We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Raratonga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Raratonga
Ranked #8 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very nice small hotell with beautiful rooms, great location near the best surfspot, very clean, wifi, good value. Alessia who owns the hotell is the nicest person and will help you with any problems. If I go back I will stay there again.

Marcus from Sweden

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MarcusGfromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    39
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
96
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

close to the fantastic beach of Santa Teresa
Nice and clean
exellent service
Wifi
Great value

I would love to come back one day:)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaGMalmo_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We are so glad we found the Hotel Rartonga! It is located in a perfect spot, very close to the beautiful beach and great surf. The grounds are very well maintained and it is such a calm, beautiful place to hang out at. Our room was clean, perfectly sized and a great value. The best part of our stay though was the owners - Alessia, Stephan, and Gianni. Helpful and knowledgeable from our first inquiry email to the last day of our trip. I can't say enough about the customer service they provided and the obvious pride they take in their hotels!! Thank you for a wonderful stay!!! We will be back and our bringing our kids on the next trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

For the affordable price, Raratonga Apartments was a great choice. You could even save more money if you have friends stay with you and split the apartment. They were clean, simple, wifi was fastest I found in town, A/C worked, pool was nice, and the short walk to the beach was easy. It's also right next to surf shops and Zwart Cafe - yum.
Our friends were staying in two of the other apartments and the guys who worked at Raratonga were super helpful to all of us. From lost bags by the airline to our friend losing his keys. You also saw our hosts around town and they always said hello.
There were also Iguanas all over the property which we thought was pretty cool.
If you want to spend your money on surfing and exploring vs. a private bungalow, or perhaps you are traveling with friends on a budget, this is a great spot for you.
Thanks Raratonga!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmhnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We had a great experience at Hotel Raratonga! It met our needs in a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay with a price that was reasonable. The location is near quality restaurants, cafes (Ginger Cafe), the beach and the supermarket was a 2 minute walk down the street. Our time spent at Hotel Raratonga will provide us with many great memories of Costa Rica and Santa Teresa. Lastly, as mentioned in many other reviews, Alessia is great and always there for you. She responded to all my questions in a timely manner while planning our trip and continued to offer her assistance when needed throughout our stay at her hotel. I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Enjoyed our time at Hotel Raratonga, firstly because Alessia is so available to help with any needs. The couple of maintenance issues we had were immediately addressed, the accomodations were cute and clean and we would definitely consider Hotel Raratonga on a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamdoroshni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Searching for a balanced Costa Rica location one that provides seclusion yet offers nearby amenities is difficult. Writing this review is difficult bc I dare not want to spoil such a wonderful place. You can find no better than this wonder hotel nestled into a jungle-like atmosphere you feel instantly at home here. Clean, safe, spoilingly friendly between a hotel/hostel/private home there truly is not a better option than Hotel Raratonga. Santa Teresa is a wonderful place and will hopefully preserve what makes it so special. Your time researching should end here as mine did, you will fall in love with this hotel, the staff, the others that stay there. This is pura vida. Respect, preserve, and forever enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranneyj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Funky Monkey Lodge
Funky Monkey Lodge
#16 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#21 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meli Melo
Hotel Meli Melo
#4 of 32 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raratonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raratonga

Property: Hotel Raratonga
Address: | 3 kms north from the Intersection of Playa el Carmen, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Raratonga is a small friendly lodge with 7 units total, double private rooms and fully equipped kitchen apartments for 2 to 4 persons, swimming pool, A/C, private bathroom, hot water, safety box, wi-fi, daily cleaning. Rates from $45-$60 p/night p/double room. 5 minutes walking from the best surf spot and beach of Santa Teresa, supermarkets and restaurants. Ideal for couples, families and group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Raratonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raratonga
Hotel Raratonga Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing