We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Natural Paradise... would DEFINITELY stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Latino
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Natural Paradise... would DEFINITELY stay here again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

I was really scared off after reading the reviews on this website after booking a beachfront room for three nights earlier this month. I ended up cancelling our reservation except for the first night, which we had already paid for... To my surprise based on the reviews of this site, we arrived at a beautiful tropical resort with spacious rooms, a great safe, and a beautiful stone bathroom. We were so happy with the place that we tried to see if we could stay another two nights (as previously planned), but the room was already booked. We switched rooms to a garden front one which included a price drop, and were pleasantly surprised again!

We didn't even have to leave our front porch to see a troupe of howler monkeys, iguanas, squirells, and numerous butterflies. And during my entire stay in Costa Rica and MalPais, I didn't see one "flying cockroach". Keep in mind that in all tropical environments, the airconditioning and humidity and going to smell / feel different than at home, depending on where you live.This place is beautiful and I would recommend it.

The restaurant is amazing and the food and presentation is very gourmet for the price.

  • Liked — The location, the food, and the stone bathrooms.
  • Disliked — The drive to Mal Pais
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank astarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    134
    42
    20
    16
See reviews for
137
198
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, UT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

I am sad to read the other awful reviews of this property, we thought it was EXCELLENT! Truly a special place. We arrived in the afternoon and our rooms were still being cleaned, but no big deal we decided to have lunch at the restaurant. The food and service in the restaurant was wonderful. In fact the entire hotel staff was really great, so friendly and helpful, from the front desk staff, to the manager, to the gardener and the maids. We stayed in Bungalow 4 and our friends were next door in Bungalow 5. The room was clean and spacious. There was a sign in the bathroom that said not to flush any TP down, so maybe some of the previous postings that mentioned toilet problems were due to prior guests flushing too much down. The showers were really neat and we had plenty of hot water. The hotel pool was really pretty, the beachfront location was outstanding, and those hammocks were perfect for a siesta. We booked a canopy tour through the hotel front desk and it was incredible. We had a fun time and the staff at the canopy tour was awesome. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We all really enjoyed ourselves and were very sad to leave. We will definitely be back some day!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ardie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

First the Bad -
We stayed in the 2 bedroom bungelow, and it was not a pleasant experience. The main problem is that it wasn't clean - dirty toilet tissue scattered in the driveway, left over food from the previous guest in the refridgerator, and I am not sure when the shower was last cleaned. The bed in the MB squeaked every time you turned over. In addition, the location on the property leaves much to be desired with bars on the windows, etc. that would be more typical of a local property.
Now the Good -
The restaurant is very good and the pool was clean. The air conditioner worked well.
We checked out early. At first the owner wanted to charge us, but then understood when we explained the situation - dirty! He seemed to have heard it before - and said that the maid for this unit and 2 others was not doing her job.
We will return to the Santa Teresa / Mal Pais area - but not to Tropico Latino.

  • Liked — The restaurant.
  • Disliked — The room and surrounding area was not clean.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liketovacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
My name is Roberto de la Ossa, I'm the new manager of the hotel. I believe I dis not work here when you stayed at our hotel but I wanted to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to list the good and the bad. When we receive feedback in this manner its great because it keeps us honest with the improvement opportunities but it also lets us know what we are doing well and need to keep doing.

I also wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that the issues you listed have been corrected.

- We now have a cleaning supervisor that not only ensures our cleaning staff is doing their job but also runs a a very meticulous check list for every room of the hotel on a daily and weekly manner. The list makes sure the showers, toilets, closets, beds, and every hard to reach area of the room is clean. Cleanliness is a basic and I'm quite confident that if you return you will have a different perception.

- We now provide a minibar service with brand new fridges in every room which are constantly supplied and supervised. You will not find leftovers anymore, this has been corrected by our procedures.

- The beds have been tightend to not have the squeak you mentioned and we have purchased brand new mattresses and bed linens of 300 threads for your comfort. Its now a delight to sleep in these beds.

- The rooms have been recently painted and we have acquired new artwork for the walls that give it a much better look.

On the good side, I'm happy you enjoyed the pool and the AC.

The hotel is very different now and I would like to offer you two complementary nights for you to actually see the changes. My email is rdelaossa@hoteltropicolatino.com, please let me know if you would like enjoy this offer.

Bad reviews can really hurt our business, I would love to have the opportunity to demonstrate what a nice hotel this is now.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2007

We had reserved a Garden Bungalow for $85/night for the nights of 4/9
thru 4/12. Upon arrival, we were offered an Ocean Front room #12 for the first 3 nights. We agreed to stay in room #12 ($140/night) for 3 nights and move to the Garden Bungalow room #10 we had already reserved for the last night.

It was dark when we arrived. We were hungry and tired from the 5 hour
drive from Liberia, so we didn't complain to mgmt that the toilet was
not flushing properly and constantly gurgling.

Each day at 6:30am, we woke up to the sounds of the family living above room #12 (the singing mother, "Daddy", a toddler, an infant, and a large dog) walking around, talking, crying, and/or singing.

We were without power from 7:30am-11am the first day. Apparently, this was a scheduled power outage that mgmt didn't bother to mention to us.

One day, we booked a horseback ride through the on-site tour company.
Our $60/person tour was supposed to take us on a ride through the jungle, zip lines, a waterfall, and a snack. Instead, we rode down a dirt rode, alongside a highway, through a pasture w/a wild horse bucking at the horses in our group, and a 50 step walk down a hillside to a small waterfall. The snack during the 4 hour tour was 2 slices of pineapple and 2 cookies. It was just like being on a farm
in Wisconsin! We complained to the tour company. They agreed that we did not get the tour we paid for, but they didn't give back any of our money.

The final night of our stay, we were sent to room #5 @ $120 instead of the room we reserved (#10 for $85). There were only 2 of us, but they put us in a room with 2 king beds and 1 twin bed. The room was dark, and it was dirty (candy, food, dead bugs, on the floor bad smell). There was no hot water in the room that night or the next day.

Avoid staying at this hotel. Avoid the tour company that operates out
of the hotel's reception office.

I have only 2 good things to say about our stay at Hotel Tropico Latino - the staff in the restaurant was great as was the masseuse.

  • Liked — restaurant staff
  • Disliked — the owner
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fancywt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

Our stay here was terrible. At $160 a night we felt ripped off.
We booked a beach front bungalow and were given a room attached to a house when we arrived (room 12).

We were disgusted by the mold and mildew in the room, holes in the floor, and creatures/rodents crawling in the floor. There was no safe in the room and the windows and door had locks that did not add any sense of security either. The path way to the room was unlighted and dangerous to navigate at night. We were bleased with a view of concrete pipe and a tent infront of our room.

To add to this there was a FAMILY living in the rest of the house and their bedroom was directly above our room. Between hearing every step up and down the stairs the crying baby kept us up almost all night and awakened us at 4am.

We complained to the owner/manager and asked that our room be changed. He said that they had no other rooms availble thus we checked out the next morning.

This lead to another problem regarding our deposit. The owner claimed that our wire transfer was $30 less than the amount wired. I don't know if this was an accounting error or something else. Since I send wire transfers daily in my line of work this seemed unusual, upon our return I initiated a tracer on the wire and confirmed that the correct amount was delivered to Tropico Latinos account.

This was the worst customer service we had on our two week trip.

  • Liked — Checking Out
  • Disliked — Filth, Mold, Mildew, Crying Babies, a Rock Hard Bed
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank x81sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteltropicolatino, Manager at Hotel Tropico Latino, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I hope this notes finds well. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2007

We arrived at the Tropico Latino expecting (and paid dearly for) a tropical bungalo with A/C on a great beach. We were assigned #2, a large room with a porch and hammock near the road. There was a large portable AC unit that couldn't begin to keep up with the high ceilings and size of unit. The wall AC unit didn't work. Because we insisted on AC, we were told to spend one night in #12, a newer unit close to the beach - but with no sound proofing. We didn't sleep at all because of crying babies, foot traffic and general noise from the surrounding unit. With promises of fixing the AC, we spent another night in #2. Shower head didn't work - hot and cold water was a joke. No hot water at all from the bathroom sink. Light in the bathroom kept shorting out and the electrical box in the closet was open and bare. Bugs everywhere inside. We had to put on our shoes before stepping out of bed in the morning because of the bugs that had crept in at night. This is a cash only resort - the owner doesn't take care of his property and it's falling apart! Skip it and go down the road to Florablana. We had lunch there and toured the rooms. Awesome place!

  • Liked — Sweet wonderful Tico staff
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mirth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

We had a 2 bedroom bungalow with a kitchen. It was very nice for Mal Pais. We had 4 different patios, one out each door. Our own private garden with hammocks. The bathroom was very nice and large, again for Mal Pais, and there was also an outdoor shower. We did not have a problem with insects in any rooms. The 2 bedroom has a kitchen, so maybe the insects in the last post was a result of leaving food out. We did have some crabs in the room, but we were on the beach/in the jungle, to be expected. The place was kept very clean. Going in and out of the rooms did track sand and dirt in, but the maids mopped the floors everyday. We found the house to be very quiet unlike the last post. It felt very secluded. Bring a flashlight, it is very dark at night. Very relaxing place. . Surf camp was not too far down from us. There was a wonderful massage bungalow on the beach. The restaurant was good. Staff was wonderful. If you are into Yoga, it is a wonderful place to stay. There is a yoga platform on the beach and classes through out the day, or you can do it on your own. The yoga instructors could also be found hanging from the trees with fabric doing acrobats in between classes. We were a big group so we also had a large bungalow as well. They are more charming than the 2 bedroom bungalow. The 2 bedroom bungalow is VERY secluded. On the beach there is a wonderful area with hammocks, lounges and chairs all shaded as well. We were a VERY loud bunch and even hosted parties nightly until the wee hours of the morning. The first night we were concerned that we were too loud. The owner of the place and the staff assured us it was no problem. They told us we could be as loud as we wanted to be. Other guests told us they didn't hear us either. The maids were wonderful and very patient since we tended to sleep in. There is a store right across the street from the entrance, so you can fill up the fridge. The stove was a camping type stove. I believe there is only a kitchen in the 2 bedroom. When we left 2 of the people in our group were rebooking for August. You do have to pay cash. We had to wire money to them to hold the reservation. The reception will book any tours you want or need. We asked them for special requests, like private boat tours and such and they would call around for different prices and options for us. The only negative we had was that they only gave us 1 key per bungalow. When you leave the bungalow the door automatically locks. Of course the 1st night at 2 am we locked ourselves out. It took us awhile to find the security guards. They had no way of contacting the management to help. Ultimately they helped us brake in the bungalow and after that we never got locked out again. In the smaller bungalow you needed a key to get in and out of the room. We met many people in Mal Pais that came over to our bungalow and it was also the nicest they had seen in the area. Again Mal Pais is very remote and quiet. Don't expect a 4 star hotel or anything. There are many restaurants within walking distance as well. One of my favorites in Costa Rica is Buena Luna. Owned by a beautiful young couple from Spain and Argentina. It is an Israeli falafel restaurant. Best falafels I have ever had and I use to live near Dearborn MI. We were a big group and between us all we tried everything. All wonderful. They have a pool table and will do whatever they can to make you happy.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank mrolfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.9 mi away
The Red Palm Villas
The Red Palm Villas
#18 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Cielo
Playa Cielo
#5 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.2 mi away
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
Otro Lado Lodge and Restaurant
#6 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
Atrapasuenos Dreamcatcher Hotel
#17 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
Latitude 10 Beachfront Resort
#11 of 26 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
Pranamar Villas and Yoga Retreat
#13 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Latino

Property: Hotel Tropico Latino
Address: Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Santa Teresa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa
#13 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Latino 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico Latino is an intimate beachfront boutique hotel located in Santa Teresa, a breathtaking white sand beach on the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica's Nicoya Peninsula. Situated on four acres of unspoiled tropical beach, you will find beautiful swimming areas and also outcroppings of rock where natural tide pools form.Our exquisitely-designed tropical bungalows and suites, built with exotic hardwoods, are surrounded by abundant tropical gardens under an old forest canopy, giving you the feeling of landing in paradise. Immerse yourself in the most pristine natural environment and experience the wildlife of Costa Rica right outside your window. Howler monkeys, hummingbirds, iguanas and bright flowering heliconias are just a few examples of what you will see.All of our accommodations feature luxury amenities, including wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fans, hot water, security safe, mini-bar, coffee maker and complimentary coffee. Ask for our new beachfront suite, featuring its own beautiful private saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. Relax poolside or lounge in a beach hammock under a grove of coconut and almond trees as you watch the sunset. You will love it!Tropico Latino resort features a full-service Spa and yoga studio. The Spa offers professional massages, wraps, exfoliations, facials, and other services such as acupuncture, manicures and pedicures. What makes our Spa different is that we create our own 100% natural healing and beauty products from ingredients like papaya, cucumber, coffee, coconut, almonds, carrots, honey and mint.Our yoga center offers daily Vinyasa Flow yoga classes and retreats. We have two beachfront open-air decks were you can receive classes while you listen to the rhythm of the waves at the ocean's edge. Yoga lessons will keep you centered, flexible and relaxed during your stay. Our classes are complete with mats, blocks and straps, and are open to everyone, from beginning students to experienced practitioners.Your stay would not be complete without a delightful dining experience. Our open-air beachfront restaurant combines a relaxed, yet classy atmosphere with nationally-renowned organic international cuisine. You will find healthy options on the menu using organic fruits and vegetables, local fresh fish, seafood and meat.Our commitment with sustainability in Santa Teresa BeachTropico Latino is an environmentally conscious hotel. We coordinate and sponsor the Blue Flag ecological program and sustainable initiatives for the beach communities of Mal Pais, Carmen, Santa Teresa and Hermosa. We are very proud that in 2012 all four beaches obtained the ecological Blue Flag recognition award, which ensures the quality and sanitation of the water, beach clean-up projects, community informational signs, and environmental education. We also are committed to conserve the vibrant biodiversity and richness of the rainforest that surrounds the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropico Latino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Latino Hotel
Tropico Latino Nicoya
Hotel Tropico Latino Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing