We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem, exactly what CR is all about, rustic & charming boutique feel.”
Review of Milarepa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milarepa
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Gem, exactly what CR is all about, rustic & charming boutique feel.”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I have been fortunate enough to visit Costa Rica for 11 years, some 37 trips, I have surfed or driven to just about every beach area, some without even a hotel, with the exception of Pavones/Zancudo in the Osa area near Panama.

My wife and I and inspected all 5 places on the beach in Santa Teresa, and budget was a issue of under $250, as we just wanted privacy and no frills, great beach views and to hear the surf. This boutique hotel was one the best values, and best feeling properties in the entire country, and ranks up there with Thailand and Burma for a tropical setting but with the luxuries of modern touches. The outdoor showers are the bomb, and the beds are comfy and romantic. Te bungelows only number 3, and have nice verandas with chez lounges to chill. The cafe is top notch and the cuisine as good as anywhere in CR.

Lastly, the location is superb, as its next door to Blancaflor spa, and Latitude 10, both stunning properties and top of the hill for CR, we used the Spa for massages and had dinner, a good value as well, a great wine list.

If you want rustic Tico charm, boutique chic setting, privacy and a surf break 1/4 mile walk down the desolate beach, this is it. The owners have the formula right on, and fact its further from Mal Pais then all the others, is a good thing, the road and distance filters out the whiners, complainers and typical tourist that are best to stay in town.

I travel 150 days a year for work, in 4-5 star, and 8 weeks a year for leisure,I prefer cabinas/lodges and boutique settings, some luxury, and one thing I avoid, is resorts, paved driveways, rooms with a tele or TV, and even no AC, in the tropics, the nature is my entertainment...(they have free Wifi for those us that have to work on vacation)

If only more properties were like this in CR and the world, we will be back in Feb 2010.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon at the Milarepa. We arrived after a long, hot day of travel to the hotel. The staff asked for payment up front before even showing us our room. We we a bit put off by that but as the oecan front villa was not occupied, the owner upgraded us for our entire stay which was a lovely gesture. This lodging is very simple, not alot of extras , but the staff is very knowladgable of the area with lots of information on where to go and what to see. The food is wonderful, but compared to surrounding local resturant prices, the food at Milarepa is pricey and the wait staff is also the front desk staff who know very little about resturant etiquitte. We failed to see the value in dinning there. What they lack in experience, they make up for in niceness. We are very happy and would stay there again. Althuogh it would make more value sense to us if it were a less expensive, or offered a few more basic ammenities (breakfast included, computer/internet service, complementary coffee, in-room refrigerator, telephone access ). It is the best location on the beach with private bungalows, clean rooms, great coffee and an owner who was receptive to hearing our concerns and addressing them. If you're looking for a beautiful beach spot and don't need alot else. This is the place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travhound2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I spend some days at Milarepa. First, the beach is mostly beautiful, great landscape and not a single soul anywhere. The intention of the hotel seems to be one with nature, which is great. But what you get at the bottom line is luxury camping very very much overpriced (in comparison to the rest of the area and the country).

Worse is that there is a real lack of attention to details vs. what you expect from a hotel of that price class. Bungalows are open to nature on all sides = animals but they miss to give you a simple candle against bugs while this is quite typical in the country.

The staff is very nice, but not at all professional, and that really is a very big difference on travels. Service is just not existent. If you want a drink, you have to go to the bar. Want a lunch, go to the bar and wait. They are not going to bring it to your room without big efforts. Hotel compound is very small and staff is using quads early in the morning almost next to your room. It would be very easy to make things better with more attention.

The food in the restaurant is great, but you will have to sit next to the owners and his children playing with their laptops. Thats fine if you are looking for that, but you wouldn't expect that in a hotel not for over 200 $ a night.

We had a wonderful time never to forget, but not thanks to the hotel but in spite of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkoeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Quality was just not nearly as you expect for this horrend price! The room is like outdoor, because the roof is not fix. Bathroom is outside of the room (completely outdoor) in our case just some meter next to the restaurant (so you better stay healthy). Service is = 0 and your room is actually all the time full of ants. As it is really on the beach, you can make yourself a wonderful time, but the confort of the hotel is really bad!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhajnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Milarepa was the highlight of my trip to Costa Rica. We reserved the bungalow on the beach, and it was absolutely beautiful. The decor and linens were typical of a high end hotel, and the proximity to the beach couldn't have been better, with the sound of the ocean lulling us to sleep at night. The staff was friendly and eager to help with reservations, and the restaurant was delicious. I would definitely stay at Milarepa every time I go back to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haasie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

You arrive at a partly hidden driveway after driving a couple of miles on a dusty (or muddy) dirt road. Then you park on leaf-strewn gravel at the top of a set of stairs, and you peer down through the tropical trees to find the Milarepa Hotel. You can't see much from here.

As you walk down the stairs the scene unfolds. A few bungalows scattered around a small pool and an open-air dining space with interesting music playing low. Thatched roofs cover all of them. Through trees you can see the surf. Someone who looks vaguely European or South American is standing in the dining area. They offer a sincere smile, walk up to greet you and take your bag, and your Milarepa visit has begun.

Some won't like it here. All rooms are open to the air - you can't shut out bugs, and the temperature may be too hot or too cool at any given time. The bathrooms have no ceilings, just a bit of roof to cover the sink and toilet. There is no cast of thousands to chase you with drinks or offers of jeep tours.

But the compensations are beautiful: Your bed will be a romantic 4-poster with gauzy netting all round. You will hear the surf clearly all day and all night. Your showers may be watered simultaneously by hot water and cool rain, and you'll be able to watch monkeys crossing over you while you wash. The staff is friendly and professional. The kitchen is possibly the best in town.

If you want insulated privacy, constant temperatures, a phone and TV in the room, or lots of staff attention, Milarepa isn't your place. But if you want that perfect romantic bungalow on the beach in a place staffed by real, good people, there aren't many places in the world that can touch this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pcornholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelguy046
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

I arrived at Milarepa excited for a week in Costa Rica. The hotel is quite picturesque with four bungalows sitting interspersed in the rain forest right on the beach. While the beach in front of the hotel is rocky and not suitable for swimming, you can walk in either direction for a couple hundred yards and come to some fantastic beaches (good for surfing or swimming). The restaurant and staff of the hotel are nice. The food was very impressive and the staff was always ready to help.

Everything was really quite good until you decided it was time to go to sleep. Oh what adventures lie in wait! First, the rooms have no AC (worth repeating, NO AC), so I was sweating the entire night, unable to sleep. Even if the temperature looks moderate (when checking online beforehand, as I did), the humidity prevents any comfortable sleeping. Second, frustrating as it was not to be able to sleep, it was probably good I was up to fight the insects attacking throughout the night. The bungalows are all open near the roof, so you cannot close out the bugs. Therefore, all manner of insects will be in your room during the night, from the standard mosquitoes and beetles, to the more rare tropical spiders (and even a bat in our case!).

In short, I would say if you really like adventure travel and want to feel like you are "luxury camping" in huts in the middle of the rain forest, you will probably love the place. If, however, you are looking for an upper, mid-range hotel with the typical amenities, I would definitely book elsewhere (great options exist on both sides of the Milirepa, check Blue Surf Sanctuary (mid-range) and Florblanca (luxury)).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelguy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#15 of 26 in Santa Teresa
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#7 of 26 in Santa Teresa
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Property: Milarepa
Address: Oceano Pacifico 101, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing