We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Santa Teresa
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fresh sushi, charming atmosphere”
Review of Koji's

Koji's
Ranked #18 of 122 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Kojis Restaurant Japanese Cuisine located in Santa Teresa, Costa Rica Cocina Japonesa Ubicado en Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Reviewed August 10, 2018

We have both fish and non-fish eaters in our family, and this restaurant delighted both camps. The nigiri was tasty and fresh (per the raw fish eaters), presentation was meticulous and pleasing to the eye. The fish tempura had a light crusty and the fish itself was flaky and delicate; there were 5 or 6 generous pieces of fish, paired with a savory salt and an a small bowl of ginger-tinged tempura sauce. The tempura fish handroll came with not only tempura fish but a layer of spicy tuna. The non-fish eaters loved their teriyaki chicken, spooning the sweet and savory sauce pooling at the bottom of the plate, onto a mound of white rice. The only mild disappointment was the California roll, which was a bit bland, but we are realizing that we are spoiled by very aromatic avo in California, which is hard to beat. Service was attentive, waitress was sensitive to food allergies, and prices are not much different than other restaurants in the area. Don't miss this place!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank threegirlsgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 763 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Here to debunk the myth that Koji’s is super expensive - it’s not (see menu) compared to other sushi places around ST! Finally tried the highly raved about Koji’s that’s the talk of the town. That eel nigiri was the highlight - ordered an eel roll too! Koji’s roll close second.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank gracexeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

We are NYC sushi ninjas. Don’t miss this spot, the service was awesome (thanks Rodrigo), and the food was excellent! The food truly impressed us , very fresh, great recommendations from the waiter, great ambiance (kind of a sushi surf shack).

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank RobGeils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

The waitress was very knowledgeable and sensitive to my food allergies. Excellent choice of excellent sushi. The environnement is also very pretty. Low season (July), no reservations needed. I can imagine this place being fully packed from Nov-April though.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 881JulieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We had a nice dinner there. They did not serve sushi when we dined there but they hand a nice selection of rolls. The vegetarian menu was excellent and the service was outstanding. My wife raved about the vegetarian crunch roll but my rolls while very good they were not outstanding. Ambiance was good with a nice mood. It is best to make reservations as the place fills up quickly. Make sure you have plenty of cash to cover the meals and drinks. Again they do not take credit cards as is the case with many places in Sta. Teresa.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 589fernandoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing