We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Save
You added Hotel Casa Azul to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 31 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Casa Azul is amazing. We have and will continue to return here. We stayed for a month and it was PERFECT . Great for families (like us) or couples or as a single. Quiet & peaceful....it is always nice to wake up to the sound of the waves in the morning:) Walking distance to anything and everything you would need. Richard is very helpful providing any info/help you may need. His staff work very hard to keep the yard and rooms clean....the nicest people you could ever meet. Not a thing to complain about.
Thanks Richard we will be seeing you again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
59
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have been to Santa Theresa 3 times and this is the best place that I have stayed. The location could not be any better. You can see the waves from your room and walk out to the beach in less than a minute. The property is gorgeous and the beachfront pool is quiet and realxing. The staff took care of everything daily so we never had to ask for a thing. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbreckenridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

loved this place. you're right on the beach, literally 10 second walk to the beach...directly in front of the sunset...nice pool....affordable, clean rooms, air conditioning...hammocks and the owner is good people. some noise at night from the horrible bar next door but it is not a big deal.

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor have INSANE views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMJESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is fantastic.
Extremely clean, well cared for and without question the most well located hotel in the entire area. The surf break is directly in front of the hotel. Richard was a incredible help throughout the entire trip, from planning the vacation to our stay in his casita. Casa Azul is also far enough off the main road that the dust from the vehicles is not a problem which is something many of the other hotels don't mention.

Fantastic trip and a wonderful hotel. We will definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackandBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Of my six trips to CR over the years, Casa Azul is the BEST place I have stayed hands down.This trip I went with a few friends of mine and we reserved an ocean view room and the casita for one week. The location is perfect; right on the beach and within walking distance of every amenity you need (groceries, bakery, bank, shopping, beer, surf shop, etc). The property is stunning and well cared for. The owner, Richard, is very welcoming and cares about his clients. Clean rooms and linens, lots of security built-in including a well-built safe in each room, beautiful pool and property, right on the beach, close to everything, what more can you ask for?

Richard, thanks for everything! I've already told my friends about the trip and Casa Azul...and when I return to CR I'll be booking a room at your place again. Dave K - New Jersey

Room Tip: Every room is the house (except for the small back room) has an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaaaaaaveK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Santa Teresa is amazing and this is a great place to stay, everything is within walking distance and the hotel is beautiful, will definitely come again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bre247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My friend and I enjoyed our stay. Richard was helpful and took good care of us. Thanks for everything! - Guy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#4 of 31 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Property: Hotel Casa Azul
Address: 100 meters north of crossroads of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing