We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican”
Review of Habaneros

Habaneros
Ranked #4 of 91 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Mexican, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Beautiful beachfront Mexican fusion restaurant located in the highly rated Playa Cielo hotel. Daily specials according to the catch of the day (lobster and fish are a house specialty!) Combined with a rich diverse menu, serving fresh ingredients to your table. An amazing selection of delicious, naturally flavored maragaritas, to sip while watching the incredible sunset views. Come and enjoy our food and atmosphere!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Some of the best Mexican I have ever had in a to die for setting right on the beach, with waves crashing. It's also a celebrity hide out and yes we did see some

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    205
    57
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lobster tacos”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I thought this was the best restaurant we found on our 12 day Costa Rica trip.
We were staying next door at Super Vista so we just walked down the beach to this incredible beach restaurant/bar
First night we went we had the lobster tacos which may be the best thing I have ever eaten. Went for lunch another day for nachos and beer and again good and service was top notch.
Cash only

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish tacos, beautiful beachside atmosphere”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The food and service were amazing! We had the fish tacos which were very good and all the fix-ins they provided were great. The couple who own the restaurant and attached hotel are super nice and their kids are super cute! I'd recommend going a little after sunset, rather than during sunset (c. 5:30) when we did because we got majorly bit up, but that will happen anywhere in santa teresa if you're on the tree line by the beach. Otherwise, this place is a must-visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hillel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beach front bar/restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Really great margaritas. The food (we had an special and a fish burrito) were very tasty and made from fresh ingredients. The view is great. The service takes its time but you get really good things for your patience. The dessert with chocolate and avocado was just perfect. Has parking. Does not take credit cards.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Habaneros is SO good. There are a ton of places to eat in Santa Teresa but nothing like Habaneros. The menu is amazing. And the restaurant is right on the beach. And the Jalepeno Pineapple margaritas are a must try!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habaneros also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Habaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing