We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surfing hostel by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Seven7 Casa Del Gingi
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great surfing hostel by the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hostel 7 was great, laid back, great kitchen with everything you need in it, hammocks,a pool table, surf rental nearby, option of surf lessons, right by a grocery store (with liquor) and staff were really knowledgeable about surf spots, restaurants and all the rest you'll need to know. The place has a lot of character to it too. I read a few reviews that complained about the bathrooms not being clean but they were fine. I travel alone and I met a lot of fun people there.
There is a quiet hour that starts at 11 which is good for surfers or travelers wanting to wake up early. For those of you who want to party longer, the beach is close!
A few downsides: although the rooms have locks, there are no lockers if you are staying a dorm with people you don't know, and there are fans but no air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    20
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
31
76
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hostel seven its a great place for those who would like to learn surfing, do surfing and be in a good clean place with a pretty nice ambient.
Good for the people working here thwy are all really nice a servicial

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredv388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

After bouncing around town, looking for long term rentals, a friend told us to go by Hostel Seven 7 Casa Del Gingi. We were not looking to stay at a hostel, although it was a nice set-up with hammocks, a pool table, and excellent wifi. It was very close to the grocery store and walking distance to the beach. Gingi was awesome! He took us around and showed us some great options, and after staying at the hostel for 2 nights, he put us in a house! We are so grateful!

Room Tip: Everyone speaks great english!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcrobertscb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

we came to the hostel for one week and decided to stay another week. moved on to Jaco and understood that we miss what we had in Santa Teresa so we came back until the end of the vacation.
Maximo and Asi (and Gingi who we met in the last week) who worked there lived according the saying "pura vide" and created very calm atmosphere. the place built in very social structure that make every bode feel comfortable to come and meet the other travelers but still you have private spots.
the population of travelers who comes to the hostel are mostly surfers and very high quality people. we met there people that we definitely call friends.
The beaches and the waves are amazing but of course I can tell whole pages about that!
two last things:
1. be carful in the beaches and don't bring things that expensive or important to you cus there are a lot (!!!) thief there. like in the whole south and central America.
2. if you don't know haw to surf- do(!) take a surf lesson from Maximo! he is great!
love you hostel seven!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 4 nights in a private room in Hostel 7. It is in a great location, close to the beach, shops and restaurants. Very helpful, friendly staff. Always willing to go above and beyond to make your stay comfortable. Private rooms are clean with a fair bit of room. Lots of hammocks on the grounds so plenty of places to chill out. Book exchange also available if you are in need a new book in your travels. All in all a great place to stay in Santa Teresa!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My post about Gingi's was not submitted months ago, but this place is so great I needed to share it again! I was welcomed at Gingi's when I showed up, my first time in Costa Rica. I was so happy with the friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. I stayed in a room with 4 bunks. Everything was clean and bright. There's always someone hanging out to talk with, and it's the best place to stay if you want to learn to surf. The beach is just down the road, and it is gorgeous...
If you want a laid-back place to stay with interesting folks, relax on the beach, close to shops and food... Gingi's is the place to go! I can't wait to return :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieleblanc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I spent about 1 month in Hostel 7. There seem to always be people staying for extended periods in the hostel so it feels like you're living in a house rather than a hostel. The staff are excellent and the owner is really involved, passing by many times per day to see how things are. I slept in a hammock outside during my stay. The property is covered with trees, many bearing edible fruit. It is about 100m off the main road so you don't get smothered in dust that Santa Teresa is infamous for nor the noise of all the quads and motorbikes bombing around. At the corner of the main road there is one of the best supermarkets and above the supermarket is a surfshop. The road the hostel is on is decent for birding in the mornings. There is a pool table and I think Gingi is putting in a pingpong table within a week. If you stay here, please do you dishes, including at night!! The best waves for surfing are in Santa Teresa which is about 20 minutes walking. There are surf breaks 5 minutes walking from the hostel, too (Banana Beach and Playa Carmen).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
0.5 mi away
Beach Break Surf Hotel
Beach Break Surf Hotel
#22 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 26 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
Cuesta Arriba Hotel
#3 of 62 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
Casa del Mar Surf Destiny
#15 of 33 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Dos Monos
Hostel Dos Monos
#5 of 62 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Zen Guest House & Yoga Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Seven7 Casa Del Gingi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Seven7 Casa Del Gingi

Property: Hostel Seven7 Casa Del Gingi
Address: Santa Teresa St, Santa Teresa 60111, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Seven7 Casa Del Gingi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Seven7 Casa Del Gingi Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing