We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places in Santa Teresa”
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #7 of 27 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best places in Santa Teresa”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Excellent accomodation, very quiet, secure & surrounded by lovely mango trees, you can appreciate humming birds & lots of butterflies right outside in the garden as well as the howler monkeys in the afternoon while we were relaxing at the pool after a nice surf session, the appartments are located just a short walking distance from the beach & supermarket & staff were always friendly with us, as matter of fact they gave us 10$ disc because there was a small prob with the fridge but they fixed during the afternoon, I stayed three nights with 5 friends of mine & def will recommend this place & will be back again for sure.

word from a local

Hope ur doing better from the flu Gianni
Pura vida
Ismael

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melotico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    41
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
97
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed just one night at this cute little place with a very friendly owner. The beds and pillows were just right. The patio is comfortable, we sat out in a lightning/rain storm and stayed perfectly dry. The room is fully accomodated with a safe, a.c., a closet w/hangers, fridge, coffee maker, soft towels, and a nice warm shower, wi-fi and more! This spot is definitely worth a visit and will fit right into any traveller's budget. Oh yes, and there is a communal kitchen, great for saving a few bucks in a town where dining out is quite expensive.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My stay at Raratonga was perfect. Clean, simple and tastefully done rooms with hot water, mini fridge, safe, coffee maker and shared deck. It was peaceful, right up the road from one of the best surf breaks in Santa Teresa and very close to a supermarket, local restaurant and the best sunset restaurant in the area, Rocamor. Alessia was an amazing host who's willing to help you out with all your questions. I will definitely stay there again when I go back. I checked out most of the hotels and hostels in the area while I was there and she had the best prices for what you get.

Thanks so much!

Sean Aiken NYC

Room Tip: I won't tell because I want the same room next year ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanA112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the apartments with another couple. It is very clean. Kitchen was great to have to cook and sit out on front patio and enjoy meals and drinks. Bathroom was great. Within walking distance to restaurants and stores. Air con worked great. The bed was very heard though but slept pretty well. I would definitely stay there again. Pool is also nice to take a dip in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Raratonga was a joy to stay at from beginning to end, beginning with our host Gianni, who was so friendly, helpful, and sweet. He was ready with a smile every single time we passed reception, and answered all of our questions with regards to board rentals, restaurants, sight-seeing, and lessons. In fact Gianni himself gave me my first surf lesson ever, and was always ready with a report as to the wave swells morning, noon, or night - whether he was working, or we happened to run into him at a local restaurant. Speaking of which - our location was perfect! A short walk to the beach, so many restaurants, surf shops, and grocery stores, but secluded from the dusty main Santa Teresa road, and surrounded by lush trees and flowers filled with birds, iguanas, and monkeys. The rooms (we stayed in the wooden apartments) were simple and beautiful, with really lovely mattresses and crisp white sheets and towels. We had a kitchen, which was so great for making a little breakfast ourselves before heading out for a very early morning surf, and our room looked out over the private swimming pool. There was also an outdoor shower beside the swimming pool which was very helpful after a day at the beach for getting all the sand off before heading inside. We will definitely be back Gianni! Thank you so much for be so awesome!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Raratonga Apartments were great! We had a lovely set of rooms with kitchen, the best mattresses we ran into in Costa Rica, really nice grounds,and a swimming pool. We were insulated from the dust of Santa Teresa roads, which is overwhelming, and our owner/host, Gianni, was wonderful. He was there with a smile every day, and arranged everything we needed, from advice on beaches, to taxis and reservations. He was a true joy and made our stay memorable. We stayed other places in Santa Teresa, and this was the best, in atmosphere, accomodations, and professionalism. Alessia did a great job arranging our shuttle from the San Jose Airport, ferry transport and van to Raratonga. Our arrival was delayed by a day and she rearranged everything .Loved Raratonga Apartments!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for a week and enjoyed the stay. Its in a great location being as its by the hacienda super market, soda restaurant and beach way. Plus alysia and Lucy (owners here) are laid back and accommodating. Housekeeping everyday spoiled me. One bad thing though was this weird dream catcher that game me nightmares every night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momorellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
327 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Property: Hotel Raratonga
Address: | 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 5 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing