We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST in Santa Teresa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Del Mar Surf Camp

Del Mar Surf Camp
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Del Mar Surf Camp is the premiere surf camp in Costa Rica with over nine years of experience teaching people how to surf. We provide a maximum of 2 to 1 student to instructor ratio with local Costa Rican surfers providing a safe and quality surf instruction guaranteed for everyone to catch waves. Our all inclusive surf camps include everything from daily yoga classes, daily nature walks & healthy meals to create the perfect vacation in paradise. Owned & operated by local Costa Rican, you can be rest assured that your experience will exemplify all the "Pura Vida" culture Costa Rica has to offer.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The BEST in Santa Teresa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

There aren't enough good things I can say about Del Mar. They're professional, they're passionate about teaching and they're experienced with the waves in Santa Teresa. I had about 10 private lessons with Ricky during my stay. I knew he was a good choice during my first lesson when he explained the rip tide to me on the beach and drew in the sand how to get out of it. We'd start off each lesson with a quick warm up on the beach and then focused on something new each day. Ricky was such an amazing teacher, always giving little tips for me to improve, and by the end of my trip I was starting to catch my own waves. Whether you're going surfing for the first time, or looking to improve your skills, Del Mar is the best in Santa Teresa!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del_Mar_Surf_Camp, Owner at Del Mar Surf Camp, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you felt safe and well instructed.

Ricky will be delighted with your comments. We look forward to see you back surfing with Del Mar!

Pura Vida,
Del Mar Surf Camp Santa Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Una experiencia maravillosa - A wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Fuimos a una boda y de paso a aprender un poquito de surf, la verdad es que la experiencia no pudo ser mejor, tanto como el instructor como Berni, son personas increibles y muy simpaticas que te ayudan en todo y hace que tu primera experiencia sea inolvidable y con ganas de repetir. Recomiendo a todo el mudno que si puede, realice esta actividad con ellos. Su vuelvo a Costa Rica, desde luego seguire mis clases de surf con ellos. Mil gracias por todo.

We went to a wedding and happened to learn a bit of surfing, the truth is that the experience could not be better, as well as Professor and Berni, are incredible and very nice people that help you get around and make your first experience is unforgettable and eager to repeat. Mudno enjoyable stay if you can, do this activity with them. His back to Costa Rica, of course I will continue my surfing lessons with them. Many thanks for everything.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del_Mar_Surf_Camp, Owner at Del Mar Surf Camp, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Google Translation
Saludos desde Santa Teresa!

Muchas gracias por tu comentario, nos da mucha alegría saber que disfrutaste con la experiencia de surfing con nosotros y además que fue tan natural el aprendizaje para ti, no dejes de practicarlo!

Esperamos tenerte pronto por Costa Rica,

Pura vida
Del Mar Surf Camp Santa Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great time and wonderful instructor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Had a great time learning to surf with Del Mar. We stayed at Pranamar and had Ismael as our private instructor. He was great! The surfing was a short walk from the hotel, just down the beach.

To be honest, i was a bit apprehensive, but Ismael made the entire experience a pleasure!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dbeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del_Mar_Surf_Camp, Owner at Del Mar Surf Camp, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Greetings from Del Mar Santa Teresa,

Thank you so much for the review. We are delighted to know that you had a good experience surfing with Ismael!

We look forward to see you again on the future surfing with Del Mar!

Pura Vida,
Del Mar Santa Teresa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“100% Professional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Like reviewer BoulderJen, I also stayed at Pranamar Villas and was part of a group of 15 that took surfing lessons with Del Mar Surf Camp. We surfed every day for 6 days straight. Our group had 2 people who had taken surf lessons before, and the rest were complete novices. Del Mar's surf instructors emphasized safety first. Then they gave you the basics on land before you got in the water. Once in the water, we surfed "baby waves." We had one instructor per 2 guests, so we had very personalized service, especially since there were so many different ability levels in our group. When some of us had mastered the "baby waves," our instructors offered to take us "outside." I felt completely safe the whole time. My instructor, Luke, gave me plenty of instruction on how to keep myself from getting smacked with the board, and how to "turtle roll" on the outside so the waves would wash over me. I could tell he was always watching the other surfers around us, and keeping an eye on me and my board, for the safety of all of us surfing. He challenged me to get the most out of the lesson, and kept saying, "If you're happy, I'm happy." I had a great time and I felt like all the Del Mar instructors cared about us getting the most out of it - whether that turns out to be surfing a couple of baby waves or going outside and learning to turn the board, they were ready to help us do it. Highly recommended!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SurgeMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del_Mar_Surf_Camp, Owner at Del Mar Surf Camp, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Pura Vida!

Thank you so much for giving us such an amazing review. Ismael is by far one of our best instructors and we are so excited to know that you improved your surfing skills through the week.

Come back and visit us! We would love to have you again.

Good vibes and energy sent your way from beautiful Playa Hermosa!

Del Mar Surf Camp team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great instructors - made my like it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was at my first experience and being with an instructor (Ismael) made me like the sport and enjoy it right away.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del_Mar_Surf_Camp, Owner at Del Mar Surf Camp, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Greetings from Del Mar Surf Camp,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your surfing experience with us!
We look forward to see you again at one of Del Mar three locations!

Pura Vida!
Del Mar Surf Camp Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Mar Surf Camp also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Dominical, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Del Mar Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing