We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to get away and unwind!”
Review of Milarepa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milarepa
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“What a great place to get away and unwind!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We booked a package trip to Cost Rica and spent 5 days and 4 nights at Milarepa. We had not idea what the hotel would be like but once we got there we fell in love. With only 4 bungalows you feel like a VIP. The bungalows are very nice, the open bathroom and canopy bed were quite special. We were just feet from the beach, going to sleep and waking up with the sound of the waves is something we will never forget. We are not used to humidity so the open air bungalow was a little warm, but the fan does help.

The staff was great, Linus, Maria and Eric were very friendly and the daily menus are great. We loved sushi night and the mojitos! The beaches are great and surfing was not far away. The hammocks and pool were also very nice. The staff is there to help arrange anything you need, we enjoyed the zip lines, surfing, massages, local restaurants and shopping. It is a special place.

I have traveled the world and usually say "been there done that", but Milarepa is a place I would like to return to someday. It was a great place to really unwind, forget about TV, cell phones and traffic...Pura Vida!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Closer to the beach the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and I recently spent a week at Milarepa in Santa Teresa. The location is beautiful with plenty of deserted beaches to wander along. The hotel itself was very relaxing and the breakfasts were amazing. The bungalow we stayed in had great views of the beach. The best thing about this place are the friendly and helpful staff. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable and helped with anything from surf lessons to restaurant reservations. If you are looking for a relaxing break then I would recommend a stay at Milarepa.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We loved this property and our stay, but felt it was a little pricey for the overall value. The bungalows are beautiful and the location is great, but everthing is very simple and there are not a lot of ammenities for the price. The bungalow cannot be completely closed off so you hear all the noises of the ocean and outdoor life which makes for a great experience, but this property is not for everyone. It is a great way to experience Costa Rica if you are an outdoors person who doesn't mind the noises and simplicity. We did throroughly enjoy our stay and would definitely visit again! I highly recommend the breakfast at the restaurant and the special sushi night was delicious as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coriitaly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We spent 6 nights at Mileripa and found it to be the perfect get away to a tropical paradise. Suited for quiet cloistering with every meal there, great beaches, a walk to town or just sitting on your veranda. Or a helpful and charming staff will set up tours and help with activities. Eric cooked wonderful meals that were locally sourced, every one of the staff were warm and helpful. The no airconditioning, outdoor bathroom and sleeping in a fabulous teak bed draped with mosquito netting were pluses for us as we wanted a natural retreat. The overhead fan kept us cool at night, was surprised that there were no mosquitos to be seen or heard (but did get a couple of bites when dining late). Huge thanks to all there as we unplugged, recharged and rebooted. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendelmeldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milarepahotel, Owner at Milarepa, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thanks so much for truly understanding the experience we strive to provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We didn't stay at Milarepa but we were urged to go to Sushi night at Milarepa for dinner. Honestly, best sushi I have had in a long time! It was fresh and well presented! I will let my pics do the talking!

We also went there for New Year's Eve dinner and it was average... I thought it was going to be over the top like their sushi night but the chef missed the "bar" in terms of taste for his NYE menu.

The service is really friendly and attentive + the outdoor dining experience is really fun and romantic!

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank CelinaOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I have been fortunate enough to visit Costa Rica for 11 years, some 37 trips, I have surfed or driven to just about every beach area, some without even a hotel, with the exception of Pavones/Zancudo in the Osa area near Panama.

My wife and I and inspected all 5 places on the beach in Santa Teresa, and budget was a issue of under $250, as we just wanted privacy and no frills, great beach views and to hear the surf. This boutique hotel was one the best values, and best feeling properties in the entire country, and ranks up there with Thailand and Burma for a tropical setting but with the luxuries of modern touches. The outdoor showers are the bomb, and the beds are comfy and romantic. Te bungelows only number 3, and have nice verandas with chez lounges to chill. The cafe is top notch and the cuisine as good as anywhere in CR.

Lastly, the location is superb, as its next door to Blancaflor spa, and Latitude 10, both stunning properties and top of the hill for CR, we used the Spa for massages and had dinner, a good value as well, a great wine list.

If you want rustic Tico charm, boutique chic setting, privacy and a surf break 1/4 mile walk down the desolate beach, this is it. The owners have the formula right on, and fact its further from Mal Pais then all the others, is a good thing, the road and distance filters out the whiners, complainers and typical tourist that are best to stay in town.

I travel 150 days a year for work, in 4-5 star, and 8 weeks a year for leisure,I prefer cabinas/lodges and boutique settings, some luxury, and one thing I avoid, is resorts, paved driveways, rooms with a tele or TV, and even no AC, in the tropics, the nature is my entertainment...(they have free Wifi for those us that have to work on vacation)

If only more properties were like this in CR and the world, we will be back in Feb 2010.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our honeymoon at the Milarepa. We arrived after a long, hot day of travel to the hotel. The staff asked for payment up front before even showing us our room. We we a bit put off by that but as the oecan front villa was not occupied, the owner upgraded us for our entire stay which was a lovely gesture. This lodging is very simple, not alot of extras , but the staff is very knowladgable of the area with lots of information on where to go and what to see. The food is wonderful, but compared to surrounding local resturant prices, the food at Milarepa is pricey and the wait staff is also the front desk staff who know very little about resturant etiquitte. We failed to see the value in dinning there. What they lack in experience, they make up for in niceness. We are very happy and would stay there again. Althuogh it would make more value sense to us if it were a less expensive, or offered a few more basic ammenities (breakfast included, computer/internet service, complementary coffee, in-room refrigerator, telephone access ). It is the best location on the beach with private bungalows, clean rooms, great coffee and an owner who was receptive to hearing our concerns and addressing them. If you're looking for a beautiful beach spot and don't need alot else. This is the place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travhound2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.0 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#9 of 26 in Santa Teresa
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milarepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milarepa

Property: Milarepa
Address: Oceano Pacifico 101, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milarepa is located on beautiful beachfront property at the Northern End of Santa Teresa. Our 4 open air cabinas and restaurant are surrounded by tropical foliage. Our resident howler monkey's can be found in the mango trees above your cabina on any given day and the sounds and vibrations of the Pacific will rock you to bed at night. At low tide there are gorgeous natural tide pools located just in front of the properties and the sunsets are unforgettable daily event. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milarepa Hotel Santa Teresa
Milarepa Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing