We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again...”
Review of Milarepa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milarepa
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
A TripAdvisor Member
“Would not stay here again...”
Reviewed March 13, 2006

We stayed at Milarepa for 4 nights and the first night we were totally disgusted with the place. There were ants EVERYWHERE. Not the little ants that are in the US…they were much bigger and they were on everything. On the mosquito netting, all over the floor in the main room, in the bathroom ,etc. It was way beyond the normal amount of ants you would expect to find. It made us feel totally uncomfortable. We completely understood that we were in Costa Rica and were staying in an open bungalow but this was too much. We stayed in other places while in CR and nothing compared to this. We asked the hotel and they sprayed for us the following day and it helped a tiny bit. Overall, I felt like Milareapa was different once you saw it in person compared with the pictures they have on the website. The website pictures seem a little more luxurious and cleaner. We felt mislead. I thought the bungalows (especially the bathroom) showed a little wear. The hotel staff wasn't very friendly or helpful. On our first day when we arrived there they said 1 sentence to us and handed us the keys and we were on our own. We expected more from them and were disappointed with what we got. They walked around with a little bit of an attitude which we didn’t appreciate. I wouldn’t stay at Milarepa again if I returned to Santa Teresa.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 7, 2005

I was there in May of 2005 for my honeymoon, and the resort was beautiful. The food at the restaurant was so damn good, and it was the best I got in Costa Rica. It's a good idea to bring some extra money jsut so you can eat here morning noon and night. The other food in town was alright depending where you go, but this leagues above it. It's a bit North of the town. A very long walk, but you probably will have a car if you made it all the way to Mal Pais/Santa Teresa.

However, before you book a trip here there are a few things that you should be aware of.

1) At least at the time of year I was there it was blazingly hot and humid. I realize that the hotel can't control the weather, but just be aware.

2) The beach has a steep pitch and there is a rock reef just below the tide line, so be careful when you swim. (The water is warm too, which is nice)

3) Bees tend to congregate around the fresh water tap, shower, and toilet in the outdoor bathroom. The grounds crew at the hotel will spray these areas for you if you report it, but if you allergic to stings, be wary.

4) While the room (cabana/hut/whatever) was very cool and simple, the mattress on the bed was very thin, and unsupportive and rested on the slats of the bedframe. This would be my biggest complaint against the hotel, and for the amount of money your are spending on the room I would expect a very comfortable bed. The bed in the $20/night roach motel I staye in in Las Juntas was more comfortable.

5) Mal Pais-Santa Teresa is overrun with Americans. This is good or bad depending on your point of view, but for my trip, coming from Southern California, the last thing I wanted to experience in Costa Rica was a town full of Southern Californians.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC/CT
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2005

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Milarepa. We found the hotel to be just what we were looking for: stylish, romantic, friendly, reasonably priced with yummy food, all situated on perhaps the most beautiful beach I have ever seen.

Room
There are only 4 bungalows. Each is well distanced from the other and is open to the elements. No AC or screens, but there is a romantic mosquito net over the four poster bed. (We did not see a single mosquito during our entire stay). The bathrooms were the best part of the room for us. The huge shower is open to the sky and the trees above (the sink are and toilet are covered. The furniture is all unique asian style and there was plenty of room in our bungalow.

Pool & Beach
The pool was on the small side, but there was never anyone else in it, even though the hotel was fully booked. Great view of the ocean from the pool, and most importantly the staff was always ready to serve us drinks poolside.

Food & Bar
Amazing, fresh, creative food prepared by a surfer chef from California. The restaurant prices would be considered expensive in Costa Rica, but we found the food to be on par with NY restaurants, for half the price.

Comments
This is a very small hotel and the experience is more like staying at a friends hip beach house. So don't expect traditional hotel amenities, like room phone, tv etc.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cruisinred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 21, 2005

Beautiful place, very romantic and secluded. The staff was excellent very helpful and kind. We made many friends here I would reccomend it to anyone. The food is very good too try the white bean salad I still think about it. This place is a little ways from the town but manageable. The Flor Blanca Hotel is next door so late night drinks or munchies isn't a problem. The Bamboo cabanas are tastefully decorated Indonesian style with mesquito nets and comfy beds. It's perfect for couples.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 21, 2005

BEWARE!!. this place is located in a remote part of town and the whole place smells of sewage.

the grounds are run down and the construction was non-stop.

also the hostess was extremely rude. she made us feel like she was doing us a favor by letting us stay there.

additionally the guests were mostly her friends.. euro-trash, and were laughing at some of the other guests by the pool.

it was so uncomfortable for a town that's laid back and friendly.
if you just want to relax and eat well and be treated with a warm welcome do not stay here.

save your money!!!

Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Property: Milarepa
Address: Oceano Pacifico 101, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing