We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milarepa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milarepa
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

My wife and I recently returned from our honeymoon in Costa Rica and were thoroughly impressed with the country and accomodations in general with one excpetion; Milarepa. If you are a local chum of one of the staff or a rich tourist who likes to flash your money, I'm sure you will receive the attention you desire. If you are a normal traveller you will likely find the staff pretentious.

When we arrived, we checked out our room and found magazines left there by the previous occupants and a large hairball under the sink. The light outside our bungalow was also burnt out and was not replaced in the four days we were there, even though we informed the staff the first day. In another instance, a guide had left a message for us which we never received and thus missed the time change of our appointment.

The hotel's one saving grace was the excellent food. The resaurant was superb. However, it is open to the public so why not stay at a hotel with good service and simply make a trip to the Milarepa to eat?

Having travelled extensively in Europe, Asia, North America, and Oeceana, I can assure you that the value to price ratio of the Milarepa is far below standard.

  • Liked — The location and the food
  • Disliked — The service, the quality of the huts
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay if you don't like bugs.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bebacksoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2006

My 24-year old daughter and i just returned from a relaxing and memorable stay at the exquisite milarepa hotel. From our first view of the large bungalow with the heavy wooden doors open to the lovely surf until our departure five days later, we had a wonderful experience. The bungalows are spaced apart for absolute privacy and quiet and better to enjoy the sounds of nature abounding: howler monkeys, birds of all kinds, iguanas (alright, no sounds but fun to watch); they are decorated in lovely indonesian furniture with mosquito netting over the beds, large open bathrooms with a huge tilled shower open to the sky, and spacious patios. The young chef prepares fresh fish with lovely sides comparable to any asian-fusion restaurant, breakfasts are hearty burritos or egg scrambles with fresh fruit and absolutely delicious; i took a pot of freshly brewed coffee to my patio every morning to start the day. The owners are lovely and laid-back and the staff will arrange anything you want to do; we went on a fishing trip with a local and saw whales and dolphins up close, took surf lessons, rented a four wheeler to drive around town.

This is not a luxury property in the class of the four seasons hotel with the service and accomodation like every other four seasons around the world; rather it is an opportunity to enjoy a lovely authentic small hotel in a beautiful setting with luxury that is unique to costa rica and a refreshing change. We loved every minute of our experience at milarepa!

  • Liked — lovely open-air rooms on a gorgeous beach with amazing restaurant
  • Disliked — no fault with anything...it was close to perfect
  • Tips/Secrets — fly in and out of tambor/road travel is tough due to very poor road conditions
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassynwugrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

Just returned from a five day stay at Milarepa. The owner, Philippe, is French. The Milarepa offers four rustic, open-air cabins priced at $ 150 per night (low season). Insect repellent is a must-have. The best feature of this hotel is the restaurant which is above average. Dinner for two was about $70.

With exception of the cleaning crew, the hotel staff is comprised of American kids with little or no hotel experience. Your satisfaction is not their priority so If you are looking for service stay somewhere else.

Santa Teresa/Malpais is not a typical Costa Rica destination. As more foreigners invest in the area, Ticos are priced out of the market and move out. However, the perfect tropical beaches, the consistent breaks and great-looking girls make it a paradise for the many young surfers that have set up residence here.

Recommended for:
-honeymooners
-experienced surfers

Not recommended for:
-first time visitors to Costa Rica
-families with children
-middle-aged couples
-senior citizens

  • Liked — beach location
  • Disliked — poor service, some sewage problems, some ants in the room
  • Tips/Secrets — learn before you go
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crazy4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

Everywhere we stay is now measured next to Milarepa. The chic bungalows feel almost like a luxury camp with nature all around, the beach is magical and the fresh, simple food is truly spectacular. We also made the mistake of going to Flor whatever it's called next door and got a rude reminder of just how good Milarepa's food is. I'm an australian living in NYC so I know beautiful beaches and good food. Caroline has hit on the perfect combination. The open bungalows and showers will not suit people who want to be pampered in an air conditioned cocoon, but if you get it.. this is THE definition of tropical beach paradise.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pruebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

My family and I just returned from our second stay at Milarepa and found things better than ever. Milarepa has a Zen like quality that we wish we could just pack in our bags and bring back home. The open aired cabins offer just enough nature to remind you you´re in Costa Rica, while the mosquito nets fend off most crawling or flying pests that have been known to scare off us "gringos" in the jungle While we shall always carry fond memories of Caroline´s Provencal-Style French menu, especially her salad Nicoise, the new chef has nailed modern fusion cuisine. Blending local flavors with Asian-Latin classics. Restaurant Soma kept everyone from my 6 year old daughter to my gourmand husband happy. After one very unpleasant (and overpriced) excursion to the restaurant at Flor Blanca we never strayed again. By day my son and Husband enjoyed the excellent surf just down the beach, while my daughter and I explored the tide pools just in front of the hotel (low tide only) and played in the pool along side the owners children. The staff are not the type to sit waiting hand and foot but always happy to mix up a fresh fruit smoothie (or a damn good mojito).
I´m shocked to read that there are those that did not walk away with the same unforgetable experience that we´ve had, but I guess that just leaves more availabilty for those of us who´ll be returning again (and again).
Pura Vida!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

After reading the other travel advisories, I am positive that they have mistaken the Milarepa my wife and I visited with some devious imposter. Or maybe I´m just less high maintenence?
No televisions, no phones, no room service, no martini bar, no internet. To those of you that find these facts alarming, Milarepa is not the place for you. Though, nothing in life is without flaws, I found our vacation to be be everything I`d imagined and more. I did not encounter any afformentioned foul smells (unless you find the sea offensive) or any over abundance of insects (considering we were in the jungle). What I did find was beautiful white sand beaches, simple yet stylishly done cabinas, a very helpful but not overbearing staff, fresh and creative cuisine, relaxing massage and yoga, and exactly the peaceful and relaxing Costa Rican experience we were looking for. We´ll be back for sure.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2006

While Milarepa provides stunning views of the sunset from its vistas along the Malpais beach, the area around the somewhat decrepit pool and the restaurant is evidently in the midst of sewage seapage. The smell is so overpowering that it is difficult to have a drink when the breeze is blowing just right. The hotel's owners should address this problem immediately or shut its doors down.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#14 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Property: Milarepa
Address: Oceano Pacifico 101, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing