We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT PLACE !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #7 of 33 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“EXCELLENT PLACE !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last August, and I still talk about how great of a week we had in Santa Teresa, and how much we enjoyed our stay. Great place with super helpful and friendly staff. Our room was perfect..neat and clean with great wifi and AC to get out of the heat when you wanted. Would recommend to everyone, thanks again for the great week!

-Kelsie, Tommy, Sam and Jesse

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelsie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    40
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
97
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a perfect stay at Hotel Raratonga. Alessia and Stefano were fantastic hosts and gave us so much local knowledge and advice. The room was clean, spacious, cool and the kitchen area provided a great way to unwind after a surf and cook your own food. With it just down a scenic track to the beach meant it was the perfect location for us, and being the far end of town meant it is a bit quieter, but had some great local restaurants and shops. The pool was always clean (as were the rooms and whole hotel) and it had a quiet and relaxed atmosphere. We couldn't have asked for more. Thank you so much for helping make our trip to Santa Teresa a dream :) Love Katie & Guy xx

Room Tip: We had the far top room which gave great views of the monkeys :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyandKatie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed in hotel Raratonga almost a week. We had a very nice stay, the staff was helpful and the rooms were very nice. Santa Teresa is a wonderful little town to stay and hotel raratonga is a good choice of hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We love it when we stumble across a space like this, great people,great price,great vibe, very highly recommended for the cost conscience traveler!!! This place it's obviously very well cared for and loved by the owners, s really greet example of what lots of the littler cheaper places in Costa Rica should be like, if only all owners put as much care and thought into it!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We initially had planned to stay just a week at the Raratonga Apartments, but after spending the week here, then traveling, there was no other place we wanted to be. The hospitality of everyone was amazing. They bent over backwards to accommodate our family--finding us a nearby place when they were full, providing information about the area, even introducing us to the rare, tropical cherry tree up the street. We felt like we were leaving family when we left!

The apartment was clean, well stocked and comfortable. There was a bit of noise coming from the adjacent apartment (bedrooms share a wall) when another family moved in, but it hardly put a damper on the experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX2anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

A little confusing to find because there are two properties - one are apartments, one hotel - but very close together, so not a problem. Owner is very hospitable, and has put together booklets in the room with ideas of places to go, beaches and nature reserves and maps of how to get there, and local restaurant ideas, etc. There is mini fridge and coffee maker - no coffee, so you must walk down the road a couple minutes to a small grocery store - they have all the supplies you'll need. Room was clean and ready for us upon arrival. Bathroom only has liquid soap/shower gel/shampoo combo, so bring toiletries if you prefer bar soap or specific shampoo and conditioner. AC worked well. Two negatives: 1. the neighboring yard has chicken(s) & rooster(s) which crow every 20 seconds 24/7. The building is made of wood, so sound goes in and out like air...including to the joining room. We didn't get much sleep because of the rooster. 2. The roads to Santa Teresa are atrocious, so don't think that a sedan will be sufficient. It's not. Even the short driveway is very very steep and scraped the bottom of the car. All in all, it was very pleasant, the pool was relaxing, and the balcony area is a relaxing place to enjoy your morning coffee or a book

Room Tip: Rooms farther from check in area/office are closer to the neighboring yard with roosters/chickens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahAndTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

we spent 2 weeks at Hotel Raratonga in a standard room on the second floor.
the staff at the hotel was really nice and helpful with info about what we needed, shuttles to and from Santa Teresa. the room was really comfortable, with A/C, hot water,wifi and balcony.
the pool is great and the hotel is quiet and clean.
overall, we had a great time here, we enjoyed the peace and quiet and being close to the beach (just about 100 meters) and we would be happy to come back anytime!

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor in the higher area have a nice atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lital H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#4 of 33 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Property: Hotel Raratonga
Address: | 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 5 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing