We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Costa Rica Wow !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Frog Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Frog Villas
Save
You added Red Frog Villas to your Saves list
Ranked #29 of 32 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Costa Rica Wow !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a great time I had in Red Frog Villas, it have a nice view, an excellent vibe!! could go walking to the beach for surfing, and incredible waves, like hawaii. My girlfriend also spent a great time, the place is very relaxing and romantic. Many good restaurants and exotic places. Many beaches around white sand, waterfalls, wildlife refuges. I recommend it 100%

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guigui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This place is great for surfers who arent concerned about being pampered. I would call this a "real vacation" very comfy great waves great people and beautiful! Alfredo is a very nice guy and very accomodating. I recommend the redfrog for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandrahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great location, great service, attention, great facilities, perfect place for surfers, bike riders, adventure travelers but also anybody that wants to spend some quiet time in a nature surrounded environment. The area in which is located has some of the most beautiful beaches and forest through out the whole country. Beautiful walk distance beaches, comfortable rooms, great prices, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red_Frog_Villas, Manager at Red Frog Villas, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for your kind comments we alway try to help you in all we can
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Red frog Villas is a great place to stay at Santa Teresa to enjoy the best surf in CR. Excellent attention by the owner, close to the beach and very reasonable rates. Alfredo takes care of you as if your best friend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jvegamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Red Frog Villas is a close walk to Playa Carmen and about a 20 minute walk from awesome beach breaks in Santa Teresa. There are a few supermarkets and restaurants very very close as well.

The cabinas here are very reasonably priced and comfortable. They are small, and pretty minimal but very affordable and Alfredo does a really good job making sure people are happy while staying there. The main house is also great if you have a group of 4 or 5 people.

I spent 3 months here and had a great time, surfed a lot, and really enjoyed my first time in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had an awesome experience!! Alfredo is a wonderful landlord who is always willing to accommodate any need you may have. This place is up a steep hill, which I loved for the workout;) The location is perfect with the beach, market and banks within walking distance. It is a little rustic, but it is the perfect place to get away from the everyday hussel. We met so many awesome friends while staying there!!! Can't wait to go back!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We were supposed to stay at Red Frog Villas for 2 weeks but ended up staying for 2 months. Itś a great hidden place upon the hill where you get to see the ocean. Just down the road you have everything you need such as great restaurants, super mercados, surf shops and of course the beach. The steep hill is a really good work out so you won´t accetentely forgot something in the cabina ;) All the cabinas has a kitchenette and the large villa has a communal kitchen. Itś not always super clean and the dust gets in everywhere since the cabinas are more or less open aired (covered up with mosquitonet). But the dust is way worse down the road. The people that runs the place are really the best, very service minded and helpful with everything. We can really recommend this place if you want to stay in a more relaxed place away from the bars and restaurants. Pura vida :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red_Frog_Villas, Manager at Red Frog Villas, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thanks for your kind words.
We always try to keep people happy as much as we can. The place is a rustic hotel for surfers and adventurous people.
I was great having you here
We love to make friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Teresa hotels
1.4 mi away
Manala Hotel
Manala Hotel
#12 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tico Lindo Hotel
Tico Lindo Hotel
#19 of 27 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tropical Pasta
Tropical Pasta
#11 of 56 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bajo el Arbol B&B
Bajo el Arbol B&B
#29 of 56 in Santa Teresa
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa MarBella
Casa MarBella
#1 of 27 in Santa Teresa
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banana Beach Bungalows
Banana Beach Bungalows
#18 of 32 in Santa Teresa
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Frog Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Frog Villas

Property: Red Frog Villas
Address: Meters To the Right Of Pasta Basta 125, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Frog Villas located at Santa Teresa beach, Costa Rica. We have 5 fully-equipped villas and 1 house located in a hill overlooking the pacific ocean.... just 5 minutes walk to the beach. We offer an alternative option for people who want to come to the beach and just relax in a nice atmosphere or also for the ones who want to have adventures all day!! Enjoy our tropical gardens while you rest at our pool or just enjoy watching the sunset in a hammock. Come and experience the Costa Rican pura vida life with us!We are walking distance from restaurants, shops, beach, tattoo shops, surf breaks, surf shops, supermarkets, banks and more.Offering VillasThis rustic wooden villas a nice for your travelers on a budget with a nice view a fridge and a gas stove you will be able to cook your own meals on this nice size villas with a ensuite bathroom.With a double and a single bed each of this rooms fits 3 people. HouseOne 3 bedroom 3 bath House for up to nine people (greate for groups)It has a king size bed and a single bed on the master room, another king size bed with one more single as well as a bouble bed in the downstairs room all with en suite bathrooms.A fully equipped spacious kitchen as well as an out door deckNow offering the brand new suitesRed Frog suites are luxury apartments located at the top a one of the most important hills in Santa Teresa. Located over 200 meters over sea level you will enjoy one of the best ocean views in the area.This fully equipped suites have over 70 square meters on living space, downstairs you will have a full equipped spacious kitchen and a full bath, upstairs you will find a big studio type room with a queen size bed, a single bed, a sofa and a balcony with the most amazing view.Located about one kilometer from the beach in an amazing forest full of monkeys, birds, dears and wild life, this million dollar view will make you want to stay in your apartment all day long, a 4x4 car or a quad is recommended (we can provide rentals for both) but sporty people may find walking to the beach a real treat.This boutique hotel is composed of two apartments so it is a special place for romance adventure and relaxation come and enjoy your vacation checking the waves from your balcony we guarantee you will never want to leave.Additional services such as massages a private chef can e supplied if desired. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Frog Villas Costa Rica/Santa Teresa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing