We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in Santa Theresa!”
Review of Cabinas Playa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Playa
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A great place, just infront of the surf point. beautiful garden that feels like home, sofas, hemoks, huge tv screen, pool table. Private and doorms with fan or AC, There's a kitchen with everything you need and most important - Idan, the owner is amazing, will help you with really every question or need you'll have. Really recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gili_kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cabina's playa & their crew is simply the essence of Santa Teresa Costa Rica, seriously if you are looking for good times, music, friends, and sweet memories you should stay there, beast location so close to the hottest surfing point, I met their some awesome people wile I stay for two weeks. Especially the guys that run the place Idan & Amir they are the coolest, make me feel like I am a part of the place, you can book thru them a surfing and yoga lessons. Also when we stay there the chef was a nice Argentinean guy that cooked good food and the best banana ice crème you will ever taste. Clean rooms, hot water, wif, community kitchen, pool table, swimming pool, surfer movies, good energy end everything you need to be happy and live the Pura Vida

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tutig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't get a closer spot to the best surf break on the beach which was perfect for my boyfriend who went out every day and had some great waves. Our room had a balcony which had a lovely view of the garden. Unfortunately this place is let down by a few things we were expecting after reading their website and some glowing TA reviews. The pool is out of service; apparently it just needed filling up but that didnt happen. We saw the cleaning lady offering cleaning to other guests, but we weren't offered anything (we dont expect 5-star service). Perhaps we had to request it...but everywhere else we have stayed throughout Central America including places a lot less nicer, includes the offer to clean the room without asking. The communal kitchen is woefully inadequate and dirty, it was lucky we had our own cutlery with us. I wasn't sure who worked there and who was just hanging out, and it was difficult to get their attention; we felt like we were interrupting their conversations. So if you're expecting a kitchen you can cook in, a pool, and basic room service then you may be disappointed; maybe thats what you get for this price in Santa Teresa. But if you just want to surf or hang out down the beach all day and arent worried about those things, then go, as I've said the location couldn't be better!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiChickUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasPlaya, Owner at Cabinas Playa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Well Kiwi chick


Im very sorry to read this review of yours for many reasons.. mainly is that i think you write about a few things you dont know about ..
like the pool - That was being repaired because the pump needed a new engine as well as having a few minor wholes ! NOT "Just needed being filled up" .


Also you mention that other guests were being offered to clean their room and yours not for any reason..???
.Do i need to mention that you stayed for only 3 nights, and if you would of just bother to ask someone it would been cleaned with pleasure .

Also you say that that the kitchen was without cutlery --- THAT'S ABSURD -- we have everything you need to cock as you can see from other TripAdvisor reviews ...Also you can come back here and ill show you myself , maybe all you needed is,to ask.

I was personally here when you were staying as guests and you never bothered to mention any of this to me when i was here.. am i supposed to read your mind about this fixable problems ??


Besides that im happy you and your boyfriend enjoyed the good waves in front and our balcony room with the nice view


Pura Vida
Amir Berkovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed there for three months, what else to say. I cried on the bus to san jose. The best location, the staff treated you like family, pumping waves, good party, clean and good facilities. Woow woow waa! Hope ill come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olleolleolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasPlaya, Owner at Cabinas Playa, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

OLLLLLEEEEEEEEEE



Happy you enjoyed your stay here ..WE CRYED TO...

Well we dont need to tell u how much we (cabinas playa crew ) enjoyed you and Jacob AND Erick and crazy simon stay here >>>> we love you and cant wait to see you again ,,, here or sweden what ever come first


MISS U BROTHERRRRR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The best vibe of all hostels. Closest to the best surf spot in Santa, and I've stayed at most, and been to all. Best price for value. Awesome staff! Lots of nice people from all over. The only thing I'd wish for is that I could stay longer...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Cabinas Playa was totally perfect, the crew, the place, the atmosphere, the service, everything! We had the best time there. We met some really nice people and we love the relax and cool atmosphere. We always had a place to chill and enjoy la pura vida de costa rica. Moreover, the access to the beach is just in front of the hostel. The nicest place in Santa Teresa!!!! Thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieOuellette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Cabinas playa was a really awesome place to stay! First of all it is right next to the beach entrance and a bar! Also the crew and relaxed atmosphere were really fun, we met a bunch of cool people. I highly recommend this hostel and i'm going back for sure next year :D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Penelope-vacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabinasPlaya, Owner at Cabinas Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Valerieeeeeeeee !!!! :-)


Muchas gracias estuve un placer a conocerte y Phenlope ustedes muy amables.

We allready miss u girls,,,

Hope to see u soon again :-0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#20 of 26 in Santa Teresa
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
#4 of 62 in Santa Teresa
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacifica Surf Studios
Pacifica Surf Studios
#24 of 27 in Santa Teresa
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
1.4 mi away
Cabinas Calocita
Cabinas Calocita
#11 of 62 in Santa Teresa
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Principe del Pacifico
Principe del Pacifico
#15 of 27 in Santa Teresa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Playa

Address: In front LA LORA Beach, Santa Teresa 89117, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range: $10 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas Playa - Surf Hotel in Santa Teresa, Welcomes you surfers and travelers Costa Rica. Cabinas Playa is a cabin rental hotel located just 10 meters from the best surf break in the Nicoya Peninsula area - "LA LORA" - This is one of the best locations for surfing in Costa Rica !! We offer private and shared bedrooms with A/C, a private bathroom/shower, kitchen & balcony !! We also have a restaurant that serves amazing dishes for comfortable prices,swimming pool, huge screen, pool table, bicycle and surf boards for rent along with surf lessons (private & groups) laundry service, free WiFi and coffee and much much more !!Cabinas PLaya surf hotel is THE PLACE for young people from all over the world. We are here to provide the best service and make your stay with us at the Cabinas Playa enjoyable, relaxing memorable (-: . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Playa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing