We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Phenominal!!”
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #8 of 30 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2010

If you want to stay at a location that is clean, beautiful and steps away from the beach, go to Hotel Raratonga. The owners, Alessia and Stefano, are nothing but helpful, warm and accommodating. They are full of information and have connections with people all over Costa Rica. My husband and I have been vacationing in Santa Teresa for 6 years and Hotel Raratonga is our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 216 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

Hotel Raratonga was great! Alessia who runs the hotel is the nicest and most helpful person we met on the entire trip -- she basically acted as our tour guide for the entire stay. She had a trusted cab driver meet us in Tambor, she would recommend to us the best places to eat, she arranged for all of our snorkling trips and surfing lessons, and in general provided excellent customer service. Being in a foreign country, she definitely took any of the worry out of our trip by being so helpful. She even had no problems letting us check in early and check out late.

The condition of the hotel was very nice. Everything seemed relatively new, we had a full kitchen and ice cold AC, and even the Wifi worked great.

The location was great, there is a full supermarket right next door, as well as beach access and a surf shop very close. Then its only a short walk to several restaurants. However, if you are wanting to go into Playa El Carmen a lot, we'd recommend renting a bicycle at least. While Hotel Raratonga does have most things you'll need very close to it, it is a good couple kilometers from the car rental places, the bank, and the busiest part of the area.

Plus the price was great. $65 a night and our apartment could have easily slept 4 people. talk about a bargain.

Overall we were extremely pleased with our hotel. It was quiet and comfortable, close to the road but still set back into the cool jungle about 20 meters. If we ever go back to Santa Teresa we'll definitely be giving Alessia a call!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianculler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

alessia was gracious. santa teresa is beautiful. raratonga is a gem.
many thanks for the great stay!
nothing bad to say about raratonga. the place is epic.

other than the high concentration of italian/isreali pseudo rasta/gangsters, santa teresa is a gem itself.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I cannot fault raratonga. Alessia is so friendly, welcoming and helpful. All obstacles were overcome making it a memorable stay. Good service goes a long way. I will be back in the low season.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danpearce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Alessia, the owner is extremely helpful both before visit and afterwards. Made the process simple ahead of time, offered to help with transportation, laid out options, answered all my questions...etc. Binder in room had personal touch with recc's for restaurants, beaches, sightseeing, surf shops...etc.

Cons:
There are lots of roosters, but nothing a heavier sleeper or earplugs couldn't drown out. I'm a light sleeper and had no issues. Also, all the noises of the birds, monkeys and roosters added to the tropical/ foreign feel in my mind
Other than that, nothing to complain about at all...

Pros:
Hotel itself is just as it looks in photos on the website, clean rooms, simple beds (not crazy comfortable, but definitely manageable). Hotel was kept immaculately clean, maid service everyday (Swept floors, made beds, cleaned bathroom, took out trash...). Bathrooms/ showers are roomy and pressure is good. A/c and fans kept rooms cool in super hot conditions.
Wildlife in the area is great - the courtyard area between the bungalows is filled with constant hummingbirds and all the fruit trees and palms met lots of birds perching all over the place. You can also hear the waves crashing.

Our trip was entirely surf focused and it worked out well. There is access to beach very close by (2-3 min walk), and waves all up and down the beach were perfect for us. About Waist-Head high everyday and offshore winds till 11am or so daily. Also, hotel has a hose in walkway in so you can rinse off your sandy feet/ boards if you want. For a vacation where we wanted no phones, computer (although I guess there is wi-fi there), tv or loud backpackers around, this was perfect. Big porch to drink cervezas post surf, good cheap restaurants/ bars/ cafes/ surf shops to walk to, and great waves, in addition to a supermarket next door meant we didn't have to move any more than we wanted to...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MESurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Love love love Raratonga, stayed two years in a row. Very quiet, clean, safe, and beautiful.
The owner Alessia is a sweetheart who will go to any length to help you out with anything you need throughout your stay. I have nothing bad to say, only good!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daninelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Raratonga for the first three of nine nights in Playa Santa Teresa. If there had been room, we would have stayed the whole time. It was the perfect place for our family of four (kids 10 & 14). The apartment was roomy, clean, safe, and had all of the amenities we needed, including a kitchen. It is located in a quiet part of town, which we realized later when we moved a half mile into town. The gardens are beautiful and Alessia a great, informative host.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachFamCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Buenos Aires
Hotel Buenos Aires
#4 of 27 in Santa Teresa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#23 of 27 in Santa Teresa
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#3 of 30 in Santa Teresa
219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canaima Chill House
Canaima Chill House
#1 of 30 in Santa Teresa
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Address: 300 meters north from Lora Amarilla | 20 meters south from Supermercado Hacienda, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $54 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Raratonga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 2 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing