We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful sushi for beautiful people in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koji's

Koji's
400 mts south of Hermosa Valley School, Playa Hermosa, Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
+506 2640 0815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Santa Teresa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful sushi for beautiful people in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

At first, we were a little skeptical of great Japanese food in an open air restaurant in the jungle in Costa Rica. However, we were totally wrong. The fish was so fresh that it made fish with which I was familiar taste like something totally new. They would erase specials off of the chalkboard when they ran out of that type of fish; there was obviously no type of fish just sitting around from previous days. The only thing I disliked about the food was that the bottled water we ordered did not come in a labeled bottle that was opened at the table; it came in an unmarked reusable glass bottle but we paid $7 for it... in no other restaurant in town did this happen.

Beyond the food, which was just really really great, my friend and I kept commenting on what a cool/chic scene there was at Koji's. It was definitely the coolest most sophisticated dinner restaurant at which we ate while in the Santa Teresa/Playa Hermosa/Mal Pais area. The waitresses were gorgeous, the people eating there was gorgeous, and the food was gorgeous. All of this added up to a great evening!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Worktravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    77
    21
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We did not think that Costa Rica would have good sushi. We thought wrong this restaurant was delicious and one of the best places we ate for dinner! The sushi was great and so was the dessert. The service was good and all waiters and waitresses were pleasant. This was definitely the best sushi place in Costa Rica!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiannaD694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Believe it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I kind of rolled my eyes when I first heard someone singing Koji's praises. I mean, how many Japanese restaurants were really competing for the title "the best" in Santa Teresa? And we do most of our sushi-eating in NYC... surely it's different standard...

Yes, a different standard - a higher one. The ingredients are so fresh and often organic. Beautiful presentation. And just yum. Admittedly, I don't eat a lot of raw fish, but the people I dined with raved. Kids loved the chicken teriyaki and I loved the veggie dishes. My husband was all about the eel.

All good. Plates licked clean.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't make any excuses, eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Words can't describe how great this place is. Hands down, the best sushi I have ever had. Make reservations and enjoy what's coming to you!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexEGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced for seafood on the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Not sure why we paid so much for sushi when all the ingredients are so abundant. We paid more then we do in the USA by $30. COSTa Rica;) On the upside, the place is romantic, and the staff were super nice. The food was fresh and tasty too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koji's also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Koji's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing