We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!”
Review of Habaneros

Habaneros
Ranked #4 of 90 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Beautiful beachfront Mexican fusion restaurant located in the highly rated Playa Cielo hotel. Daily specials according to the catch of the day (lobster and fish are a house specialty!) Combined with a rich diverse menu, serving fresh ingredients to your table. An amazing selection of delicious, naturally flavored maragaritas, to sip while watching the incredible sunset views. Come and enjoy our food and atmosphere!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been welcomed by the owner with a little glass of delicious margarita. The food was really excellent, great location on the beach and joyfull place.
I would go back to santa teresa only to eat again in that place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunem0sse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    205
    57
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Very Pricey, ok but not great food, Nice location”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After renting some boards from Del Soul, the american owner recommended we eat at the best restaurant in malpais/santa teresa, Habaneros. The location was nice, with a beach view. The dogs that live there are very friendly. The prices were steep. We would not have minded on the prices if the food lived up to warrant them, but sadly, they did not. The ceviche was so-so. The quesadillas had meat in them that was grissly and chewey, the chips were a little stale, and the batidos (juice smoothies) were a lot more flavorful in other restaurants we ate at. Overall it was disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ilovefrenchbulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Heaven”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of the few restaurants with direct-to-beach access and definitely the best cocktails I had in Santa Teresa. Great vibe, helpful staff, big fan!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We could not get service for anything!, sat around for 20 minutes without service, got up and placed order at bar, and then waited for another 15 minutes, still no drinks. Great location, but needs work training staff to be more attentive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmiSushi, Owner at Habaneros, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Kristin
Sorry to hear about your bad experience ,
If you are still on town please stop by again for free drinks.
We do have great service normally(as you could read in previous reviews)
Could you please tell me the date and time you visited so I could talk to the waiters on this shift, Inorder to improve their service ability.
Please email me shlomsm@yahoo.com
Thanks
Pura vida
Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good but a little pricey”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

we ate here twice, great sunset location. the food was very good but $160 for dinner for 2 adults and two teens is not a bargain. However the food quality was very good, enough so that we returned for a second dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dhannapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habaneros also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Habaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing