We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot for surfers, yoga and just chillin out!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
So. Cal.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for surfers, yoga and just chillin out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2006

We found this hotel and our little bungalow to be the paradise we wanted in Mal Pais/Santa Teresa. We did morning yoga, walked on the beach, read all day in the hammok and had WONDERFUL massages in the massage teaky hunt on the sand while the sea breeze and sounds overtook us. This place is indeed rustic, but we had no problems and found peace and quite (aside form the early morning howler of the Howler Monkies that run wild with the many other great animals all over the grounds. The animals and flowers made us feels we were in a jungle paradise on the beach.

It is cash onlly. I think there is an internet scam online with the reservations as I tried to email someone other than the hotel who was taking reservations and finally called the hotel directly and had no problems. Check their website and just call them. They speak perfect english.

Note nowhere in costa rica can you flush toilet paper down the toilet. Maybe the other reviewer did that and that was the cause of his septic troubles. ALL over the country you have to put your used TP in the trashcan by the bowl. Rustic but it is that way throughout the country.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MBHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    131
    41
    20
    16
See reviews for
132
195
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Tropico Latino for a week, and it was absolute paradise. It may be more expensive than other hotels, but in my opinion it is worth every dime. We walked around and looked at the other hotels, and I can't tell you how happy I am that I picked the Tropico Latino. A lot of the other places look very different from their pictures online! Tropico is the best, and the owners really know what the word hospitality means. The entire staff is very friendly. The rooms are quaint and clean. The grounds are well kept and breath taking. The location is the absolute best. You couldn't ask for anything more. I loved the food in the resturaunt, and the prices were very reasonable. Also, the receptionist is more than happy to hook you up with any type of trip or adventure, even surfing lessons (ask for Martianis, he works at night at the hotel and he teaches surfing during the day....he is the BEST!). We also tried the snorkling @ Tortuga island, it was a great way to spend the day. I would also suggest bringing lots of cash or travelers cheques, because the hotel does not take credit cards and there isn't an ATM anywhere. The hotel does provide a lock box in each room to help you keep your money safe. Santa Teresa is the ultimate spot for surfing and hanging out on the beach. THERE ISN'T MUCH ELSE TO DO HERE! Like I said, heaven on earth.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lilsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2006

We recently stayed at the Tropico Latino for five nights. The hotel was wonderful, the restaurant was probably the best in the area, and the rooms were clean and charming. The only negative thing I would have to say is our last night there (we extended our stay by one night) we stayed in one of the rooms near the road..there was a lot of noise there, from the road, and there was definitely a smell from the septic system. BUT, the rest of our nights were wonderful (I would just avoid the cabins near the road). The beach is pristine and the hotel has set up some lovely sitting areas to watch the sunset with driftwood tables with adirondack style chairs and hammocks suspended between the palm trees, truly one of the loveliest spots on the beach. Their gardens are absolutely beautiful, and the pool is definitely a welcome oasis when the Pacific turns a bit too challenging for the average swimmer. It was really a very realxing stopover during our trip through Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahon93rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2006

The rooms are very large and appear well kept, although they seem about 20 years older than they actually are. Hot water in the rooms is spotty, if at all.

The restaurant is excellent, although we discovered that prices for the specials are almost double that of menu items.

We had SERIOUS problems with he management when it came to reservations. FIRST, they overbooked for our entire stay. Our group reserved all 11 units and they sold 12. Fortunately a young couple was willing to give up their privacy and room with two single men.

SECOND, they denied having received a deposit for one room--backed down when shown proof. THIRD, they apparently misread our reservations and wanted to charge us for an 8th night to offset their supposedly lost revenue. Again, they backed down after some of us complained. FOURTH, they rented two of our 11 rooms out from under us for the last night of our stay--in one case notifying the guests in our party a couple hours before check-out time. Fortunately, other members of our party were able to accommodate them for the one night.

Needless to say, the managers prevented us from having a wonderful experience at an adequate (by U.S. standards) resort. If you choose this place, BE VERY SPECIFIC and insistant with Juan and Margot, the managers.

Helpful?
7 Thank Kurtklas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2005

The Beach was perfect.The food was incredible and at a good price.The room was very dark and had no fridge.The bathroom had more bugs than I desired,but what do you expect when your in a bungolow.If your driving from Guanacaste good luck.It took us nine hours to Mal Pais and had to cross at least seven rivers and the worst roads I ve ever seen.Also,Tropico Latino does not take credit cards.Bring lot's of cash.All in all it was nice and quit and a well relaxed two days.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2005

My wife and I visited Tropico Latino--April 1st,2004 which is the tail end of the peak season. I happened to catch the best surfing of the year. My wife was only interested in working on her novel and relaxing. The setting was perfect for both.

Mal Pais is a 5-6 hour car drive from San Jose. It's an effort to get to Santa Teresa/Mal Pais driving along single lane, pot-holed roads, while avoiding oncoming traffic. Mal Pais is a very bohemian location. If your looking for a resort mecca, or tourist destination this is definitely not it. It's a sleepy, tiny little fishing village at the end of the road.

There's an abundance of wildlife such as monkeys, iguana's, bird's, and bats. Tropico Latino is a thatched hut paradise. The first couple of night we stayed at the far end of the resort. The room was very hot, and not to attractive. We got our chance to take the beach front cabin ($80/night) that overlooked the beach which was 100 ft away. It felt like the ocean was right out your front door. There's incredible surfing right out front of the resort.

Dining at the resort was incredible. The owner is also the chef. It's Italian Cuisine based on the local fare of fresh fish, fruits, and vegitables. Great Chilean wine is very cheap and is usually house wine. The pool is right next to the ocean. When we were there the average temperature at noon was over 90 degrees C.

There's also many great places to eat in town.

Check out: --------

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2005

Definitely the only accomodation like it in Santa Teresa, you are steps to one of the finest surf breaks the southern penninsula has to offer. The prices are also the highest 100-125$ a night. The rooms are what you would expect, not that much, air conditioning and hot water, clean spacious, nothing fancy at all. Pool is clean and right on the ocean, restaurant is excellent. Only suggestion would be to bring lots of cash, they don't take any credit cards, and cash is difficult to come by, one atm for miles, that only occasionally works. Only come here for serious relaxing and surfing, NOTHING else to do, but I LOVE it and will keep going back.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.0 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#10 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Esencia Hotel & Villas
Esencia Hotel & Villas
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing