We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Florblanca Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Florblanca Resort
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This property offers the open-air/natural/laid back feel that travelers are expecting in Costa Rica, combined with relaxed luxury and pampering by the staff. Excellent service from check-in to departure. A great setting on a fabulous beach. Delicious food. Wonderful bar. Many local activities (hiking, zip-lining, surfing, etc) are available and are easy to book through Florblanca. I will definitely return and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great experience in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retreat2wellness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorblancaManager, General Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We are delighted to hear Florblanca exceeded your expectations. That is our goal with every guest who visits us. Making the entire experience from reservation to check in to departure smooth is important to us and we are so happy you had this experience. We do understand that travel logistics can be complicated. And, you are correct that Santa Teresa beach is truly fabulous, and one of the best parts of staying here.

Thanks so much for recommending us to your friends, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Gracias and Pura Vida,

Cody Dillon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    34
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
165
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My fiancé and I have stayed at Florblanca last year and because of the great staff, beautiful villas, and romantic settings. Florblanca is nestled on a private beach with beautiful surroundings. The staff at florblanca is amazing they take time to find out exactly what you want and need from them and they make it happen. Veronica the Reservations Manager made sure our stay was a memorable one and Fernando the bartender is the best!!! The Villas are amazingly beautiful and spacious and quiet. This was our second trip to florblanca and my boyfriend popped the question over the weekend and we are planning to have our wedding there next year. Florblanca has turned into "our" spot and we can't imagine vacationing anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjjones32t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We just returned from an incredibly vacation with our two children, ages 12 and 14, at Florblanca. The hotel - more like a boutique resort - is beautifully situated on the beach, off the main dirt road, about 2 km south of Playa Hermosa. We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa,which was set in the jungle trees with partial views of the ocean and plenty of sights and sounds of howler monkeys every morning. The huge vase of tropical fresh flowers in the living room space made us smile every morning. Both bedrooms are air conditioned which is a huge plus since it is very warm there. Now to the staff: UNBELIEVABLE!!! From the concierge staff to all the Nectar restaurant staff - we felt so fortunate to meet everyone and be taking care of by so many wonderful and professional people. Professional - but warm and fun, giving us all kinds of advice on what to do (or not do do) where to eat, where and when to surf, and how to make great fruit smoothies. They were just terrific. We took a few yoga and pilates classes as well, both of which were fantastic, not to mention the open air setting overlooking the ocean. And yes, I agree with one of the previous reviewers about doing a 6 month training program prior to arrival! The whole town seems to revolve around healthy living in general, and more specifically surfing, yoga and pilates. Everybody is beautiful, but in a very natural way. We would return to Florblanca tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Florblanca resort is one of the most unique resorts I have ever had the fortune to stay at. The property itself is beautiful - lush, quiet, and romantic. It is obvious that management has thought about what guests enjoy and have made those things available to those who come. The villas themselves are amazing. Spacious, clean - one of a kind accommodations. The restaurant for us was great - something on the menu for everyone. There were many things we asked for that were not on the menu and the staff/chef were happy to accommodate us. The food could not have been fresher. Menu choices were healthy and portions were more than sufficient. We loved the staff - especially Oscar - who always had a smile on his face, both of the Fernandos (one of whom could make a killer martini), and Lupe - the beautiful young woman who was like a ray of sunshine. The spa was awesome - great jacuzzi; would highly recommend the couples massage for 2 with champagne! We did not come across any problems with bugs or ants whatsoever - did see what we hoped - many monkeys on the property, iguanas, there was a house cat (or thinks it is) and the occasional visiting dog. The town of Santa Teresa is unique and quirky. If you are there for at least a few days, you will find the neat little spots and meet many great people. Right now, there are not many tourists so it still has that unpolished feel and look....which is hard to find. We would go back in a heartbeat.....as it really did exceed our expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for a layout / map of the resort and choose a room that appeals to you. The resort is not loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starfish2731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you are thinking about a trip to Santa Teresa and the Florblanca you might be well advised to invest in a 6 month training program... it seems like everyone in this amazing little town and awesome resort are fit, svelte, lithe and beautiful. Or maybe it was just the exquisite surroundings that made everyone look that way...

One of the best vacations ever - made possible by the amazing staff at the Florblanca!

Room Tip: Close to the beach is the prime location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorblancaManager, General Manager at Florblanca Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We appreciate very much your review, and thank you for complimenting our staff. We do have a wonderful group of people who take pride ins serving those who journey to visit us.

You are right that Santa Teresa is full of "fit" locals. Just as the lifestyle in our area offers many ways to stay healthy, we do so as well at the hotel. With surfing, Pilates, yoga, mountain biking, SUP and more, Florblanca is a good place to come and focus on wellness and fitness.

Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again someday. Until then....all our best.

Pura Vida,
Cody Dillon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

On our honeymoon, we stayed 3 nights in the honeymoon house. Santa Teresa is a little out of the way to get to but it's worth it. The seclusion and the property were wonderful. The honeymoon house has it's own private beach area which was nice. Plus it's located about 100 yards from the water. Incredible to hear the waves all day/night.

The bed sheets were softer than soft. Slept great. The open air downstairs was huge and you could see the ocean. The hammock downstairs rocked!

The restaurant was good but not too much variety. The staff was great. The bartender, Trish, was the best!

I would definitely recommend the spa. One of the best massages we have had.

My wife wasn't a fan of the outdoor shower/bathroom or the amount of bugs. Our water heater broke, but to the resort's credit, it was fixed within 24 hours and they offered us to shower at another villa or at the spa. The kitchen had quite a few ants, but we didn't use it anyway. I didn't mind so much. I think those aspects have to be weighed against the setting. You are in the middle of a lush forest less than 100 yards from the Pacific ocean in a secluded part of Costa Rica. I think the latter outweighs the former.

Room Tip: Honeymoon house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We did not have original plans to stay at these villas, but after arriving too our original destination and being highly disappointed Cindy welcomed us and helped our wonderful honeymoon to continue. We were welcomed with complimentary champagne.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njones1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa
0.1 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#14 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#10 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florblanca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florblanca Resort

Property: Florblanca Resort
Address: 4 KM North of Franks Place | Cobano, Santa Teresa 65771, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Florblanca Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodations offer complete privacy and luxury surrounded by beautiful gardens and views of the Pacific Ocean. All villas are only steps away from the surf, open -air dining, our new Spa Bambu, fitness center, a yoga and Pilates studio, and other amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Florblanca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florblanca Hotel Santa Teresa
Florblanca Resort Santa Teresa
Florblanca Resort Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing