We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Azul”
Review of Hotel Casa Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Azul
Ranked #17 of 26 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa Azul”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Santa Teresa is amazing and this is a great place to stay, everything is within walking distance and the hotel is beautiful, will definitely come again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bre247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My friend and I enjoyed our stay. Richard was helpful and took good care of us. Thanks for everything! - Guy

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2011

we had the best time in casa azul. the hotel is beautiful and Richard the owner is very nice.
Clean & quiet rooms. great pool. nice garden. located on the beach. not expensive.

Dor & Maya (Israel)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dor014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

It is hard to find anything new to add to the other "Excellent" reviews.One thing that has been mentioned is that Richard (the owner)is an real gem, which is true. He keeps the property beautifully maintained. He also makes sure that anything that is not quite right is corrected immediately - such as replacing an air conditioner that had stopped working.

The building(s) themselves are lovely - colorful and full of great paintings. We visited at a very hot time, but slept well in the air conditioned bedrooms.

The location is interesting because one would think that Casa Azul is miles from civilization - however the main street of Santa Teresa is just at the end of the driveway. We could saunter down the driveway to get lattes and baked goods for breakfast, and ice cream in the afternoon. It was the best of both worlds.

We were visiting with friends/family and filled up the Casa and Cassita with our party. A terrific place for a family reunion! We will be back to Casa Azul, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

First things first: Casa Azul is a little beach front resort in a little beach town. It's not the Hilton Honolulu, so don't expect pool service or to get fresh sheets and towels every night.
That said, in this little spot of Costa Rica Casa Azul has the absolute best location and private surroundings. The owner, Richard (ex-pat American) was there during our stay and was very attentive to any questions or concerns we had.

My wife and I stayed in the casita with our two small kids, and it was perfect. Just the right amount of amenities. We were there at the start of the rainy season, and the tin roof during the nightly thunderstorms was quite an earful! (not complain'...it's all part of the local ambiance)
The pool on the property was lovely. Good for the kids and for a cool dip.
The beach is literally right outside the back gate.
Lots of lizards and even monkeys hang around the spacious property, set back from the road. The water is from a private well on the property (i.e. CLEAN to drink!).
There was a good safe in our casita, which was a must. WiFi internet would have been nice, buy hey, they have that for free at any local bakery or cafe, so it's no big deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hands on owner is an asset to this hotel. His attention to detail and keeping the buildings and grounds in excellant shape made our stay fabulous. We had our three children and their spouses,the 3 grandchildren with us, two very close friends, and it was akin to renting out a private house property on the beach. We had all but one room,vertually the property to ourselves, and the large 2 bedroom upper apartment was a wonderful gathering place for meals and just visiting. The pool was in constant use by us, Jobbie's surf lessons and shop are close by, the sand and sea are just outside the beachfront gate, and the dining out was fabulous. A great place to be when not out doing other activities. Ross and Carol

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Would definitely stay here again. We were very disappointed after reaching our original destination....went to the bakery for Lunch (also fabulous) and spotted Casa Azul during lunch...walked up and rented the "bungalow" on the beach.. Thankful for RIchard and his hospitality!... Highly Recommended...Would DEFINITELY stay here again...Changed the outlook of Santa Teresa for my sons and I!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmehigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 26 in Santa Teresa
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa
#19 of 26 in Santa Teresa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Azul

Property: Hotel Casa Azul
Address: Meters North Of Crossroads Of Mal Pais / Santa Teresa 100, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High quality beachfront property with private beach access. Located on Playa Carmen, with sand and some of the most consistent beach breaks in Costa Rica right in front. Great surf for novice to advanced. Custom professional surf lessons right on site. An economical room for $75 to a large luxury, private 2nd floor 2 bedroom suite for $375. A separate small private house, the casita and the option of renting the entire 5BDR / 4Bath private luxury beachfront home. You will not find better quality and value in our market. Excellent international cuisine within an easy walk and much more in a short drive. Come see why our clients have coined the phrase 'closer to the waves' for Hotel Casa Azul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Azul Hotel
Hotel Casa Azul Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing