We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful drinks, food and views!”
Review of El Carmen

El Carmen
Ranked #31 of 120 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Description: El Carmen is a new vibrant beach front Bar-Lounge-Restaurant located in the heart of Santa Teresa-Mal Pais, right in the main beach of the beautiful Playa Carmen. Come on board and delight our delicious food and refreshing drinks made with a lot of love and happiness. We are open all-day-long from 11 am to night. We offer a 100% homemade Mediterranean cuisine with only fresh daily products.
Restaurant details
Description: El Carmen is a new vibrant beach front Bar-Lounge-Restaurant located in the heart of Santa Teresa-Mal Pais, right in the main beach of the beautiful Playa Carmen. Come on board and delight our delicious food and refreshing drinks made with a lot of love and happiness. We are open all-day-long from 11 am to night. We offer a 100% homemade Mediterranean cuisine with only fresh daily products.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

We enjoyed many sunsets sipping delicious cocktails and enjoying delicious from the patio of El Carmen while we were visiting. Great service, too! Jorge made us feel right at home!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank corazondelfuego71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 241 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2019

My girlfriends and I went for sunset here today and it was really nice. The service was good, shout out to Jorge who was a super fun server; he even made us flowers out of palm leaves LOL. The happy hour drinks were good and to be honest pretty big for the price! We ordered Pinchos but really they're meat/shrimps on skewers.They were also huge too and excellent for the price. Hopefully the portion won't change cos I can see me coming here everytime I am in town :) The location is definitely great with the views of the ocean. I wish though that they don't play House music all the time, maybe we came at the beginning of Saturday house night party. It would be really cool to hear some less housey music while enjoying the sunset. Also, the ambiance and the decor is pretty hipster chic but not pretentious.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank elliekattropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019 via mobile

Excelent food in a very relaxed ambiance, just in front of the beach. You can take a break from surfing and have a foodie meal while looking to waves. Service was also excelent. Worth to visit... and you don’t have to wear your sandals!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank jmmp00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elcarmenrestaurante, Manager at El Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Thanks a lot for your comments! We put a lot of effort in making a pleasant experience for our customers. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2019

We frequented El Carmen a number of times throughout our time in Santa Teresa, the first as we overlooked the ocean we drank a delicious bottle of rose bubbly. The general manager was nice enough to bring us delicious shots as we gave him some garbage we had collected from the beach.
We came back to El Carmen the night after for a beach fiesta with some international DJ's from Paris. As the DJ's played back-to-back me and my friend danced our way through the room, feeling as happy as anyone could possibly be on a beach dancing to great music!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank wendylittles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elcarmenrestaurante, Manager at El Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Thank you for your amazing review! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2019

This was quite frankly a great little restaurant. Great service, but unfortunately they managed to mix up my dish and another guys dish (I had the leg of lamb and he the shoulder - big difference) which we sorted out ourselves.

Also a bit confusing when the bills come out in USD and they don't inform you of their exchange rate and you pay in CRC and it doesn't match up as you have another rate than the restaurant.

Still... Tasty food, good service, nice ambience and the best served wine I had all two weeks.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robbowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elcarmenrestaurante, Manager at El Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2019

Hello! Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about the confusion with the dishes, we recently opened and we are still learning, trying to improve every day. About the exchange rate, we offer the prices in dollars to make it a little easy for the visitors, but we exchange the currency at the same price as the bank.
We are glad you have a pleasant experience despite the mixing up! Hope to see you again another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Carmen also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing