#4 of 26 in Santa Teresa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Property: Hotel Casa Azul
Address: Meters North Of Crossroads Of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing