We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mix sensation”
Review of al chile viola

al chile viola
Ranked #9 of 91 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Al chile viola offers a great collection of incredible italian dishes prepared carefully by our italian chef Emiliano and served by his wife Luz.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“mix sensation”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

i feel strange to review chile viola restaurant , because some food was good and some food was overpriced , tuna tartare was good and good price ( 12$ ) very fresh , test good , a lot of good spices , i ravioli con le palle del toro was middle good , feel good but not the savour was intense and some special......price good ( 14$ ) , but tuna fillet was overcooked, not so good and overpriced ( 27$) , i don't know if was a particulary bad night for the cooking man , i think i come back and test again, but my sensation was a mix of sensation, bad and good /...........
little overpriced..............

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    42
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most magical and romantic dinner”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We ventured out in the first rain in months as lightning took out the electricity along the coast. We found the the restaurant full of candles with an amazing guitar and violin duo playing exquisite music and song. The food, made by candle light, was amazing and the staff were great. What a magical evening. The owner is an Italian transplant and spent time chatting. He gave us a plastic business card which came in handy if you want to walk home in the rain or take it surfing!

What a great spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KandJSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Love the avocado drink”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The pasta was excellent. The eggplant parmesan was fantastic and the avocado drink kept up coming back. Avocado and passion fruit is an amazing combination.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank susyl030405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“It was like two different experiences!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was so excited to go to al Chile Viola. Not only was it rated well on Trip Advisor, but our hotel recommended it. Honestly...it was simply bizarre. We had absolutely, amazing, wonderful and generous appetizers, and then skimpy bland and tasteless main courses, So, for apps, we ordered the tuna tartare, bruchetta, pasta ragu, meat and cheese platter, and salad caprese. All were delicious and ample portions. But then dinner came, and it was a huge letdown. My eggplant parm was delicious, but it was literally 6 bites of food, with no side. I would have been starving when I left, had my husband not ordered the additional pasta course. The beef tenderloins were bland and overcooked. The tuna in sage was also overcooked (it was ordered, rare) and was bland. Drinks were weak. We were charged for bottled water, that they re-bottled, and was actually, tap (it wasn't a lot, but it annoyed the hell out of me)...the check was $155 American, before tip...and quite honestly, it was $50 too much for what we got. Service was on the slow side, but not the worst, Good, but not great. Go to Amici's instead...better, cheaper and more authentic. We are New Yorkers, and I am of Italian-American decent, and I know my food. You can do a lot better. Sorry, Al Chile Viola...you have a lot of potential, but a lot of room to improve!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and exceptional hospitality!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I were so happy to have found this lovely gem about a week into our stay here in Santa Teresa. To begin, the signature drink that we started off with, was bar none one of the most incredible we had ever sampled; mixing avocado and passion fruit (I know right???) with vodka and triple sec is sheer genius! We started with the fresh tuna carpaccio and our mains included the panko encrusted jumbo prawns and their infamous bull ball homemade ravioli. Both were perfectly prepared and wonderfully presented. Comida increible aside, the server and the chef (the owners) went above and beyond and made our night one of the most enjoyable to date. Their vast knowledge of food and wine combined with their exuberantly gracious and friendly nature, left us feeling as though we had a real glimpse of Costa Rica charisma. The entire staff was attentive to us and made us feel as though we were among friends. If you want a great night out, where you want to feel like you are in place far from home but still with the comforts of home, do yourself a favour and check out Al Chile Viola, I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allilujah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed al chile viola also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to al chile viola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing