We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top, the best in Santa Teresa”

Restaurante Al Chile Viola
Ranked #6 of 121 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Al chile viola offers a great collection of incredible italian dishes prepared carefully by our italian chef Emiliano and served by his wife Luz.
Reviewed February 7, 2019

The welcome greeting by a very friendly waitress from Chile and a waiter from Italy was a great start to the evening. We had a hard time deciding which of the specials to order since they all sounded out of this world. The grilled octopus was so very tender and prepared. The yellowfin tuna with veggie polenta was a large portion and excellent. Before the main meal, we split an unusual pear/cheese salad and we are delighted we did. I'd love to tell you about the dessert but we were quite satisfied and will try it next time.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Avalonavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 356 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2019

Our dinner here was one of the best overall during our Costa Rica vacation. I had one of the seven specials, the octopus; it was fresh out of the sea, and very tender. Service was excellent, and our Italian waiter went to great pains to explain all the specials in detail. Price was reasonable, especially given the quality and portion size. Credit cards accepted, but only in USD, and only for the meal and tax, so gratuities have to be paid in cash. We're looking forward to coming back and trying the steak with chocolate sauce! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019

Al Chile Viola is everything you enjoy in eating out. Attractive, funky decor, comfortable seating, subdued lighting, excellent music, professional, friendly, sincere service.

And we haven't even gotten to the food yet. My wife had lobster--the chef and co-owner along with his wife) . carried out two of the larger lobsters we've seen for Sue Ellen to choose from. She pronounced it the best cooked( of her life (and she spends whole vacations with lobsters) and the pumpkin, ginger puree added terrific accent to an already perfect dish. My mahi mahi was excellent. Nice wine list as well. Don't miss this one.

Jim Fatka, Sue Ellen Pabst

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank SueEllen1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

This family run restaurant is a wonderful alternative to platos tipicos in the Santa Teresa area. The interior is beautifully decorated and the service is excellent. The menu is Italian and Mediterranean, and all the food, including the pastas, are made in-house. The beef carpaccio appetizer was delicious. We also enjoyed the shrimp ravioli, the eggplant parmesan, and two specials. Be sure to save room for dessert! It is perfect for either families, couples, or even solos because they treat you like family.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank illrepute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

We ordered a variety of plates and all were homey and delicious. The banana chocolate cake was absolutely outstabding

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank uniquenessfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Al Chile Viola also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurante Al Chile Viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing