We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good Italian in the middle of Santa Teresa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of al chile viola

al chile viola
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Al chile viola offers a great collection of incredible italian dishes prepared carefully by our italian chef Emiliano and served by his wife Luz.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Surprisingly good Italian in the middle of Santa Teresa!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were skeptical but were quickly won over by their tuna carpaccio, which was fresh, delightfully dressed, and generously portioned. We then tried their pasta -- tagliatelle and lasagna -- and both came away satisfied. Their wine was nicely chilled and paired well with the food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    42
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Banus, Spain
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian place in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have found this little Italian restaurant in an absolutely wild place called Santa Teresa, Costa Rica (Pacific side). Tiny village had no paving, located on a gorgeous surfers' beach. There are just a very few hotels and restaurants. The restaurant Al chile viola has original interior, live music with jazz female vocalist, the staff is very professional and super friendly. They made a cocktail, that wasn't in the menu specially for me. The owner - very nice, friendly, polite man came to meet us (he has Italian roots). The food is absolutely delicious and we, definitely, will go there again (even though this is very far).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best service BUT worst food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Weird combination. We had the best service here of all the places We tried in Costa Rica... But the food was not good.
Started with drinks, the only flavor we could detect was jet fuel.
Then had appetizers which were less than appetizing. Wish now that we would have moved on but decided to give them the benefit of doubt and try entrees. Even worse than the apps. Everyone was disappointed. Hope the servers can find a new home before this place folds.Too much great food around to get stuck here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amundson567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emiliano838, Propietario at al chile viola, responded to this review, January 4, 2016
hola Amundson567!always is difficult for me think whath hapened this night in my restaurant !I invited you to try again my food to invert your opinión ,I wsait you!!!ciao Emiliano!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
1 review
“Génial!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I tasted the beef carpaccio and the bull balls ravioli (!) and it's so tasty!
The place is well decorated, the ambiance is chill and the team is amazing.

If you are looking for a nice place to end up your perfect sunshiny day with a glass of Chianti, good authentic italian cuisine and good live music it's definitely the place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoWithTheFloow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“original twist with local ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal at Al Chile Viola while in Santa Theresa. The place is romantic, with gorgeous light fixtures and decor, friendly owners and staff and great service. We started with a yellow fin tuna carpaccio with passion fruit, tomatoes, almonds and olives. I could have ordered it again for my main dish it was so perfect. Then we shared the Viola salad also tasty. I had a crusted tuna for my entree with white beans and roasted garlic and my husband had jumbo shrimp with pumpkin and ginger. Both entrees were satisfying and delicious. We ended a perfect evening with a sip of their homemade Limoncello. What a wonderful end to a great evening. We will definitely return next time we get to Santa Teresa.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al chile viola also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to al chile viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing