We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis for a relaxing getaway in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis for a relaxing getaway in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place is the epitome of what my beloved Costa Rica is all about~ from it's raw beauty, to it superb service, amazing cuisine, phenomenal hospitality, excellent customer service, amazing beachfront venue, incredible spa and yoga.Both the manager of the hotel, Roberto and the Chef at the restaurant, Randy, were amazing hosts. I travel a lot for work and love to rest and eat well, and I must say that both things were finely met!! I could go on and on, but I guess one phrase encompasses it all... Very "Pura Vida" !! I will be coming back for more!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    134
    42
    20
    16
See reviews for
137
198
39
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel was chosen for us as part of surf/yoga retreat that I went on with friends (Pura Vida Adventures). The staff, food, service, location, views, etc were all wonderful. The rooms were simple but clean and nice. The rooms seemed a bit more "worn in" than the representation in the website photos. But overall, the place was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aewalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful stay. We were here seven days and loved it. Right on the Pacific beach, surrounded by surfers and had a chic, beach-bum vibe. The villas were simple, yet well done. We shared a two-bedroom bungalow with another couple we travelled with and it had a large bathroom and kitchen. The grocery out the gate supplied us with all we needed to cook during the week. Some really fine restaurants were all within walking distance and we but a cab ride from zip-lining and a great day fishing trip. The staff was great--friendly and all spoke English and accepted my passable Spanish. The pool was clean and housekeeping came every day with fresh towels and flipped the beds. Word of advice: keep the windows closed and the AC on at all times.go outside for the breeze, but keep the Mosquitos outside by closing the windows. The food in the restaurant is ... okay. Habañeros just down the beach is fantastic. As is an Argentinian chicken joint. The hotel has yoga, a spa, massage and lots of comfy beach chairs. I'd go back in a minute. Reasonably priced as well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DocMacNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was my first trip to Santa Teresa, or even Costa Rica for that matter. My boyfriend has been a couple of times and actually stayed at the house to the south of Tropico Latino with his family. It was a great first experience in Central America for me and I truly fell in love with Santa Teresa. Tropico Latino was a safe, comfortable and convenient place to stay. Just a couple yards from a super market and 5 minutes walk from great restaurants, bakery's and surf shops. To be honest, you wouldn't really need to leave the resort at all! With an amazing restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and amazing cocktails, and with help from Evelyn at the front desk, you can book ATV's, canopy tours and surf lessons. We stayed for 8 nights and I did a yoga package, which the resort was kind enough to use at my leisure over the 8 days. The pool was a nice addition, as it was quiet most of the time, and the beach was breath taking as well. With hammocks and many chairs to choose from, it was a great place to sip mojitos while watching the amazing sunsets night after night. If you do choose a yoga package with food included, keep receipts as the staff lost count of our meals so it was a great way to show what we had left towards the end of our trip. All in all, Tropico Latino was perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in both room 4 (Garden Bungalow) and 7 (Beach Front Bungalow) and they were both perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellebee_787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I chose Tropico Latino for our honeymoon destination and were not disappointed. The location is beautiful, the beach is not too rocky, the service is fantastic and everyone always had a smile for us. We got a beach bungalow and it was so private and relaxing. There are plenty of things to do in the immediate and surrounding areas. We did a day trip to Tortuga Island and another to Montezuma to see the falls. The food at Tropico Latino is a bit pricey but very good and worth trying at least once. We can't wait to go back someday!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megtavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Cabin #7 at the beginning of February for 5 nights. We were quite happy with this location. The bungalow is very close to the Beach, not right on the beach but no issue for us as it was a very short walk .The Tropico Latino's beachfront is relaxing with chairs, lounges and hammocks available although not numerous. Nonetheless, my wife and I always found something to sit on, that someone had not claimed as their very own personal piece furniture lol. There is a good option of shade and sun in the hotel area of the beach. The beach is great, especially for surfing or boogie boarding but still good for anyone even if you want to wade near shore. Costa Rica has us spoiled to the point where we want waves rather than calm waters.(Calm is boring :)) If you are an experienced or beginning surfer, this is an amazing place to come!

The sunset is awesome whether from the hotel, a walk down the beach or from one of the close restaurants that have direct beach access with sunset views. We miss the sunset already *sigh*.

The location of the hotel within Santa Teresa is great, close to many restaurants and shops. We would say the location is rather central to the town. The town aspect for tourists is really one road that runs north/south with hotels shops and restaurants on each side. We liked the area, not too crowed, not too quiet.. less touristy than Tamarindo or the Manuel Antonio. Although we like those areas as well for different reasons!

We felt safe in ST overall but avoided the Beach at night. It is a very simple precaution to take yet some believe they can bypass the common sense aspect of this unwritten rule of not walking on the Beach after sunset. We were out walking at night but on the road where there are people around. We never had any issues. Just bring flashlights and you are good to go.

Santa Teresa was the latest stop in our travels across this beautiful country. We were certainly glad we experienced the area and were completely satisfied with the hotel. We would definitely come back here for a beach, laid back, surfing/boogie boarding, good eats vacation. Also we want to mention that Evelyn who works the office, is very good to deal with and fully understands what strong customer service is all about.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2014 as part of a yoga retreat. We had a wonderful time- the staff was friendly and helpful, the cabinas were clean and spacious, the food was amazing and pool and beach area were favorites for our 8 year old. We had cabina #5 and it was perfect for a family and well situated on the grounds. The yoga deck overlooked the beach and was one of complete inspiration. An amazing place to watch the sunset. The only negative was the air conditioner was awfully loud and squeaky but after a day of yoga, surfing and zip lining we were exhausted and fell right to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SML-Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#12 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing