We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the time of our lives”
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #8 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Raratonga Hotel was exactly what we expected and more. The service was exceptional. Especially Alessia, the owner of the hotel is so friendly and on top of everything. She was there to help us with whatever we needed from booking the travel arrangements to whatever the activities we wanted to do.

I definitely recommend Raratonga Hotel to anyone who is looking to spend time in beautifiul Santa Teresa.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank eringulesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 212 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2011

Alessia was waiting for us as soon as we parked our car in one of their parking spots. She took us to our room and explained to us how to use the amenities. She also reprogrammed the safe in our room for passports and cash. The fridge was already filled with drinks. The rooms, bathroom, kitchen and patio area were cleaned daily. Both the owners will ensure that you get all the information you need about the area. They even will make reservations for you if needed. They live on premises, which happened to be very useful when our kids locked themselves in their bedroom.
Non-smoking clean rooms, A/C, hot showers, very helpful owners and the howling monkeys to wake you up before heading to the beach, which is only 300 yards away. As I said, don't look any further!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oiminic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Though it is quite a walk from the main area of Santa Teresa, Hotel Raratonga has been one of the cleanest and most beautiful hotels I have stayed in. I highly recommend this hotel for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Alessia was the perfect hostess to a perfect stay. My girlfriend and I stayed at Raratonga for 4 days (only, sadly!) during a week-long trip to Costa Rica. It was our first time in the country, and thanks in large part to out stay at Raratonga, we're already trying to devise a plan to stay for months at a time! The hotel was clean (and cleaned very very well each day by the maid), charming, and very reasonably priced. We met some really cool people that were staying there at the same time, too. Only a short walk to the main beach, and really close to a great surfboard rental place (Denga) and our favorite restaurant in town (Kika). Thanks Alessia! Jeff and Kelly

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jly801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Great place to stay in Santa Teresa, just a few meters walk from the natural and undisturbed beach. We had a room and an apartment and were completely happy with both of them. The hotel is indeed a bit small but very clean and neat. Specially worth mentioning also the hosts, who are very very helpful with any query coming up.

If I would go to Santa Teresa again, I would choose the Raratonga to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauMau6048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

First time traveling to Costa Rica and this place was perfect for the week my friend and I stayed. Great room, everything was very clean and spot on with the rate we were paying to stay. Nice location, right near a great little resturant and market place. The beach is super close. The staff was very friendly and forth going...definetly going to try to come back and stay with Raratonga again.

Cheers

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawber47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Hotel Raratonga is a wonderful place to stay. As far as location goes, you get the best of both worlds because it is secluded yet still walking distance from the main part of town, and conveniently close to a local supermarket. Its just a short walk down a nice path to the beach, which is absolutely stunning and uncrowded with the best surf breaks. The hotel itself is very nice and very clean.The staff are super nice and will help you book any day trips or assist any other travel needs. Santa Teresa is a very neat beach town. Ive traveled all around Costa Rica and have found Hotel Raratonga to be my absolute favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdkeirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 27 in Santa Teresa
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Florblanca Resort
Florblanca Resort
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
331 reviews
1.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: | 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $56 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 5 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing