We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food”
Review of Koji's

Koji's
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you are coming from Santa Teresa - it is about 20 min drive and the road at times is pretty bad, but it was totally worth it for us.
The place itself is simple but very pretty.
There are no entrees on the menu, just various small plates and sushi rolls. So it might be a little bit difficult to figure out how much you have to order, but in my experience they bring everything pretty quick, so you can always order more later.
We ordered a couple of rolls, tuna tataki (the best I've ever had), sashimi salad, some nigiri and desert - everything was absolutely outstanding and fish was "melt in your mouth" fresh. My husband's margarita was great too.
All in all - amazing restaurant experience and I sometimes contemplate going back to Costa Rica just to have dinner at Koji again :)
Keep in mind that they only have whatever local fish they got that day, so there won't be 10 or more kinds of fish available like at a regular US sushi place. So if you are very particular about the kind of fish you want, just call them beforehand.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sensans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    97
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A sushi restaurant with no fish!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I'd been craving sushi the entire time I was in Cost Rica. Finally went to Koji. Sat down and ordered our drinks, and noticed there was no sushi or sashimi on the menu. When we inquired, we were told they had no fish, and that someone should've called us. Well, no one called. Apparently their fisherman were too drunk after the new year to go fishing. That was the explanation we got from the unfriendly and stuck up waitress! Awful experience!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyMarMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy Tempura and shrimps”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice setting, bumpy road to get there.
My hubby and I celebrated our first New Years dinner at Koji.
Really good food. Not the best on the planet, bur surly extremly good for being in the absolute bush. Hermosa craves a durable car or jeep, to get there, but its worth it and we will come back, specially for the Tempura veggies and shrimps.
Must give extra cred for "mise en place", The serving crew had flow serving two seatings with more than 160 peoples reservation the same evening.
And with happy smiles.
Good work!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenaAasberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Don't miss this place”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was an excellent sushi experience. Everything we ordered was so fresh and delicious. It's a bit out of the way but so worth the dusty journey.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forgottenfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Nederland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great but remote place”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Although quite remote (we came by bike and it was around 20 min cycle from santa teresa on an unpaved and dark road) it was absolutely worth the effort!! Very romantic setting, delicious Japanese food and great cocktails. Perfect for a date or cosy evening with friends.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing