We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun place to rent from”
Review of Kina Surf Shop

Kina Surf Shop
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surf shop. Offering high-quality new, used and rental surfboards and bodyboards. The official Rusty surfboard dealer in Santa Teresa. We carry a wide variety of women's surf bikinis and beachwear. Large selection of surf equipment and accessories including FCS and Futures fins, leashes and traction.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fun place to rent from”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

There are many surf shops to rent from in Santa Teresa but when you've found a friendly place, why try another? The staff here were very helpful in setting us up with boards for the week. 7 days for $60 I'm a beginner so they explained why the big board is where I should start and gave me some cues as to when to go out, where to start etc. overall helpful.
i bought a rash guard there as well and after the second wear, it started to unravel on the sleeve. they let me exchange, no problem.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank steveNjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great shop!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Santa Teresa has no shortage of board shops. Stumbled into Kina looking for a shortboard rental. They have a huge selection of new boards and their used boards selection is huge and top notch. Current Rusty and Al Merrick's pepper the rack. Rent a board and want to swap out as I did, no problem. Simply drop off your current board and select a new one. Like having a quiver of your own. $10 a day green season can't be beat.
Eric and John were both super friendly and had lots of advice about the surf and area.

No need to look any further than the friendly and well stocked Kina!

Thanks Eric your Rusty works like a charm.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank riverpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love Kina Surf Shop”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

There are many surf shops in Santa Teresa, but i highly recommend Kina. They offer a great selection of rental boards, lessons and they stock all kinds of great surf gear. It is the staff, however, that sets Kina apart. Simply put, they are really good people: welcoming, friendly, helpful and honest. I will definitely go back next time I'm in Santa Teresa. Thank you Kina!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wallacepmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great lessons”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had two great lessons with eric.....so patient, supportive and fun. Really recommend! It's easy to have the hotels in ST recommend and place you with their "guys", but recommend you walk to surf shop and get legit, real lesson with a pro. Totally made my surf experience

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank blackburn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Place to rent boards!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The folks at Kina are knowledgable and friendly- a family op for sure. Great selection of boards and of course the ability to trade out and get a different board at any time. Rachel is a sweetie. They also gave us good intel on hotels, etc. If there's a downside it's that they don't open till 9 am and close at 5 pm. But since the rentals are like car rentals- 24 hr from the time you get the board- not that big of a deal. $12 per day and deals for 3 and 7 days.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Klcreview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kina Surf Shop also viewed

Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Teresa, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Kina Surf Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing