We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place Great Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Teresa Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Teresa Hostel
Truo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Came across this place by pure luck, planned on staying for 2 days and ended up staying for 8 days. As a young couple we prefer to stay in a private room and usually have to pay a little bit more to do so but this hostel was very reasonable. Not only were the rooms a very good price but to our surprise they included a private bathroom, T.V. and A.C. The staff were very friendly and the owner/operator (Memo) was awesome, he showed us around the small town and gave us a few hints of where to get the most chill sunset session. Kitchen was great and when a pan got old or dirty Memo would replace it with a new one.

There is a small pool in the hostel which was nice but the big seller for me was a relatively new pool table where you could chill have a beer and meet new people.

This is a nice chill hostel which allows enough privacy to relax if you want but also has a good party atmosphere if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hostel owners, Barboza and Gregory, have a created a really cool atmosphere that is not only laid back but also friendly. They became friends during my days there while they take me surfing as well as ATV riding. The nights were relaxing and fun while we chilled at the hostel playing pool and listening to music. The kitchen was one of the more spacious and well equipped that I found during my trek through Costa Rica. I opted for a private room which they offer at an affordable price. It had a private bath and A/C. I slept great. Barboza went out his way to make sure that I made it to my ferry for my return trip calling favors for me. I'm friends with each of them on Facebook and I hope to see them again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Santa Teresa Hostel back in April 2012. We stumbled across it as we got off the bus in Santa Teresa. Memo greeted us as we entered and was willing to show us a room. The rooms were so clean and the price was cheap! We had our own bathrooms and the most amazing thing of all, we had air conditioning! The best part of this hostel too is the location. The grocery store was right below us so we were able to cook our own meals. Also, the hostel is right across from a spa and the beach. The spa is where you can receive facials, massages, and even take outdoor yoga classes. Aside from the location, the customer service that Santa Teresa Hostel provided was anything short of excellent. We were advised on the best places to eat, visit, and surf. Memo went as far as to contact someone for our own private surf lessons, which was amazing. All in all I had the best experience in Santa Teresa and I owe it all in large part to my stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyofsun21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I had a great time at the place. It hostel was new and very clean. The management was very hospitable and always helped us. They told us what to do at night and even volunteered to give us surfing lessons. It's also at a good location. The beach is a short walk away. There are surf shops, restaurants, and a grocery that are literally next door.

The price was comparable to other hostels, but this hostel was cleaner and quieter. We went during low season, so if you're traveling alone, you might want to stay at a more crowded, but less clean hostel, just for the company.

Room Tip: I had a suite with its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This Hostle is such an amazing place. I stayed there for almost 2 weeks and had a blessed. The rooms are clean as well as the kitchen and bathrooms. Downstairs is an supermarket - you get there everything you need. At night it is quit but just a 5 -10minutes walk to the party spots. There is a Surferstore as well where you can borrow a surfboard& siuts, so its such a good place to surf! Beach is just across the street (200m).The Hosts are really nice people, always willing to help out and share some local informations. I was traveling by my own and met a lot of nice people there. I will stay there another time for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank social11butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Lizard Lounge in Santa Teresa is an awesome little hostel in the perfect spot. It's not too close to the crazy 'cruce' area (crossroads area with the bank, pharmacy etc) so it's quiet at night. However, it's right above a grocery store so you can buy your food and take it right upstairs (no heavy bags to carry up the dusty road). I also love that it's right in front of a fun surf break so it only takes less than 2 minutes to walk from your room to the sand. There aren't a lot of hostels at this price point (cheap!) with the same kind of quality and amenities (love the pool table!) The only bummer was that the jacuzzi wasn't ready when I was there. Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.8 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
#3 of 56 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#17 of 31 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Seven7 Casa Del Gingi
Hostel Seven7 Casa Del Gingi
#12 of 56 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa
Kokua Hostel Santa Teresa
#1 of 19 in Puntarenas
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tiamat Lodge
Tiamat Lodge
#19 of 56 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Teresa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Teresa Hostel

Property: Santa Teresa Hostel
Address: Santa Teresa main street, 100mts Northwest from Zula Restaurant | Second floor Supermarket, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here is a Hostel that makes your stay in Santa Teresa a blast, with a grocery store next door, pool, bars and restaurants all around and most importantly a gorgeous beach across the road that serves perfect surf waves. At Santa Teresa Hostel we're your friends, we'll show you around, refer you to the best places and let you in on local secrets to make your trip hassle-free and exciting. Perfect location for family-stays and single or group travels, weekly stays or night stays with an offordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Santa Teresa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Teresa Hostel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing