We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds”
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Ranked #17 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Richard was key in making our stay at Casa Azul in Costa Rica as wonderful as could be. The buildings and grounds are beautiful, meticulously maintained, and landscaped like a dream. The location is super convenient to most anything you would want in Santa Theresa. And, the best part is you have no idea the hustle and bustle is only 200 meters away, because all you hear and see is the ocean. There is a wonderful open-air pavilion that we used for yoga, watching surfers, and enjoying the hammock. Beautiful iguanas lazed in the sun while we did the same in the gorgeous pool. The rooms and cabanas are super modern; large showers, amazing AC, beautiful tiled floors, gorgeous woodwork, all with a relaxed feel. His staff are wonderful. Large safe boxes for my valuables added peace of mind to my stay.

His recommendations for activities; from surfing to restaurants, and most importantly, culture, was spot on. This is truly a labor of love and it shows.

Room Tip: We stayed in a small room with an ocean view. I would stay in it again, or one of the cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 145 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Richard Thank You. I have been in Santa Teresa several times since 2006. This time was the most enjoyable. Tabu the beach bar with the horribly loud music (yes I am over 25) and the almost as loud disco are now silent. Peace and quiet. Great Restaurants (Mary's, The Italian Place, The Grilled Chicken Place, Roca Mar, The Bakery, and others) make staying here a delight. If you surf there is always a good lineup on the beach. The break in front of Roca Mar is good too. Casa Azul is a little piece of Paradise. If you can rent a car or a 4x4 and drive up to Manzenillo. I really mean it when I say it is one of my four favorite places on this planet. Very clean, very quiet, very safe, wonderful pool, Yoga deck, direct access to the beach, and a staff that really takes care of the property. Richard the owner is very detail oriented and is directly involved with its management. Again thank you Richard and your staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main house both ocean side and garden side on two floors. If you are a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We've stayed at the casita at Casa Azul twice now, once as a couple, once with our family and have been very pleased with both stays. The location is just about perfect - right in the heart of the action literally steps from the beach. The casita is clean and comfortable and easily accommodated our family of four - they boys each getting their own bed! We love having the kitchen so we have the option of eating in but yet are close enough to the restaurants that we can eat out as well.

Traveling with kids, they were disappointed that there wasn't a television, but I LOVED it!

I definitely recommend Casa Azul!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 303Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Richard is an awesome host at Hotel Casa Azul. He has helped me to spend a significant amount of time in Santa Teresa, find my way around, and resolve problems. The hotel is really clean, organized, and pleasant. I stayed in the small room, one of the ocean-view rooms, and also for a few days in the upstairs suite in the main building. This is the best location in the whole area: right on the beach where there is a massive, consistent beach break. I surfed once or twice per day, every day on excellent waves. The water is literally a couple of hundred steps from the room. The pool is perfectly located in lovely gardens, and there is a yoga pagoda with a hammock for the use of any guest. All the rooms come with their own hammock, except for the small room. A/C is good, WiFi is good (in the main building). Santa Teresa has great cafes, bars, and restaurants, and it's got a great small-town, friendly, non-touristy feel. I highly recommend Hotel Casa Azul.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our first choice in Santa Theresa and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located directly on the beach and close to good places to eat. The hotel has options of staying in the main house or has separate cottages. We stayed in the main house in a very comfortable room that had great views of the ocean. The grounds are beautiful and there is a wonderful pool after you come in from surfing or just enjoying the beach. The owner is a great host and knows the area well. We really enjoyed his knowledge and humor. We definitely would recommend this hotel and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: There are two cottages separate from the main house. But the rooms in the main house that face the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has 2 little houses for rent right on the beach good for surfing and just 15 min walk to another really great suf spot !! One of the two house is brand new and it's just perfect if you plan a longer stay or you wanna cook a little ! Good for friends stay and family !

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

richard is a great host, the surfing was super!!!! easy access to the beach and everything else playa carmen had to offer, the owner is very helpful with tips and tricks for the local area dining and board rental, the best coffee shop and bakery is just across the street

Room Tip: with the bar next door it was a bit loud, but i enjoyed it non the less
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
585 reviews
2.5 mi away
Florblanca Resort
Florblanca Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 27 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Address: Meters North Of Crossroads Of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $50 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing