We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all loved our food”
Review of Soda Tiquicia

Soda Tiquicia
Ranked #10 of 90 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We all loved our food”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This place is very simple-looking. It was a big surprise to have such a nice dinner. The portions were big, the food was excellent, and when the plates arrived, we all "oo'd and aw'd" at how beautifully they were presented. There were 4 of us, and we each had something different. We were all happy with our meals and decided to go again the next day for lunch because of how pleased we were. Good job ! We're bringing a group of friends on another trip, and we'll be sure to stop in and eat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TonyandCeleste H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    71
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
theteah
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fresh local food, big portions & great prices!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We are 4 time visitors to Costa Rica and have a 15 year old, 6 ft 2 inch son so after a day of surfing, you can imagine that big portions at a great price are a must! Soda Tiquicia is a great new addition to dining in Costa Rica. About $6 will get you a chicken & rice dish that is huge and to die for. The fish burrito is about $8, comes with avocado, fresh salad & other things I can't remember and was definitely two meals worth for me. The traditional ceviche is wonderful, too. The beer is cold and the staff is friendly. You can't be in a hurry though, but as my son said the other day, "You just can't care too much in Costa Rica, it goes against the grain." This is one of the joys of places like Santa Teresa and Soda Tiquicia, you just relax and enjoy what they have to offer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theteah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great value, local food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This restaurant was located very close to our beach rental. It's a fabulous informal restaurant with very reasonable prices. We enjoyed the fresh and local food, with lots of Costa Rican dishes to try out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Savior restaurant!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Hola!

During my 21 day stay to Costa Rica this July we probably ate at Soda Tiquicia 17 times and were sure to bring our family and friends as much as possible.

The reason why we went so much was because we were traveling on a budget and eating out was feasible with Soda Tiquicia. They have all the typical Costa Rican selections but they add their own delicious flare to each plate. Most plates are around $5-6 and some are so big you have to split (especially the arroz con pollo y atun)

My favorite things to order are guacamole and chips (pita cut and fried= amazing) the plaintains with guacamole, the beef sandwich (I tried the last day and low and behold it's amazing), and the Typico with chicken and the arroz con atun or pollo). The smoothies are also only $2 and are the perfect refreshing beverage after a long hot day. Thanks to Ari for always serving us with a smile and the owner and his wife.

The last day of our trip we brought 15 people there around 9pm and they happily served us the most delicious meal. It was the perfect last meal. The owner even gave us a shot of his new bottle of liquor upon leaving. It made us feel at home and appreciated.

Please visit this local spot and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samgagnon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
2 reviews
“Great place, especially for the money”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant had excellent food especially for the price. We ate there 3 times for dinner and once for breakfast. Would have rated them a 5 for service but they have a tougher time accommodating larger groups of people when busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koby96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Tiquicia also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Soda Tiquicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing