We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too familiar with Spanish tapas, but it was excellent.”

Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio
Ranked #7 of 91 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Why Tapas? Converse, share, taste and enjoy.A fun way to understand Pura Vida through gastronomy.A sampling of the Mediterranean cuisine presented in small portions, made from scratch and prepared the traditional way, updated to modern times.Healthier, lighter, low fat recipes.We challenge your taste buds with the best selection of cheeses, hams, cold cuts with Designation of Origin, accompanied with wines and Cavas from outstanding wineries of our country.All our tapas are made using the freshest ingredients of the cattle ranches, farmers and fishermen of the area, thus contributing to the controlled growth of the economy of the local community. Helping sustainable fishing and organic farming of the area, with the utmost care for the environment.ENJOY PURA VIDA!
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
“Not too familiar with Spanish tapas, but it was excellent.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had also stayed in the hotel for the week for our honeymoon and took advantage of the "Romantic Pack" and got to enjoy the Tapas tasting. With a recommended bottle of red, which was fabulous, each tapas was exquisite and it was just like a full meal. The atmosphere is perfect if you are looking for something calm with a romantic, candlelit feel, which is also perfect for invoking great conversation and overall a great memory. The sangria is also very appetizing and refreshing. Above all, we got to see the owners of the hotel in the restaurant atmosphere, in which it was not a surprise to us their continued excellent attentiveness, recommendations and service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    40
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great Spanish dining experience!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Dining at Tapas is a bit like dining in a magical tress house! The view is amazing, the atmosphere unique, and the service was wonderful. The owner and hostess, Vanessa steered us in all the right directions when ordering our meal. We had perfectly prepared fish caught that day, delicious tapas served with homemade bread, sangria, and homemade dessert. We dined here with our two teenage sons and had a very enjoyable and memorable time! Don't miss this spot when visiting Santa Teresa.

Helpful?
Thank YolyNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicous spanish style tapas and beautiful atmosphere and view of the ocean”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is picturesque, right on the water front and on a hill. The surf is so crazy in santa teresa so you eat to a background soundtrack of the ocean. Its a really magical atmosphere and the food is amazing. Vanessa and Ramon are lovely and from Spain so the food is very authentic and delicious. We loved our evening here.

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for your review,
We are so happy than you enjoy our small and pretty Restaurant.
Thanks for your visit and come back if you stay in town.
Gracias Gracias,
Vanessa and Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible chef, excellent service!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We loved our dinner here on our anniversary. Vanessa was such a fun and gracious co-owner and host! She put our bottle of champagne on ice while we took a pre-dinner walk to see the sunset on the beach in front of the restaurant. When we came back she had set up a pretty flower and some hand fans for us at our table. Ramon then proceeded with preparing us a fabulous meal. For tapas we had patas bravas (done the traditional way, the only way to have them!) and the specialty chorizo with garlic aioli that they have custom made for the restaurant. Both excellent. We dined on the mixed paella, which was one of the best paellas we've ever had. And then we somehow made room for dessert with molten chocolate cake and an insanely creative maracuya and mint foam that Ramon concocted with his foam machine. He's truly a fantastic chef and without a doubt professionally trained in Spain. They are such a great couple, we can't wait to see them when we go back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dallas-decko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Google Translation
Querida pareja,
Gracias por venir a compartir con nosotros una noche taaan especial.
Fue un placer conceros y hacer vuestra noche de aniversario inolvidable.
El proximo mes de abril espero poder veros ya que repiten Santa Teresa para su boda.
Felices de hacerles felices.
Gracias por vuestra palabras hacia nosotros y a nuestro Restaurante.
Un abrazo y hasta pronto.
Vanessa y Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We went to tapas el Rey a night after Alma and in our mind alma was better. Regardless this place is very nice. The service was great, the food was good and we had a great night overall. The food is indeed very Spanish and very close to authentic Spanish tapas. We missed some local interpretation and better use of local ingredients. The patatas bravas is a great example in my mind. Yes it is a tapa staple but with all these exciting fresh ingredients around you either don't serve it or make it a little different than what the serve in Barcelona. Obviously it is my 5 cents and if you are around definitely give this place a try. However in our mind Alma is a better spot and if you only have one night in Santa Teresa, definitely go there

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramon V, Propietario at Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Google Translation
Estimados clientes,
Muchisimas gracias por su comentario nos agrada haber hecho de su cena algo agradable.
En cuanto al producto es todo pescado fresco de mal pais y verdura organica de la zona. Nuestro objetivo es contribuir con la economia de la zona ademas de ser un producto fantástico.
Si las patatas les recordaban a las de Barcelona creo que hemos logrado el objetivo de nuestro lugar...hacer que a miles de km de distancia la gente sienta la esencia de nuestra amada Barcelona por un instante con el producto de Costa Rica, que maravilla.
Compartimos nuestro agrado por Restaurante Alma, consideramos que es un Restaurante muy bueno al que nosotros también vamos, Santa Teresa es un pequeño lugar con Restaurantes exquisitos de cocina de todas partes del mundo.
Gracias de nuevo por su opinión y no duden en volver a visitarnos si regresan a Santa Teresa.
Un abrazo.
Vanessa y Ramon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurante Tapas El Rey Patricio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing