We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and bungalows.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tropico Latino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
“Excellent location and bungalows.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent location and bungalows. All the employees work to ensure that we have a pleasent stay. I would definitively recomend it. We were in bungalow # 1 that is the farest away of the beach but is only 50 meters.

Be advise that you can only pay in cash or transfer, not credit card. Santa Teresa is still a "virgin" place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebastian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    116
    38
    19
    16
See reviews for
105
153
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had Christmas Dinner 2012 here.
The portions were very very small. Had Steak with Mashed and salad and a Fish dish with salad.
The steak was very nice and had a nice sauce, the fish was a little over cooked (better places in Mal Pais/Saba Teresa for fish)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLaFlamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Staff was great, yoga class was a highlight of the stay, thank you Daniel! We enjoyed being close to the beach and a quick walk to any restaurants. The only downside to the room was that we were close to another room and could hear through the walls.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Santa teresa, on the beach, simply but nicely decorated and in very good order, it is extremely peaceful and quite, and we loved the fact that it was on the beach, close to a lovely beach bar full of young surfers, baby surfers and yummy mummies! the pool is also gorgeous, and if the waters of mal pais are a bit to rough for you (or your kids) it gives you a break and it offers you a good swim!
The only thing that could be improved is the food at the restaurant! The staff is very nice but food is not great, not bad either but just mediocre. However breakfast on the beach was extremely nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenedettaSita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Santa Teresa is a surf town, first and foremost. Hotel Tropico Latino is probably the most upscale hotel around, with a nicely maintained property, adequately secluded from the surrounding craziness (which, as it turns out, I happen to enjoy, but, just a heads-up that this place is NOT typical, and the "town" is not much more than a one-lane (really bad) road with cheap restaurants, hostels, campgrounds and surf shops). Don't plan to come here to hang with rich ex-pats who like to play golf. BUT - if surfing is your thing, and you want a little pampering (i.e., a nice place to stay), I can highly recommend Tropico Latino. The staff is great, and the ambiance is chill and accommodating. The restaurant and bar staff are a lot of fun, but you'll have to ask them to speak Spanish if you want to practice, because they all want to practice ENGLISH. The food is only ok, though. Beautiful presentations, but the food is fussy, not well cooked, and too contrived. We got better fish at Basta Pasta, up the road. The cook there knows when to stop cooking a good piece of fish. Not so much at Shambala.

We'll definitely go back, but will eat dinner elsewhere.

Oh yeah - this place isn't easy to get to - be sure to take the ferry (we didn't), but even with that, you still have 10k of gut-busting dirt road to negotiate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mortirolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Lake, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week over New Years. The New Years party summed it up for us. There was a drum band (very high energy) which played on the beach around a huge bon fire. People were dancing like mad and running around the bon fire. Very primal and super fun. Ok, so the hotel. The resort is real nice, not super fancy and not over the top, making it very comfortable. We stayed in the garden view two bedroom house which was real close to the beach but I'd say if you can get the beach front house do it. The resort is obviously on the beach side of the road and all the houses/rooms are seconds from the beach. The security was exceptional. The bar drinks were great, the restaurant food was alright. There is so much good food in this area that you really don't need to eat at the resort. The location is pretty much in the heart of the town but believe me you don't feel like it. The resort is very quite and the general vibe from others staying here was friendly and really mellow. I would recommend this place to my friends, parents and anyone looking to have a very relaxing experience. Don't expect anything excessively lavish but it is really nice. Do I even need to mention that the beach, water and waves are incredible here? World class beach, like I said, just seconds from each room here.

Room Tip: Tip for a room, the closer to the beach the better but you can't go wrong with any of them. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thermos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was my first time in Santa Teresa, apart from the beauty of the beach and nature, the experience in Tropico Latino was way much better than expected. Beautiful vegetation surrounding the Hotel, nice swimming pool, few steps from the beach, remarkable customer service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabs_cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#9 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#11 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#18 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#8 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing