We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and Reasonable”
Review of Habaneros

Habaneros
Ranked #4 of 91 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful beachfront Mexican fusion restaurant located in the highly rated Playa Cielo hotel. Daily specials according to the catch of the day (lobster and fish are a house specialty!) Combined with a rich diverse menu, serving fresh ingredients to your table. An amazing selection of delicious, naturally flavored maragaritas, to sip while watching the incredible sunset views. Come and enjoy our food and atmosphere!
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious and Reasonable”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Their schtick is simple: offer five or six delivery methods for a small number of proteins. Like pollo adobo? Get it in tacos, burritos, etc. They add salsas and rice and beans. Surfer chicks as waitresses and, if you go with the menu layout and aren't a snot, you'll be pleased. Your feet in the sand, drinking fruity drinks and eating spicy food. Also, one night we caught an American singer playing songs. We ate here twice in a week and not because it was close. Because it was good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DocMacNab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    205
    57
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful sunset!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Seafood was excellent and the sunset was spectacular. We walked there on the beach and took a cab home. Lovely evening.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pilannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect beach front setting & tasty tacos”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went here twice during our two weeks - fantastic tacos and drinks, including local brewed beer. Watch the hermit crabs crawl under your feet and pet the local free range dogs who are very polite.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank snoopy1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmiSushi, Owner at Habaneros, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for the honest review
We are thrilled you were several times and enjoyed it every single time,
Lately we have been receiving un honest reviews
Our goal is to provide the freshest best ingridiants ,tasty food great top shelf drinks
Best possible service and of course great atmosphere ,
People like you who truly appriciate it make it all worth while.
Thanks and Pura Vida
Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent because of overall high standard!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I've been to Habanero every time I've visited Santa Teresa. I've been there with friends, on a date, and subsequently with my family. Alongside with the 5-10 other notable restaurants in Santa Teresa, I would say that Habanero stands out because of it's overall high level of quality, it's diverse audience and charming personel. Diverse restaurants with a high performance-level can tend to be boring sometimes, but never Habanero.

The picturesque scenery of Habanero is off course the first immediate impression and just passing the amazing garden of Playa Cielo is a treat. The craft beer is absolutely worth the visit in itself. And if you're lucky you might even see the band playing!

But all of these things are just details that makes up an excellent overall experience. A must-see if in town!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a steak and best beer by the sea”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

my wife and I have a table by the sea, the service was fast and friendly we start with a cold home made beer, excellent! followed by the best tuna steak......life is good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank casacolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habaneros also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Habaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing